three going on fourteen.

A certain little girl is three years old today.  To commemorate the anniversary of her express delivery thirty-six months ago today, we will spend the day with the rituals of Awarding of the Presents, Making A Big Hullabaloo About The Birthday Girl, and the Demolishing Of The Bear-Shaped Birthday Cake.

At three years of age, Lyra has a very distinctive personality.  She’s pure Cutonium with a core of condensed Stubbornium.  She loves Winnie-the-Pooh, cereal with marshmallows, and being launched on parabolic trajectories in the room with the high ceiling.  She loves her big brother, her Mommy and Daddy, and her doggies.

I tried to take a picture of the newly minted three-year-old this morning, but she wouldn’t stand still long enough for a decent shot.  (A picture of motion-blurred Lyra would be a good representation of her current physical state most of the time.)  I’ll snap some pictures later, when she’ll have to be in one spot for a few seconds to unwrap her presents and have a bite of birthday cake.

Happy Birthday, little girl. We’re all very glad you joined the gang.

9 thoughts on “three going on fourteen.

  1. Eric says:

    Happy Birthday little one!

    On a funny side note, my 88 year old grandmother mispronounced hullabaloo as “hula”baloo this week. I’m still laughing about it!

  2. jetfxr69 says:

    I’m shocked that I get to be first!

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY LYRA!!! (Yes, I’m shouting. It’s a long way to NH from here and I want to make sure it gets through the tubes without being muffled.)

    • jetfxr69 says:

      Dangit, I should reload the page before I say stuff about being “first”. :)

  3. perlhaqr says:

    Hee. Today is my wife’s birthday, too.

    Happy birthday, little girls!

  4. Rey B says:

    Happy birthday to the high speed low drag Lyra!

  5. BobG says:

    Happy birthday to her.

  6. Happy Birthday, Lyra!!!

  7. Al Terego says:

    Best wishes to the birthday girl, and an unsolicited (and unnecessary, really) reminder to her parents to cherish and enjoy every minute of the innocence and frenzy that is age three. You don’t even want to think about age fourteen in any real sense, and in any case believe me when I say, it’ll be here in a blink. AT

  8. Tam says:

    Three? Wow…

    Happy b-day, Lyra!

Comments are closed.