a thing in which to haul around the stuff.

I just realized that I haven’t shown off my Father’s Day gift yet.

That’s a leather satchel from Far Horizon Traders.  I have been hauling around my writing stuff in a surplus canvas map case, which worked all right, but I’ve been on the lookout for a nicer writing satchel for a while.  My awesome wife saw me looking at these online, and got me this one as a surprise.  It’s made of pretty thick buffalo hide, the hardware is brass, and the bag is just the right size–big enough for a few notebooks, pen case, and an iPod, and not so big that you try and haul half the office around with you.

This one (the “Samarkand“) appealed to me the most because it has a sort of RenFaire medieval-y look to it, and it doesn’t look like your run-of-the-mill briefcase or laptop bag.

Did I mention my wife is made of unalloyed Awesome?

32 thoughts on “a thing in which to haul around the stuff.

  1. Mauser*Girl says:

    “Honest – it’s not a purse. It’s a satchel.”

    ;P

    • Marko Kloos says:

      Hey…Indiana Jones carries one.

      • eli says:

        It’ll be a purse until it has developed the patina only age can endow.

        And then no one will care as to an old man’s affectations …

        Nice purse. I’d carry it for the purpose you propose, as well.

      • Chris says:

        Actually … Indiana Jones’ original bag was a British Mark VII gas mask bag. (And they’re available as reproductions, too. Seems they sell well to Indiana Jones fans.)

  2. Flo the Progressive agent: “And no more holding her purse!”

    Marko: “Um, it’s a European shoulder bag. It was a gift.”

  3. NYEMT says:

    Technically, it’s a man-purse. Also known as a “murse”. Not to worry – it casts no doubt on your manliness whatsoever. Honest. No, really – I mean it. Nobody’s questioning your testosterone level. It’s totally cool.

  4. Tam says:

    Oxidized Piss Pucket to comment on your wife buying you a purse in 3… 2… 1…

    (I’d have gone with something in black ballistic nylon and slathered in MOLLE loops, myself, but I’m all girly that way. ;) )

  5. Außenseiter says:

    Hmm. My family never buy satchels. Various elders often recieve them at conventions. Usually, they’re pretty decent.

    I have this nice one from IBM. I especially liked how it raised eyebrows when I was working for the knobfaces at Accenture…

    • Außenseiter says:

      (though, my mother has a filthy habit of buying handbags for herself. How irrational. Function is what matters, not form, and If I can save money on form, I can get more useful stuff, more function.. )

  6. Jeff says:

    That looks like beautiful leather and workmanship. I have a very similar one I use as a shooting bag in the field. Funny how no one calls it a purse when you’re carrying a 50 caliber flintlock or a 12 ga. side by side cylinder choke percussion shotgun. :-)

    Jeff

  7. Scaramouche says:

    It looks like a saddlebag.

  8. Al Terego says:

    Purse, satchel, saddlebag (that was my first thought too, Scaramouche)…call it what you will, I’ll not be making that mistake again.

    Flashback to 1980; tight knit pants with tiny pockets, long-sleeve silky disco shirts, curly-perms and man-bags with wrist straps for guys…and as a twenty-something rather flashy young jeweler, I had them all.

    Leaving a restaurant with a business acquaintance, realized I left the bag in the booth or on the checkout counter when I got to the car, and by the time I went back in it was gone for good; cops came, interviewed the help, etc. etc. all for naught.

    In that bag was $700 cash, a vintage Rolex that I was showing to a client later that day, and the first of my three NAA22LR mini-revolvers, not to mention the personal stuff.

    Realized toting a purse was a really bad idea for someone as absent-minded as myself, went and bought some pants with real pockets, and chalked it all up to a very expensive lesson in not following trends.

    Not that I couldn’t still find a way to lose and leave things behind; don’t ask me what happened to the second NAA…

    AT

  9. LittleRed1 says:

    Cool bag! Lovely workmanship as well.

  10. aczarnowski says:

    That should age beautifully.

  11. [...] a satchel Posted on July 1, 2010 by Caleb Not a purse. [...]

  12. mike w. says:

    That’s not nearly tacticool enough Marko.

    Needs some rails.

  13. Jay G. says:

    Having seen Marko shoot, I’ll refrain from the purse/murse/etc. comments…

    It’s gorgeous, Marko. Should be just the thing for hauling around that pink camera of yours…

    runs and hides

    • MarkHB says:

      Real men aren’t afraid of wearing pink, Jay. I own a pair of pink swim-trunks and astonishingly I never have anyone bug me about ‘em.

      • Jay G. says:

        Not afraid of pink here, MarkHB.

        Heck I’m wearing a pink shirt in this video;)

        Marko was regaling us about the inspiration for his pink camera – he can always spot it in a group of cameras – which I thought was damn smart thinking.

        • Marko Kloos says:

          Also: male thieves are less likely to swipe the pink one.

          Did you know that pink was the traditional color for baby boys before WWII, and light blue was for girls?

          “There has been a great diversity of opinion on the subject, but the generally accepted rule is pink for the boy and blue for the girl. The reason is that pink being a more decided and stronger color is more suitable for the boy, while blue, which is more delicate and dainty, is prettier for the girl.” [Ladies Home Journal, June, 1918]

        • MarkHB says:

          That’s a very snappy looking shirt! Even looks good with about 150 pixels of motion-blur on it ;)

  14. I wish that Americans could relax a little at the sight of a man carrying something that doesn’t look like a small suitcase. I used to carry a handtasche in Germany and thought it was great. No more pockets stuffed full of junk. Well except the the stiletto I carried in the shoulder pocket of my jacket.

  15. Ken says:

    Heck, I’d have been cool with the map case. I’ve been thinking of making a small satchel: something to carry a notebook, a pen, a dozen colored pencils, my Sony Reader, stuff like that.

    The one you got there looks fine. Not tacticool enough? It looks like browncoat tacticool to me. I’d like something a little more steampunk, but that one would do fine.

  16. wolfwalker says:

    ‘Tis nae a satchel or a saddlebag. ‘Tis a sporran.

  17. It’s seriously, FABULOUS!

    (This from a guy who’s been totin’ an old ammo bag as a man purse for about 10 years…)

  18. Windy Wilson says:

    It’s what Wolfwalker says it is.
    And do you know why the Scots got their reputation as such ferocious fighters?
    They got sick and tired of the English calling their sporrans “purses”. That and the business about calling the kilts “skirts”.

  19. RevolverRob says:

    Not going to lie, I am a messenger bag whore. I have six, SIX, messenger bags. Sadly, I still own more pairs of shoes…But I do love me a messenger bag/satchel. They are very handy for storing daily junk, a notebook, a Macbook, charger, fountain pen, etc. I always get compliments on my leather bags being so nice.

    This company you posted is new to me, I am jonesin’ for the Safari with the grab handle…hmm new graduate student status warrants a new briefcase/messenger bag right? Definitely.

    -Rob

    • snarkywombats says:

      I just gave in to the same justification for a leather messenger bag. Heading off to graduate school myself in a month and a half, and wanted a different bag than the one I used all though university.

  20. MarkHB says:

    Part of me wishes my shit fit in a messenger bag. Part of me is proud of the fact that in order to do my work at Starbucks, first I have to haul out the Slab. The Slab is one kilo of frilled and crenellated aluminium, bored for a pair of 120mm fans. Then The Slab has to be connected to Lapzilla over USB, to power the fans. The Lapzilla activates, blasting all the dust off the table ‘pon which she sits, atop The Slab.

    The Slab sucks the heat out of Lapzilla’s GPU and CPU and attempts to heat the surrounding volume as I convert joules into pixels, with thermal diarrhea as a byproduct.

    I have a large carbon footprint for a dude who doesn’t drive.

    They don’t do messenger bags for people like me yet. Perhaps I should just buy some sheet leather and a heavy-gauge needle and make bags for people like me. It would be good to have a hobby.

  21. Eric Hammer says:

    I was just going to mention leather work as a hobby. It is moderately time intensive to do the sewing by hand, but really cutting out the leather and staining it (that looks like it is done with straight Neatsfoot oil) is fairly easy. I made my wife a nice satchel for carring things around Pennsic, though she complains it is too big. Nevermind it is smaller than her day to day purse…

    If you get some free time, so around age 60 or so, I would recommend some leather crafting.

Comments are closed.