constant companion.

Because all the cool kids are doing it, here’s my leap onto the “Which knife is in your pocket right now?” meme wagon.

It’s a Kershaw Blur in red, with the old “skateboard tape” style inserts. As you can see from the wear on the scales, it has seen some use. I’ve carried it daily since about 2004. The torsion spring for the assisted opening mechanism gave up the ghost recently after thousands of openings, so now it’s just a plain folder. I really should get a new Blur and retire this one.

I have plenty of other blades, but the Blur is the one I like best. Nice blade shape, easy to sharpen, holds an edge well, and quick to deploy.

While we’re at it, here’s the wife’s EDC knife, a Spyderco Native:

A good sharp knife is just a necessity, even for the tranquil suburban environment. Yes, it’s a fine close quarters self-defense weapon in a pinch, but more importantly, it’s an indispensable everyday tool. I mean, how else are you supposed to open Amazon.com boxes and stubborn bags of candy?

14 thoughts on “constant companion.

  1. mac says:

    If you go to Kershaw’s site, from the comment form you can request a new torsion bar. Just make sure you have the model number. They sent me two for my mini-boa, for free.

  2. Carteach says:

    Okay, I just ordered the Kershaw.

  3. Rey B says:

    Kershaw will also send you the tool to take the scales off so you can repair the torsion bar.I have a Leek and a Needs Work.

  4. Gerry N. says:

    My “Always Have It” knife is a Swiss Army Tinker made by Victorinox. They’ve been getting harder to find and as I wear one out in about 2 1/2 or 3 years, I’ve learned to buy ‘em when I see ‘em. I now have four in reserve safely tucked away in my sock drawer. I honestly don’t know what I’d do if I had to give my Tinker up.

  5. ILTim says:

    OHHH MYY GOOOOOOOD!!!!
    AHHHHHH!!!!
    Those boxes had FEEEEELINGS! You BASTARD! You scary knife wielding freak bastard!

    Ok sorry, really, just had to vent a little. I’ve been carrying the same CRKT M16-11K for about eight or nine years. Durable, handy, slim, I just love it. Bought a backup to keep around in the box in case something happens to my primary (and they keep making subtle model changes that I don’t like).

    http://www.crkt.com/M16-01-EDC-Black-ZytelHandle-AutoLAWKS-Razor-Sharp-Edge

  6. Carl says:

    Yep, my Kershaw Blur (black, tactical) is the one that stays in my pocket while others stay at home. Just seems to feel right.

  7. [...] All the cool kids are playing. [...]

  8. brookes says:

    I ran my Kershaw over with a forklift. They sent me everything but the blades and handle to fix it. When I couldn’t make it perfect my warranty person told me to mail it to attn and she would send me a new one. Kershaw rocks.

  9. abnormalist says:

    Not a huge assisted opening knives just due to the safety devices I’ve been seeing on them.
    I prefer the ones that if you push the nub the initial resistance is such that once you overcome it the blade flicks out almost like an assisted opener but without the ability to pop open in your pocket without you wanting it to.

    Currently I have a Gerber Evo Jr as my daily carry knive, point down in the pocket witht he clip on, nub on the back that you press to open, and after a little white grease on the pivot, it flicks open like an assisted opener without any issues.

    Love it.

  10. freddyboomboom says:

    Link to warranty portion of Kershaw’s website: http://www.kershawknives.com/warranty.php?brand=kershaw

    They don’t warranty the cosmetic seconds that they sell at their factory sale, so if you bought it from sumdood and it has XXXX on the blade, it’s a cosmetic second.

    That’s why I buy spares when I go to their factory sale…

    Otherwise, the warranty is for the life of the original owner.

  11. [...] Kids (who you should be reading)Jay G.BredaWeer’dTamSayUncleASM826Captain TightpantsGuffawThe DuckMarkoNewbiusNew Jovian ThunderboltZercool (so cool it’s in his name)↑2. I have since learned the [...]

  12. [...] mean, look at Marko’s! But hey, everybody’s doing it, [...]

  13. Windy Wilson says:

    Iltim — STOP CHANNELING MY EX! Seriously, though, she was somewhat freaked out by me carrying a Swiss Army Tinker in my pocket, even though I once used it to rescue a pelican from fish hooks and fishing line it was tangled and snagged in.
    I don’t understand why, though. As a guy and a former Boy Scout a pocket knife is tremendously useful, its functionality for women taken by their fingernails.

    • farmist says:

      Windy, just the “helpless” females. I bought my wife a Case Congress a few years ago, and a mini-Victorinox long before. She usually has one or the other (sometimes both) with her.

Comments are closed.