the aesthetics of bedtime.

Here’s Lyra’s pick for last night’s bedtime story:

Picture 007

What could possess a three-year-old to pick such heady material?

  1. She’s genuinely interested in 500-page treatises on aesthetics.
  2. She finds Plato boring and chose this book to put her to sleep faster.
  3. She thinks that Daddy will take the bait, and read a bedtime story for twelve hours, thereby delaying bedtime.
  4. She likes the rainbow on the cover.

Right now, I’m leaning toward option 4, but knowing my (already clever and devious) girl child, I have a sneaking suspicion that option 3 may also be a contender.

4 thoughts on “the aesthetics of bedtime.

  1. Ancient Woodsman says:

    If she’s on the high end of three, I’d definitely pick both choices #3 and #4. Kids that age while still favoring rainbows and such are far more skilled at planning than most parents would readily admit.

    Which of course is a confirmation of intelligence. Congratulations, Dad!

  2. Hee,hee that’s funny. I would also go with options 3 an 4. I know how I used to choose things like books based on their appearance and then would be sorely disappointed.

  3. I’m going with 2. Kids have to work pretty hard to shock parents these days:)

    tweaker

  4. Dr. Feelgood says:

    I choose their bedtime books for them. Otherwise the elder three will go for the almanac, every time.

    Even then, I skip about half of Hop on Pop.

Comments are closed.