help me fill my ipod.

I am getting fed up with my iTunes library.  My iPod holds 12GB of music, and it feels like I’ve listened to all of it about a hojilion times while writing this novel. 

If you feel like it, leave a comment and recommend your current three favorite albums, and I’ll go seek out what doesn’t already overlap with my stuff.  My library is heavy on movie soundtracks, classical music, and semi-current pop/rock/indie stuff, but I’m open to all genres right now.  What are the last three albums you felt were worth your money?

68 thoughts on “help me fill my ipod.

  1. Ry Jones says:

    The Warner Gear (only one album out, it’s on amazon and itunes)
    Oh Brother Where Art Thou soundtrack
    Alison Krauss – anything recent

  2. Cold and Kind by the 1900s. Not exactly hairy-chested, but brilliant stuff. It would be the album of the decade if not for Blacklisted by Neko Case, which is probably the album of the century too.

  3. Justin Buist says:

    Smashing Pumpkins: Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness
    Smashing Pumpkins: Siamese Dream
    Smashing Pumpkins: Pisces Iscariot

    Sorry, I’m a Pumpkins fan. For me it’s great music to code with.

    What I really came here to say is that if you’re still using iTunes for music purchases I’d highly suggest switching over to Amazon’s MP3 service No DRM means no problems switching it between machines and any random MP3 player that you get. Bonus: I’m find a LOT of their stuff is encoded at 256kbit or higher rates. When I snagged a 99 track Mozart album off them (for $2.99) the thing totaled over a GIG of data because it was all encoded at 512+kbps.

  4. Aaron Allen says:

    The smashing pumpkins- zeitgeist
    The white stripes – icky thump
    Live- secret samadhi

  5. AJD says:

    Supreme Beings of Leisure – Supreme Beings of Leisure
    Supreme Beings of Leisure – Divine Operating System
    Lunascape – Reminiscence

  6. El Capitan says:

    You need some Texas twang…

    Robert Earl Keen – Gringo Honeymoon
    Lyle Lovett – The Road To Ensenada
    Willie Nelson – Red Headed Stranger

  7. William the Coroner says:

    You’re in New England

    Schooner Fare Our Maine SongsFinnegan’s Wake
    Archie Fisher Sunsets I’ve Galloped Into
    Andy M. Stuart Dublin Lady

  8. RevolverRob says:

    Kirsty MacColl – Tropical Brainstorm
    Ingrid Michealson – Boys and Girls
    Vienna Teng – Dreaming Through the Noise

    Those are three, I highly recommend. Additionally, I have added a couple of more recently, that I think are worthy of mention.

    B.B. King – One Kind Favor
    Joshua Bell – The Essential Joshua Bell

  9. Red says:

    If you want something hilarious and very entertaining – try anything by the Arrogant Worms. :)

  10. Jen says:

    Heavy Metal, the soundtrack.
    KLF, The White Room (Discordian Scotsmen make techno).
    If you haven’t listened to anything by Cake or Warren Zevon lately, those are good, too.

  11. Sevesteen says:

    Robert Randolph and the Family Band, especially “Ain’t Nothing Wrong with That”. Can’t help with albums, it has been years since I’ve bought one.

  12. Erica says:

    I whole-heartedly agree with El Cap (a good friend with excellent tastes). Willie is the man, and I would also recommend: anything by Waylon Jennings, whose voice, to me, IS Texas; anything pre-1988 by U2; any Pete Townshend solo album (they are all amazing, in very different ways); and “Hey Good Lookin’,” by Loretta Lynn and Conway Twitty.

  13. Jamie says:

    Smashing Pumpkins – Rotten Apples (Greatest Hits)

    Sunny Day Real Estate – The Rising Tide

    Muse – Black Holes and Revelations

  14. aczarnowski says:

    AJD beat me to it, but Supreme Beings of Leisure has been rotating regularly in my Winamp play list.

    The Hives – Veni Vidi Vicious
    Crystal Method – Vegas

    That last one will stick after seeing Chow Yun-Fat in The Replacement Killers again. Yeah, I’m nostalgic for the height of club/rave and American reimaginings of Hong Kong action films. :grin:

    I know you only asked for three, but I have also been known to say that every iPod requires more Cult.

  15. Cat says:

    Diablo Swing Orchestra – The Butcher’s Ballroom
    hear it at http://www.diabloswing.com/mainer.htm

    Mahler’s Symphony #4 with the St. Louis Orchestra, featuring Esther Heideman (she is fantastic)
    buy it on Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Mahler-Symphony-No-4-Gustav/dp/B001DELXGM/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=music&qid=1239763429&sr=8-1

    Leaves’ Eyes – Legend Land (although I really like all of their stuff)
    http://www.leaveseyes.de/

  16. Anonymoose says:

    Just three? I don’t play by the rules very well.

    Metal:
    Black Sabbath – Master of Reality. Except Sweet Leaf. Hate that damn song.
    Blue Oyster Cult – Tyranny and Mutation.
    Savatage – Hall of the Mountain King.
    Saint Vitus – Born Too Late.
    Cathedral – The Ethereal Mirror.

    Jazz:
    Miles Davis – Milestones.
    Oliver Nelson – Blues and the Abstract Truth.
    Charles Mingus – Mingus Ah Um.
    Dave Brubeck Quartet – At Carnegie Hall.

    Also, Electric Six – Fire. Under the disco-metal-pop-other category.

  17. bob hamlyn says:

    #1. Kinda Blue Miles Davis
    #2. Everybody Digs Bill Evans Bill Evans
    #3. Beyond the Missouri Sky Charley Haden & Pat Metheney
    #Bonus A Love Supreme John Coltrane

  18. USCitizen says:

    “Worth the money”, What Money?

    I’ve got the Top 100 songs from 200- back to 1950.

    No money required.

    I could send a directory listing and send you a DVD (ot 10 DVDs) of songs. (50 GB in total).

    Let me know in email where you want them mailed.

  19. Rob says:

    Grateful Dead helps rhythms flow. “Reckoning” (live and looong), “American Beauty,” and “Working Man’s Dead” all help me a lot when writing or grading papers.

    Anything by Bob Marley’s good for keeping up a steady output pace. Helps a lot with writing or serious number crunching.

  20. KC says:

    Monster Magnet – SuperJudge
    Neko Case – Blacklisted
    Uriah Heep – Demons and Wizards

  21. Last three albums worth my money…
    *Metallica, Death Magnetic — by and large a return to their roots, the best thing James Hetfield and the boys have recorded in the last 20 years. “All Nightmare Long” all by itself was worth the price of the whole cd.
    *Queensryche, Operation: Mindcrime — All I heard of Queensryche before I got Sirius satellite radio was “Silent Lucidity” and “Jet City Woman.” I’m sure you could imagine my surprise the first time I heard “Spreading the Disease.” Good, good stuff.
    *Jamey Johnson, That Lonesome Song — He sings of being between Waylon Jennings and George Jones on the shelves of the record store, and that’s precisely where his sound is as well. I never thought I’d a hear Nashville-based artist singing about being caught in a motel room with a hooker and a line of blow on the bedside table in this day and age.

  22. Laughingdog says:

    Mêlée – Devils & Angels
    Horrorpops – Bring it On! [rockabilly meets punk]
    The White Stripes – Elephant

  23. Anonymoose says:

    “What Money?”

    The money you pay for goods and services rendered. Okay, that probably falls on deaf ears here on the interwebs but paying for music has other benefits. Besides that feeling of moral superiority and high horsi-ness, it has a way of trimming the fat from your musical collection. “Do I really want ‘Larks’ Tongue in Aspic’ just so I can hear ‘Easy Money’ now and again?” Especially helpful if you store all your music in a lossless codec like FLAC.

  24. Mojo says:

    Out from lurking…

    Fasciinatiion- The Faint
    No Certain Night or Morning- Home Video
    Too Far to Care – Old 97’s

  25. Aaron says:

    Three of my favorite albums of all time:

    Thirteen Tales From Urban Bohemia by the Dandy Warhols

    London Calling by the Clash

    The Shepherd’s Dog by Iron & Wine

  26. Paul says:

    My current 3 favorite albums are:

    Lily Allen – It’s Not Me, It’s You.
    Cold Play – Viva la Vida
    Linkin Park – Road to Revolution

  27. Marko says:

    Anonymoose,

    do a search for “plagiarism” on my blog, and you’ll get a good idea of my feelings about intellectual property rights.

  28. Anthony L. says:

    Vienna Waltzes, Fritz Reiner and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra

    John Coltrane, Blue Train

    Neck and Neck, Mark Knophler and Chet Atkins

  29. Tam says:

    The six disc changer in a the Zed Three has had the following in it for… oh… the past six months or so:

    1: Wide Awake In America, U2
    2: Year Zero, NIN
    3: Minutes To Midnight, Linkin Park
    4: Every Six Seconds, Saliva
    5: Meteora, Linkin Park
    6: Hybrid Theory, Linkin Park

    The last three albums contain the soundtracks to nearly ever “Bombs Away” video at Grouchy Media.com, btw…

  30. wrm says:

    Holly Golightly
    +1 for Lily Allen
    Tom Waits. Lots of Tom Waits. Otherwise Breda and I will hafta team up on you.

  31. Roger Yarn says:

    Gotta Love Annie. So, anything by the Eurythmics.
    Bobby Darin, as long as it has “Mack the Knife” and “More.” Love that swing.
    And best Live album of all time, “Allmans Live at the Fillmore.”

  32. Blackwing1 says:

    Try some “Elizabethan Boogie” genre…

    Jethro Tull: “Songs From the Wood” and “Heavy Horses”
    Steeleye Span: “Below the Salt” and “All Around My Hat”

    Squash the members of those two bands together, along with some from Fairport Convention, let Maddy Prior sing, and you get:

    Maddy Prior: “Woman in the Wings” (it’s hard to find, though)

  33. David says:

    Tomahawk (self-titled). Crazy, moody, extremely awesome. Definitely check them out. 101 North and God Hates A Coward are my two favorites off that album.

    Back to Black, Amy Winehouse. Yeah, she’s completely nuts, but she’s soooooo good.

    Miles Gurtu – Robert Miles (he’s a drum/bass techno kind of guy) and Trilok Gurtu, one of the greatest Hindu musicians ever. It’s a bizarre pairing but the album is a masterpiece and very good “working music” for programming, so I’d imagine it might fit well while writing.

  34. wolfwalker says:

    How are you on Irish music?

    Gaelic Storm has three good albums: “Gaelic Storm,” “Herding Cats”, and “Tree.”

    Do you like movie soundtracks? I find that almost anything by John Williams makes for good work-background music. Indiana Jones, Star Wars, Jurassic Park …

  35. BryanP says:

    Hmmm. Three albums I’ve been listening to a lot lately. Here you go. Amazon links because you can listen to low fidelity versions of some of the tracks.

    Amy Macdonald: This Is The Life

    Queen Latifah: The Dana Owens Album (No, it’s not rap.)

    The Offspring: Rise & Fall, Rage & Grace

  36. shooter says:

    Robert Earl Keen’s “No. 2 Live Dinner” or “Gringo Honeymoon” (thanks for that one El Cap!)

    Kings of Leon

    Johnny Cash

  37. Mer says:

    My ipod is full of podcasts. My ipod also isn’t an ipod, but that doesn’t matter, but since podcasts are serial and consumable audio, it’s always fresh. (or as fresh as any given producer can be, at any rate.)

    I can give you the nickel tour of the podcast universe, if you like.

  38. Jay G. says:

    AC/DC, “Black Ice”. Easily their best since Razor’s Edge.

    Roger Waters, “Radio KAOS”. Not a bad song on the album.

    Anthrax, “Spreading the Disease”. Because no one else had suggested ’80s thrash-metal…

  39. Marko says:

    Mer,

    I subscribe to a few podcasts, but the satellite ISP’s stupid download quota keeps me from being able to go nuts in the podcast ‘verse.

  40. Edwin says:

    Laibach “Wat”
    Jeff Buckley “Grace”
    Stevie Ray Vaughn “Texas Flood”

  41. Louise Townsend says:

    Dar Williams–The Beauty of the Rain
    Louise Taylor–Velvet Town
    Kirsty MacColl–Tropical Brainstorm

  42. Mer says:

    Marko, that’s *ridiculous*.

  43. Timin8r says:

    Music to work to:

    Michael Giacchino – “The Incredibles” soundtrack
    Jesse Cook – Vertigo
    Joe Satriani – Surfing with the Alien
    Propellerheads – Decksanddrumsandrockandroll

    Music to listen to: (and laugh at the lyrics)

    Robert Earl Keen – Gringo Honeymoon
    John Hiatt – (one of his older albums)
    Was (not Was) – What up, Dog?

  44. 4B says:

    Matthew Sweet – Girlfriend – classic and timeless
    Sugar – File Under Easy Listening – I recently ripped this one from a new CD I found in an old box of my junk and it’s been in heavy rotation on the iPod
    Foo Fighters – pick any, Echoes Silence Patience & Grace is the latest and it is muy bueno
    Conan the Barbarian Soundtrack – fun stuff from Basil P. if you like soundtracks and bombast
    Blind Melon – Tones of Home (Greatest Hits) – this band was so very good, and I never knew it until a couple of years ago
    The Outlaws – the Best of The Outlaws
    Alison Krauss & Union Station – Live

  45. LittleRed1 says:

    OK, the currently most listened to things in my collection:
    Classical: “Mortin Lauridsen: Lux Aeterna” the LA Symphony. I admit I did not buy the Robert Graves poem settings when I loaded it – don’t care for the poems. The Rilke setting is breathtaking. (There are other Lauridsen collections available with better recordings of the chorus.) Second choice would be: Rodrigo “Concierto de Aranjuez; Fantasia por un Gentilhombre; Albaniz” by the Philharmonia Orchestra.

    Alternative: Abney Park “Death of Tragedy.” Steampunk. Runner up – anything by Blackmore’s Night. “Ghost of a Rose” is the current pick on that one.

    Soundtrack: hmm. A tie between the second season of the new Doctor Who and “Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban”

    And since almost everyone else is bending the rule of three, I’ll add anything by the Wicked Tinkers. “Rant” is playing as I type.

  46. Todd says:

    Wilco: Sky Blue Sky
    Lyle Lovett: The Road to Ensenada
    Yo La Tengo: I Am Not Afraid of You and I Will Beat Your Ass

  47. Alan says:

    My musical tastes are all over the map. The ones that I’ve been playing most lately (but by no means are my all-time favorites) are:

    – Deadbolt: VooDoo Trucker (psychobilly)
    – N.A.S.A.: The Spirit of Apollo (dance/hip-hop)
    – Rockabye Baby: Lullaby Renditions of The Ramones (lullaby punk)
    – The Acid Lounge: The Acid Lounge Goes West (exactly what it sounds like)

    I also highly recommend anything by Los Plantronics (Norwegian mariachi death surf), The Detroit Cobras (obscure Motown soul reinvented as bluesy rock), Ursula 1000 (club/lounge), The Dhol Foundation (electro-Bhangra), and The Rainmakers (swamp rock).

    There are tons of great albums listed above, too. I for one am going to check out that Miles Gurtu ASAP.

  48. scott says:

    pAper chAse – God Bless Your Black Heart
    The Flash Girls – Maurice and I
    Pentangle – One More Road

    as a bonus, annwn, get all of it, it’s free (real free, not stealing free)
    http://motogrrl.org/Bands/annwn/

  49. Sean says:

    Unknown Hinson – The Future is Unknown
    Southern Culture on the Skids – Dirt Track Date
    Doctor Hook – Sloppy Seconds

  50. Because no one else had suggested ’80s thrash-metal…
    Well, all righty then. Metallica. Master of Puppets. Ride the Lightning and …And Justice For All for bonus points. I have all three of those, but Master is my favorite.

  51. Drizzle says:

    Del Amitri- Change Everything

    AC/DC Back in Black

    Bruce Hornsby Greatest hits

  52. Nickster says:

    Elbow: The Seldom Seen Kid (although Leaders of the Free World was a better album, this ain’t bad either)

    Bon Iver: For Emma, Forever Ago

    She & Him: Volume One

  53. ravenshrike says:

    Crüxshadows – Their early stuff has more rack elements, their later stuff has more electronica. Ringo’s latest novel’s central theme is more or less built around on of their songs.

  54. ravenshrike says:

    Ahem, make that rock elements.

  55. Otis says:

    Brad Paisley – The Guitar Album
    (mostly instrumental, no radio play)
    BB King – Live (Geffen)
    Bob Seger – Face the Promise

  56. Eseell says:

    If you’re looking for something different:
    Jonathan Coulton – Where Tradition Meets Tomorrow and Our Bodies, Ourselves, Our Cybernetic Arms are good places to start. Also, The Protomen are a great prog rock band.

  57. Jamie says:

    oh, and anything Foo Fighters. seriously, anything.

    and anything by Leadbelly or Robert Johnson. old blues recorded on a creepy 2-track? you can’t go wrong.

  58. Matt in Portland says:

    Icky Thump- The White Stripes
    The Essential Johnny Cash- Johnny Cash
    Odelay- Beck

    FYI check older albums on amazon you can often find them for pennies plus shipping and handling, which is much cheaper than itunes.

  59. Jinglish says:

    I agree wholeheartedly on the Foo Fighters and White Stripes recommendations. Additionally, I recommend Bear McCreary’s soundtracks for Battlestar Galactica, Moving Pictures and Permanent Waves by Rush, and Solo Piano by Philip Glass.

  60. Anonymoose says:

    “Anonymoose,

    do a search for “plagiarism” on my blog, and you’ll get a good idea of my feelings about intellectual property rights.”

    I’ve seen your writings and your views seem pretty close to my own on the subject. I meant the internet’s views on intellectual property rights in general. I’m something of a musician and having copyrighted material (theoretically) worth stealing gives you a whole new look at the subject. I can’t pirate music anymore.

  61. Mark Alger says:

    Crowded House — any album(s)
    Pink Floyd – A Momentary Lapse of Reason
    Queen – Queen (no, I’m not kidding)
    Golden Earring – Moontan
    the sound track album to A Clockwork Orange

    M

  62. Kristopher says:

    I have the entire collected works of Pink Floyd on my sansa … they were selling the CD collection cheap on Woot.com one fine day ….

  63. Paul says:

    The last 3 CDs I actually bought to load onto my iPod —

    Facing Future – Israel Kamakawiwo’ole
    (“Somewhere Over the Rainbow / What a Wonderful World”)

    Walking Down Rainhill – Jake Shimabukuro
    (“While My Guitar Gently Weeps”)

    Struggle from the Subway to the Charts – Nuttin But Stringz
    (“Broken Sorrow”)
    They won second place on “America’s Got Talent”, but don’t hold that against them… great stuff!

  64. Paul says:

    mea culpa, NBS placed third on AGT…

  65. Eric says:

    Richard Thompson – Mock Tudor
    Rush – Moving Pictures
    Rush – Snakes & Arrows

    Richard says Mock Tudor is one of his favorites as well. Moving Pictures is my deserted island album and Snakes and Arrows just may be their best studio work.

  66. Dobie says:

    Marc Bonilla – EE Ticket
    Marc Bonilla – American Matador
    Gary Hoey – Animal Instinct
    Jeff Lorber – Water Sign
    Plankton – Humble Colossus
    Rush – 2112
    Joe Satriani – Take your pick (Sorry, I like Joe)
    Slash’s Snakepit – It’s Five O’Clock Somewhere
    Andy Timmons – Resolution
    Frank Zappa – Hot Rats
    Frank Zappa – Apostrophe

  67. Jumblerant says:

    Lily Allen – Its not me, it’s you
    Lady GaGa – The Fame
    Coldplay – Vvia La Vida

  68. Andrew says:

    Mick Sterling and the Stud Brothers – Eponymous
    Mick Sterling and the Stud Brothers – Let’s Do Things to Each Other (Minneapolis R&B – email me if you can’t find it)
    The Who – Who’s Next (Not the least bit dated even after all these years)

Comments are closed.