39.

I’m thirty-nine today…not quite over the hill, but I can definitely see the top from here.

For my birthday, I get to pack bags for our trip, do some more laundry, and shoehorn a few thousand words of writing into my day.  I asked Buddha for a pony and a plastic rocket, but I haven’t seen hide nor hair of the UPS driver yet.  On Wednesday, our house sitter arrives, and on Thursday morning, we’re heading south in the Grand Marnier (which, incidentally, will be paid off this month, which means that the statistical likelihood of a catastrophic failure increases by 1000%.)

All in all, just another busy day here at Castle Frostbite.  But I tell you this: there will be cocktails tonight.  And I want a cake shaped like a martini glass.

34 thoughts on “39.

  1. JD says:

    Hey Happy B-Day! Have a great day!

  2. Sean says:

    Happy birthday sir, may you and your loved ones have a wonderful day!

  3. Lissa says:

    Happy Birthday, sir!!

  4. Mithras61 says:

    I believe the appropriate comment is “glücklich Geburstag.”

  5. Jay G. says:

    Happy birthday Marko!

    That means that next year we’ll both be officially old.
    :D

    • ZerCool says:

      No, Jay. Marko will be *dignified*. You’ll be old. You see, when you have a foreign accent (even a very faint one), you don’t get old, you just become more attractive to women half to a third your age. Exhibit A: Sean Connery.

      So Marko has one year to get ready for the legions of Twilighters and college girls to start knocking down his door…

      PS: “Bostonite” is not a foreign accent.

      Happy birthday, Marko, and many happy returns!

  6. Pappy says:

    Happy birthday Marko!

    Your 39th birthday is an easy one. Last week I turned 51. Birthdays are starting to get harder to celebrate every year.

  7. Rick O' Shea says:

    A very, very Happy Birthday to you, Marko.

    I wish you safe travel on your journey and inspiration in your work.

    And remember to drink a glass of water and take two aspirin before bed…

  8. Chang says:

    Marko,

    I liked 39. In fact I was 39 at VP. Have fun with it. That’s all I have to say because I’m 41 and it’s time for my nap.

  9. BobG says:

    Happy birthday, youngster.

  10. scotaku says:

    Is that 39 in German years? I thought there was a conversion chart available somewhere, but I can’t seem to locate it. Regardless, Happy Birthday!

    • Robert says:

      I don’t think there is a numbering difference. Marko is simply a far better engineered 39. Happy Birthday Marko.

  11. Eric says:

    Happy Brthday!

  12. John Murphy says:

    Happy birthday! Have a fun trip, and good luck on the martini-glass cake.

  13. libertyman says:

    Only 39 ? Hah! I’m way ahead of you!
    Happy Birthday!

  14. Happy happy to ya lad!

    Don’t start talking about being old; you ain’t seen nuthin’ yet.

  15. Heath J says:

    Many happy returns, sir!

  16. T.Stahl says:

    Ok, bei you it’s immernoch Monday, so ich bin not too spät to wish you a herzlichen Glühstrumpf to your neununddreißigsten Birthday!

  17. Jeff says:

    Happy 39th Birthday!!

    You’re not over the hill at 40 but it does seem to get steeper!

  18. Tam says:

    Hippo birdy two ewe, bro. :)

  19. bluntobject says:

    Happy birthday; here’s to many more.

  20. paul says:

    As long as you can count them a birthday is a good thing. Happy Birthday.

  21. Will says:

    Happy Birthday indeed!

    Nice Serenity reference.

  22. Montie says:

    Happy birthday Marko. This gives me an excuse to tip a martini when I get home! In your honor of course.

  23. Ulises from CA says:

    Happy Birthday to you!

  24. Larry says:

    Happy Birthday!

  25. julie says:

    happy birthday!!!!!!!!

  26. abnormalist says:

    Two sayings.

    1. You’re only as old as you feel. This is why I beleive in the zombie apocalypse. I’m already halfway dead.

    2. You are only as old as you act. So really I’m just 12. Sure, I have 20 years experience with it, but I’m still 12.

    Happy B day,

  27. DirtCrashr says:

    Happy belatedlys, but 40 is the new 20, dontchaknow? The top of the hill is an illusion, it’s further away and higher than it looks.

  28. Ancient Woodsman says:

    Youngster! May you have a very happy birthday.

    Thanks for hosting your blog. It’s always a good read.

  29. Billll says:

    39 is a good age. I’ve been 39 for almost 25 years now.

  30. Mongol says:

    Happy Birthday!

    Just remember, if you ask Buddha for presents, you have to be wearing a Hawaiian shirt.

Comments are closed.