"you’ll never fill that one up."

Thanks for all the suggestions for new music.  Keep ‘em coming!  I’m assembling a list that should double my iTunes music library.

Here’s the status of my current iPod:

ipod

When I bought this thing (a 120GB Classic), the sales guy said that very few people ever fill up a Classic.  As you can see, I’m well on my way.  Those 69GB of video are ninety-eight full-length movies.  I have no idea why exactly I felt compelled to binge on iPod video to such an excessive degree, since I don’t really watch movies on a 2.5″ LCD, but I will tell you this: when the day comes, and I’m stuck at an airport by myself for a week because of weather or terrorism or what-have-you, I’ll be entertained.

(I do watch movies on the PC through iTunes, and I figured I might as well synchronize my entire media library with Mr. iPod, since I have the drive space.)

Another thing the Classic does ably: serve as an external USB drive.  I use it as a tertiary backup for my work files, and as a patch taxi for World of Warcraft.  When Blizzard pushes those 500-1000MB monster updates out, we download them to one of the computers (an act that takes several nights of background downloading over satellite), and then use the iPod to transfer the patches over to the other machine, rather than downloading everything twice, or wasting time copying it over our internal wireless LAN.

We’ve come a long way with personal media players since the 1980s.  I can carry around hundreds of albums and as many full-length flicks in the pocket of my jeans.  Carrying the same amount of music alone in 1983 would have meant schlepping a Walkman, and dragging a steamer trunk full of tapes along with it.

5 thoughts on “"you’ll never fill that one up."

  1. Deanna says:

    Ohh! I could totally fill that up with music alone, having over 200 gigs of music on my pc. :S

    My music suggestions:

    Albums
    Billy Talent – Billy Talent & II
    Metallica – Garage Days Inc & the black album
    Metric – Fantasies
    Nine Inch Nails – Year Zero, With Teeth, The Slip
    Kings of Leon – Because of the Times

    These are just a few of my favourite albums… I have no idea what your choice of music is. haha

  2. Sigivald says:

    I filled up my 160gb Classic a few months after I bought it.

    (I think I’m at maybe 175gb total now.)

  3. LOHAN says:

    The iPod also comes in handy if you have a DVD player with RCA inputs in the family truckster. It is much easier to handle the iPod than a bunch of easily scratched discs.

  4. Assrot says:

    Good luck with that buddy. I haven’t bought any music from any genre since the early 90s. I find it very difficult if not impossible to find what I consider a real musician in this day and age unless it’s one of the old bands or artist from back in the day.

    I ripped all my CDs and digitally remastered all my vinyl to MP3 format. I have a 500GB USB drive about 60 percent filled. I doubt I’ll fill it in my life time.

    On the other hand, I keep my videos on a small NAS (1 TB). It’s about 90 percent full. I’m going to have to go to a bigger device soon.

    I’ve never been big on them little MP3 players and other such hardware with tiny little earbuds that sound like a person whining from the bottom of a grain silo.

    Joe

  5. [...] Quote of the Day – Entertained edition I have no idea why exactly I felt compelled to binge on iPod video to such an excessive degree, since I don’t really watch movies on a 2.5″ LCD, but I will tell you this: when the day comes, and I’m stuck at an airport by myself for a week because of weather or terrorism or what-have-you, I’ll be entertained. – Marko [...]

Comments are closed.