on writing and guns.

I get the occasional gun question from writer friends who know that I own firearms.  If you’re one of them, I have a two-part invitation for you:

  • Feel free to ask me technical questions abut guns and the use of them for your stories.  I’ve been owning and legally carrying firearms for twenty-two years, both professionally and as a private citizen, and I know an awful lot about the subject.  And even if I don’t know the answer, I probably know people who do.
  • If you’re ever in the area, and you’d like to get some safe instruction in handling and shooting firearms in a safe and low-stress environment, let me know.  I’d be glad to teach you the basics of gun safety, handling and shooting a weapon, and responsible gun ownership.
20 thoughts on “on writing and guns.

  1. Jeff says:

    Marko, That’s a generous offer. While I don’t doubt your knowledge and ability to instruct, I am surprised you are old enough to have 22 years of shooting. :-)

    My wife and I enjoy teaching newcomers the basics of gun safety, handling and markmanship. Also, I have advised a number of people on the Mystery Writers of America forum on the history and use of firearms. (I was shocked at how little some well-known crime writers know about guns.) Isn’t it a rewarding activity?

    BTW, the last few newcomers have enjoyed the shooting sessions but were especially intrigued with the black powder weapons. That’s what they want to try exclusively the next time out. And this spring we are taking a group of retirees to the range to let them try out the muzzleloaders. With the 150th anniversary of Civil War battles beginning this summer, there is likely to be more interest in the old style weapons. This suits me as more and more of my target shooting is with black powder. Love the guns and love the history behind them.

  2. Marko,

    What’s a good starter weapon for learning to shoot well and safely? Pistol? Rifle? Hand-mortar?

    • Marko Kloos says:

      Depends on your personal preferences, really. I usually start people out on .22s, and work up from there. If I had you at Castle Frostbite for some Gun Skul, I’d probably start you out with a single-shot .22 rifle. Later on, we’d move to .22 pistols and revolvers, and then to the bigger centerfire stuff. You’ll find that you’ll develop your own preference for pistol or revolver as you get comfortable with both.

      • I’ve fired shotguns, pistols and rifles but not enough of either to know of a preference. But given that my new studio space is next to a weapon training facility and my contractor is owner of a gun store I feel like I should really get to know a weapon or two. Also it makes for good research, right?

  3. abnormalist says:

    It is funny how many times I read something and they reference…

    A suppressor on a revolver – Really? Are you shooting a Nagant 1895 or other gas seal revolver? Cause you know it doesnt really work otherwise

    The light reflecting off the slide of someones stainless steel glock – Have you ever seen a glock? Do you get that glocks are black glob guns?

    Clicking off the safety on their Glock – So, really, you just picked the brand Glock, and used whatever attributes you wanted to on it didnt you? Next time go with Smith and Wesson and you will be a lot safer

  4. Terence says:

    You’ve probably seen this thread. Even some of the “experts” over there aren’t getting it right 100% of the time.

    http://www.absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?t=195912

  5. WhiteRose says:

    Thank you for going out of your way to help others & also support the cause of the right to bear arms. Good job!!

  6. Antibubba says:

    So, Marko, a bit off topic–what movie has the best (most realistic) gun usage?

    • Glamdring says:

      Not Marko. But I would say “Way of the Gun” for realistic gun fighting.

      The Jessie Stone series with Tom Sellec has some realistic and some not so realistic elements. Some of the very real elements about what using gun in self defense are mentioned in the first or second movie were his romantic interest is asking if he ever shot anyone.

    • Marko Kloos says:

      “Way of the Gun” is good. Other than Longbaugh’s .308 Galil making a perfectly straight line across the interior wall in the bordello on full auto, I didn’t have too much to niggle about.

      Also decent: “Heat”, particularly the bank robbery shootout. And “Silence of the Lambs” has the most realistic shaky-handed reload under stress, when Clarice reloads her 3″ Model 13″ from a speedloader after plugging Buffalo Bill in the basement.

  7. Mulligan says:

    for those folks in different areas of the world there are a few other gunnies willing to share their experience and show a new shooter the ropes in a safe responsible fashion.

    http://outofoptions.wordpress.com/mentors/

    • Randy says:

      Second the OutOfOptions mentors. I’ve been on the list for quite a while, and it’s great to take true novices on their first trip to the range. I’ll even supply the .22 ammo, they just cover the range fees.

  8. Tam says:

    Make sure you let Tom Clancy shoot your 10mm Beretta…

  9. TBeck says:

    Any chance of getting Stephen King to take you up on that offer?

  10. MountainHome says:

    We just need to save our country from our government!

  11. Carl Adkins says:

    In my experience Glocks have worked very well. A lot of rounds in very nasty surroundings and they continue to run.

Comments are closed.