viking neck knife.

Because the sheath covers more than half the handle and locks the knife via simple friction, the little Mora makes a dandy neck knife. The blade is skinny and lacks a handguard, and the overall profile of the knife is very slim, so despite its 4” blade, the Mora tucks away under most any cover garment.

A neck knife makes a lot of sense in cold climates, where it’s easier to reach down your cover garment than to dig through multiple layers of clothing to get to your belt knife. It’s also fully ambidextrous—you can reach the knife equally well with either hand. Lastly, it’s fast to deploy even with gloves—you don’t need to undo snaps or work a mechanism to get the blade ready for use.

Take a $15 Mora, some Gorilla tape, and a length of paracord with a knot on either end, and you have an inexpensive, tough, versatile, sharp and easy to maintain fixed blade utility knife that’s a breeze to carry.

003

58 thoughts on “viking neck knife.

  1. mikeb302000 says:

    What exactly is that knife for, Marko?

    • Marko Kloos says:

      Let’s see if you can think of the answer yourself. What do people usually need knives for, Mike?

    • Marko Kloos says:

      Also, before you do, let’s not pretend that you haven’t already made up your mind that carrying a knife is a sign of a retrograde, violent disposition, and that anything I say can make you acknowledge that anyone could ever have a valid reason for carrying a knife like that.

      • mikeb302000 says:

        I got it. You carry two guns at all times in case you can’t get at your 1911 because of the winter coat, you can get to the little .38 in an ankle holster. If you come upon a criminal, you know a “goblin,” and you’re forced to take his life for the good of society, you might want to use that knife to take a souvinir before the authorities come. But it’s messy.

        Here’s what I suggest.

        http://mikeb302000.blogspot.com/2011/05/scariest-knife-in-world.html

        • Marko Kloos says:

          Dude, you need to seek professional help with your fixation. All that fantasizing about killing and mutilating people doesn’t come from a healthy mind.

        • perlhaqr says:

          Wow. You’re really creepy, dude.

        • 45er says:

          I can see mike typing this from a padded room with no letter openers, scissors, hammers, kitchen knives, steak knives, baseball bats or any other tool that he deems inappropriate for someone else to possess. Sadly, some people feel the need to be prepared themselves while others wander around looking for someone that is prepared. In addition, I think mike is of the “lay down and cry” school of self-defense.

        • 8notch says:

          Really? And here I thought that tool use was one of the basic differences between us and animals. Marko is showing a basic, simple knife that is handy, accessible and functional. Not a skull or dragon on it or anything “cool”, just a simple tool.

        • Rauðbjorn says:

          I think you’ve seen “Universal Soldier” and “Gangs of New York” too many times, or prehaps you played Diablo too many times as a kid. Either way it takes a seriously barbaric person to take human remains as a souvenier. Also taking such a trophy would not go over well with the LEOs, or with a jury.

        • Zane says:

          Shouldn’t you be spamming your banal blog over at DU?

      • Rauðbjorn says:

        You say that as if a knife is not a useful defensive tool. And as a person with a “retrograde, violent disposition” I take exception to having my character maligned. I only use my blades for legitimate purposed, like cutting things and defending myself.

        • mikeb302000 says:

          You know, I was being facetious to give Marko the business, did that go over your head?

          In a later comment you say you never have had to use the Bowie knife, but here you say you use blades for defending yourself. I’m a bit confused, but I suspect you’re just another fantasy dweller.

        • Rauðbjorn says:

          Mike, I think you’re confusing action with intent. I carry with the intent to defend myself. I have yet to need to act on that intent. Just like you intend to make the world a better place, but your actions do the opposite.

    • Kristopher says:

      It’s for knifing little felons like you MikeB, immediately after they try to perpetrate a crime.

      Why don’t you come home from Europe, and take responsibility for your crimes in the US?

    • Mike S says:

      Ooo, everybody listen close. The cubicle dweller who’s never had dirt under his fingernails is going to tell us how stupid we are for carrying a basic tool around! This aught to be good!

      Meanwhile, out here in the real world I use a pocket knife at least two or three times a day. Then again, I am one of those subhumans with dirt under his fingernails and callouses on his hands…

      Why do you despise us so much, B?

  2. T. Munk says:

    Knives are very handy tools to have in many everyday circumstances. What civilized person wouldn’t carry one? It’d be like not carrying money.

  3. HerrBGone says:

    These are great knives! The two things I love about them are their simplicity of design and how well the take and hold an edge. Which brand of Mora is yours? Mine is an E Jonnson.

  4. Tommy says:

    Just be careful not to become everyone’s favorite delicacy-onna-stick purveyor, Mister Dibbler on the draw. Looks like a great knife, though. :-D

  5. Jeff The Bear says:

    Like the idea of the neck knife. Since you first wrote about the classic Mora knife I’ve acquired 4 of them of different lengths. That’s 4 comfortable, incredibly sharp and easy to maintain, beautifully designed and inexpensive knives in functional sheaths for less than fifty bucks, delivered. (Do you get the impression that I like these knives?) They are my favorite whittling knives and one stays in the shooting pouch for my black powder long rifles.

    The neck knife would be convenient when not wearing a belt like with sweat pants or overalls.

  6. 98.6 degrees – How to keep your Ass Alive.

    • Sigh…. “98.6 Degrees – The Art of Keeping Your Ass Alive” by Cody Lundin

      That’s the book I was thinking of.

      Lundin has some idea on what can be attached and hang with the sheath like: a rescue mirror, water proof matches and a flat map compass?

      He too also likes the Mora.

  7. Gerry N. says:

    I’m 67 and have carried a knife since my first day of first grade in 1950. Personally, I prefer a Boy Scout or Swiss Army type with multiple tools. I now carry a Benchmade folding hunter as well. All that said, I do not live in or go anywhere the temperature drops below 40 F so a neck knife is not a choice for me.

  8. Tam says:

    I cannot fathom the idea of somebody not carrying a knife. Specifically a knife that can be brought into action one-handed, be it a fixed-blade or a “tactical folder”, because you never know when you may have to deploy that knife tactically at a moment’s notice; those occasions can crop up multiple times in one day.

    I prefer a tactical folder, so that I can hold the tray steady with one hand while I tactically slit film over rice and entree, remove film over beans with the other.

  9. perlhaqr says:

    What’s the Gorilla tape for?

  10. Methinks that perhaps Mike misconstrues the meaning of “neck knife”.

    Protip: It’s not a knife for slashing someone’s neck. It refers to the means of CARRYING said knife.

  11. Able says:

    Well, here in the PRUK I’m kind of limited anyway, so I normally carry a Leatherman Charge TTi (oops that’s illegal, don’t tell anyone), a Victorinix Swiss Champ and a SOG Micron (too many? hey I have to defend myself from all those violent .. er.. apples, bits of rope, cardboard boxes, bottles [lots of bottles] etc. Surprisingly I haven’t had to fight off anyone or even cut a bit off anyone in.. oh, must be years).

    Meyerco, do a nice one – damn that’s definitely illegal here too :-)

    http://www.heinnie.com/Knives/Meyerco-Knives/Meyerco-Knives-Besh-Wedge-Neck-Knife/p-92-394-5769/

  12. fastrichard says:

    I’ve had one of those knives for nearly thirty years. It was brought back as a souvenir by family members visiting our ancestral home near Mora. I’ve used it for everything from cutting up boxes for the trash to field dressing several deer. It doesn’t look like much next to more expensive knives, but it holds an edge better than most.

  13. Rignerd says:

    My dad taught me that the ultimate test of a knife is making a sandwich. The blade must be sharp enough to slice a tomato, thin enough to slice ham or bologna straight, broad enough to spread mayo, and fit well enough to be comfortable doing all the required tasks. The Mora looks like it will excel at all these and my first one is on order.

  14. mikeb302000 says:

    You guys are something else. I was just messin’ with Marko a little bit, but you all take it so seriously.

    At least a couple of you had the honesty to mention defense, whereas most tried that old “it’s just a tool” bullshit. That’s what you say about guns too, isn’t it?

    Anyway, I don’t despise you, as one commenter asked. I think you’re silly guys who are over-prepared for that self-defense moment that may never come.

    • Marko Kloos says:

      Funny thing–I clearly called it a utility knife. Didn’t mention self-defense or hurting people with it. (Incidentally, the Mora wouldn’t be a great fighting knife because it lacks a handguard. Stabbing something with it will make your hand slide up the blade and get cut.)

      You were the first to associate that knife with fighting and violence, which says more about your mindset than mine.

      • Rauðbjorn says:

        The puukko (the pattern for your mora there) is literally a utility knife, used for everything from trimming hooves to cutting rope. It is also a decent knife for defending oneself (as the Finns and Laplanders of yore can attest). But the potential for an object to be used for violence should not be held against it. The violence in not in the thing, but in the user. A point that MikeBwhtever seems loath to admit. I think because it would require him to accept responsibility for his actions.

    • T. Munk says:

      Odd, I would say that a gun is “just a tool” as well. A tool that I’ve had occasion to use six different times in my life to defuse the threat of criminal acts on myself or my household. By “use”, I should clarify that I haven’t been required to fire it, as even armed assailants will backtrack and exit stage left on presentation, most of the time. I’ve been lucky in that regard.

      I’d say you’ve been lucky not to have needed such a tool in your lifetime, and I hope your luck holds, Mikeb. (:

  15. 45er says:

    And with that mike admits he doesn’t own a silly old fire extinguisher because it would be silly to be prepared for something that might not happen. Hey mike, when your house is burning down or you’re on your knees blubbering like a child in front of a violent criminal, please remember you threw the dice and we chose not to gamble with our lives like a moron. Also, please forgive said violent offender for falling under the evil spell of the knife or gun in his hand since he can’t possibly be responsible when it is obviously the weapon that is at fault.

  16. Stephen says:

    I’ve carried a Mora around my neck while in the boondocks for years…own at least seven. It’s just common sense. Nice article.

  17. Firehand says:

    Like I tell people, the knife is the most basic and most personal of tools ever created; and anyone who can’t figure out the everyday uses for such is a fool.

    Mind you, to polite people I put it more nicely.

  18. Ross says:

    Yeesh… Mike, get a clue, will you? It’s a TOOL.

    I’m 51 and have carried a knife with me every day of my life since I got my Knife & Axe merit badge as a Cub Scout. I use a knife for all sorts of things – slicing open packages, cutting my Peking Ravioli at the Chinese restaurant, cutting my meal at work (plastic knives are only useful for spreading butter), adjusting the sights on my .357 Magnum (that was the screwdriver on the tip of the can opener on my Victorinox Swiss Army Knife).

    Strangely enough, I’ve never used a knife to threaten someone, and the ONLY time I’ve ever injured someone with a knife was in summer camp when some idiot tried to grab my knife away from me as I was whittling… he got cut from being stupid and grabbing the blade.

    You’re a strange one, Mike. I have to wonder if you even own a nail clipper. Someone could get hurt with one of those.

  19. Crotalus says:

    Forget Mike, everyone. He’s Japete’s comrade in arms (so to speak). He hates guns and knives, at least those not in his own hands.

  20. DonM says:

    Making a sandwich? I thought the ideal knife was sharp as a needle,keen as a razor, small enough to fit in your pocket, and large enough to, in an emergency, paddle a canoe.

  21. Rauðbjorn says:

    The ideal knife is the one that fits your particular needs and your particular hand at the moment you need it. Like any other tool (and yes MikeB, that includes firearms) they’re meant to do a specific job, a specific way. That’s why we have carving knives, bread knives, butter knives and yes fighting knives. You wouldn’t drive a screw with a handsaw would you?

    For me, that means I carry two knives; the Klein Tools pocket folder (for work and utility purposes) and the Bowie (because I can’t CC into a bar). Guess which one I use constantly, and which one I’ve never had to use.

  22. Able says:

    Just a thought, but have you considered armpit knife carry as in the sgean dhu. Would be interested on all your thoughts. It seems more convenient and accessible than even neck carry, well at least to me.

  23. jimbob86 says:

    I’ve used my pocket folder a couple of times today, and it’s not even noon here yet….

    I’d bet mikeBwhatever would say that the government or a governmentally sanctioned professional should take care of any knife work that needs to be done….. can’t have all these proles taking care of themselves!

  24. Maverick says:

    I’ve never carried a neck knife so I’m assuming you pull the sheath out over your shirt then remove the knife. Am I right? I’ve always just shoved mine in the pocket of my jeans.

    • Larry says:

      You’re generally not using neck carry for concealment. It’s used, at least by me, for easy access when a belt sheath isn’t going to be accessible. It’s not about rapid defensive draw, it’s about being able to deploy the knife when only one hand is available.

      • Maverick says:

        Ahh, I live in Canada but it doesn’t really get cold enough to justify a situation where I’m not able to shove a hand in my pocket. It also looks kinda uncomfortable where the handle would be.

        • Larry says:

          This isn’t a folder. I wouldn’t stick it or the sheath in my pocket. These are some of the sharpest from the factory knives I’ve got.

          This is also a bit of a “kludge’ as a neck knife. A sheath designed as a neck knife is positive retention and typically hangs inverted so the handle is down along your breastbone. Usually smaller as well (2 – 3″ blade).

  25. Ancient Woodsman says:

    Thank you for the creative post, sir. I worked with an old Mainer three decades ago who had a Mora on hand every day. I’d bet he would enjoy your utilitarian modifications, too.

    I have other ways of carrying various knives that work for me on a daily basis, but if I ever ended up in a different line of work – or back in a feed mill like in high school – I’d give some thought to your idea posted here. Neat.

    You will most likely get snow (that sticks; that October wonder didn’t stay around here) in the upper valley before we do 100 miles east. May your family enjoy & have a wonderful Christmas!

  26. MaddMedic says:

    You never know when you may have a tomato, potato, onion to slice or dice or maybe an apple to peel or you find the knife in the Steakhouse you just stopped ate won’t cut through that over done piece of meat your trying to saw through..
    I am guessing that is the purpose of Marko’s neck knife. Easy access when your sitting at the feed trough and need your knife!! Don’t have to stand up or be a contortionist to get your knife!!

  27. Zendo Deb says:

    MikeB seems to think we live in a world where violent crime is unheard of and so being prepared is paranoid. One could equally say that he is living in denial.

    Violent crime is not unheard of, even if the crime rates are going down – a lot. One person is raped every 1.9 minutes (and this is the FBI – so it includes only women were enough force was used to leave “obvious signs”). Domestic violence every 3.5 minutes and aggravated assault every 37 seconds or so. http://ovc.ncjrs.gov/gallery/posters/pdfs/Crime_Clock.pdf (That data seems mostly form 2009 and the few years before, but it is the most current I could find without an exhaustive search.)

    I wear a seatbelt while in a car, just in case. I don’t intend to be in an accident. I have fire extinguishers and smoke alarms just in case. I don’t intend to have the house burn down. I have insurance. I keep the recommended 3-days supply of food and water on hand. And I am prepared to defend myself. I don’t intend for bad things to happen, I don’t wish for bad things to happen, but I do want to be prepared in the event something does happen.

    Otherwise you end up like the people in NOLA after Katerina blew by, sanding on your roof screaming about why the government doesn’t come and save you.

  28. DonM says:

    That was the problem in N’Orleans- they spend too much time sanding on their roofs and not enough time shoveling on their banks.

  29. [...] Found in comments at Marko’s. [...]

Comments are closed.