walter mitty goes to the gunshow.

“Special Forces” poser goes to gunshow in decked-out ACUs…is busted by real, actual, active-duty infantry NCO just back from a tour in A-stan.  Hilarity ensues.

Looking at the pictures of the poser (taken by the real Infantry soldier with his iPhone camera), this is the most brazen and astounding piece of wannabe-ism I’ve seen in a while.  The spare tire on the “Special Forces officer” is truly epic, and should give him away as a poser to anyone with half a brain, even without the inconsistencies in the uniform the guy managed to put together on eBay.

Why is it that these assclowns never pretend to be an E-3 filing clerk or truck driver?  It’s always Special Forces, Rangers, or Marine Force Recon, and when they show up in dress uniform, it’s always with a completely unbelievable ribbon salad.

Special Forces, Ranger, Military Police (with tin badge on the ACU chest, no less!), strapped-on radio with slung mike…about the only things he isn’t claiming are the Medal of Honor, and the rank of Commodore in the Royal Manticoran Space Navy.

22 thoughts on “walter mitty goes to the gunshow.

  1. Jason says:

    Even he isn’t going to risk pissing off Honor Harrington.

  2. Antibubba says:

    You guys are being to tough on the poor man. Personally, I think he’d make an EXCELLENT IED shield.

  3. BombthePeasants says:

    As a Commodore in the Manticoran Space Navy (1st Uranus Squadron), I’m offended at your remark. You should be ejected out the poo-tube.

  4. Antibubba says:

    Wait a sec–as I’m reading the thread over there, I have to ask: Is he the infamous “Gunkid”, creator of the “Assault Wheelbarrow”?

  5. Fred2 says:

    I get amused at the outrage, I mean i get it, but normally it’s so blatant that I can’t get angry.

    I see these types as sort of sad & somewhat stupid.

    Unless of course they seriously try to capitalize on the fantasy.

    • Kristopher says:

      He had, repeatedly in the past.

      Claiming to be a first responder to get free meals, etc.

      He’s got fraud warrants out on his ass from all over, including Canada.

      This ain’t some Walter Mitty-esque loser, but rather a convicted con-man.

    • ATLien says:

      You need to read more of that, man. He took charge at a fatal bridge collapse, and the FBI took orders from him for 2 days. That’s what he went to jail for. Oh, and he’s a felon carrying a gun.

  6. Ancient Woodsman says:

    Are you sure that’s not Major Caudill? I heard he’s a writer of some sort, goes to gun shows & things…didn’t know he was a SF MP, though.

  7. Lissa says:

    about the only things he isn’t claiming are the Medal of Honor, and the rank of Commodore in the Royal Manticoran Space Navy.

    And that the Force was strong with him.

    Wanker.

  8. Blackwing1 says:

    …and claiming to also be the Captain of a ship, he’d have been wearing the WHITE beret.

  9. [...] Marko and Tam point to this story of a real Special Forces dressing down a fake SF who showed up at a gun show talking bullshit. [...]

  10. Joel says:

    This ain’t some Walter Mitty-esque loser, but rather a convicted con-man.

    Not a very good one, from the evidence. “Keep your lies simple and plausible,” that’s what I was always taught.

    I know next to nothing about SF operators but I have at least met one or two. To say they’re clearly and obviously in a different class from Moby Warrior there is like saying an A-bomb is rather loud.

    • abnormalist says:

      Your close. The best lies are to tell the truth in a way that no one would ever beleive its the truth. Then they dont know what to think

  11. Mike Dodson says:

    I retired more than 20 years ago but I can still turn on the Sergeant Major when I get aggravated. About six months ago I walked into a local KentKwik (like a 7-11) and saw some kid who couldn’t have been more than 17 or 18 wearing an old cotton fatigue shirt (not issued since about 1970) and sporting a Silver Star Medal. I asked him if it was his dad’s or grand-dad’s and he told me, “No, it’s mine. I just got back from Afgh–” That’s as far as he got before I backed him up against the soda bar screaming in his face to get that badge of is chest and give it to me, which he did. I then proceeded to give him a calm and reasonable set of reasons why he should not wear such things that he did not in fact earn. I explained to him what it means and how many of them are awarded posthumously. He left, in tears, and I was surprised that 3 or 4 others in the store applauded and thanked me for my service and for what I had just done.

    Sure beats the hell out of what was waiting for me when I came back from Viet Nam.

    • farmist says:

      “…3 or 4 others in the store applauded and thanked me for my service and for what I had just done.”

      Allow me to add my thanks as well!

    • john b says:

      And My thanks! If he’s not a competent liar, he’s got no business trying.

      And lying on that matter, even brings my decrepit dad out of his shell. Had some WalMart encounters w/valor thieves. Needless to say, they were handed back their heads by a man who did ‘nothing remarkable’ during his Korean War ERA service in Germany. I don’t know WHY tho OSI show up every once in a while, I just bend over backwards cooperating with those scary bastards!

  12. john b says:

    That boy is just plain sick. I mean if he got out of prison for impersonating a military person. And he’s back at it.

    Sort of like the ‘professional shoplifter’ my Dad and I are acquainted with. It’s a sickness, they just can’t help themselves.

Comments are closed.