northern rail trail.

Our county has an old railway trail that has been repurposed as a recreational path by a volunteer organization. It’s in use all year–you can walk, run, or ride your bike in the summer, and use it in the winter for cross-country skiing or snowshoeing. The path stretches through most of the county and runs along rivers and through towns. Motor vehicles aren’t allowed, so it’s a great place for taking a walk or exercising without having to watch for traffic, and the scenery is lovely. The trail runs within two or three miles of our house, so I can go out there easily any time I feel like stretching my legs and clearing my head.

Yesterday, I went for a walk along the stretch of it that goes through Enfield proper and along the shore of Mascoma Lake. I now have a way to take spur-of-the-moment pictures and videos any time I want, so I took a few shots. It was already close to dusk, but the camera in the iPhone did pretty well.

One thought on “northern rail trail.

  1. cavpatriot says:

    Beautiful! I don’t get to see that sort of scenery down here in the desert. Thanks for sharing!

Comments are closed.