dear diary: today we killed a mailbox and had some chili.

We had friends over on Saturday. There was some truly excellent chili, some 15-year-old single malt Scotch, and some ballistic recreation with various devices.

One of those devices was my friend’s Desert Eagle in .50AE. We shot up a sheet metal mailbox, and I’m here to tell you that if you ever get charged by a roving pack of feral mailboxes, the .50 Desert Eagle will do the job just fine. The gun is completely impractical for defense, too expensive to plink with on a regular basis, and good for nothing but handgun hunting and Having A Blast At The Range. (Of course, “because I want one” is a totally legitimate reason for buying one, and all the justification a free adult needs for the purchase of anything.)

At one point, I decided to try it one-handed:

Disclaimer: The Scotch was consumed after the handling of firearms, hearing and eye protection was used at all times, the backstop was completely safe, and the mailbox had it coming. (Unless you’re mikeb3000000n+1, in which case the targets were defenseless minority baby seals held up by frightened first-graders, hearing protection is for Commies and queers, we were completely drunk and wearing Nazi uniforms, and the backstop was a kindergarten playground at recess time.)

Oh yeah, we also had a bonfire with a ten-foot brush pile I had in the backyard waiting for the first snow to cover the ground. Propane torches are big, dirty fun for getting a very hot fire going very quickly.

Propane torches, good food, great company, fine Scotch, and powerful firearms. What better way to spend an afternoon?

10 thoughts on “dear diary: today we killed a mailbox and had some chili.

  1. Looks like a lot of fun!

  2. mikeb302000 says:

    Thanks for the mention, Marko. It may surprise you to know that I agree with a couple things you mentioned in this post.

    First, “(Of course, “because I want one” is a totally legitimate reason for buying one, and all the justification a free adult needs for the purchase of anything.)”

    To me this is much more relevant than the 2nd Amendment justification you guys are so fond of. To me the 2A is anachronistic and meaningless, as I mentioned here http://mikeb302000.blogspot.com/2009/12/i-like-guns.html
    but what you said about living in a free country and wanting something as sufficient justification works for me. Of course, I believe you should be carefully screened and have to meet a number of qualifying requirements, but as long as that’s covered, go for it, says I.

    The other thing I liked is the drinking after the guns were put away. Short of total abstemiousness, which I feel is the ideal, this is critical. Folks who drink while shooting, even moderately, like so many hunters and guys who go plinking in the woods, are in serious violation of the most basic common-sense safety rules. Perhaps the famous 4 Rules of Gun Safety should include a fifth concerning alcohol.

  3. Bing says:

    I do hope the mailbox was given a decent burial. Have a friend with a 50 cal revolver and another who “tried” shooting it. The first slug was about 25 ft. in front of him, he said “I flinched!,” That thing is a real beast, like you say totallt impractical, but he wanted it! After finding out what ammo costs I’ll buy something with a lower cost per shot, Heck, driving a car is cheaper even at todays gas prices, tho not as much fun, Stay safe…………

  4. Jennifer says:

    Looks like lots of fun was had by all!
    I still have not shot one of those, but I would like to just out of curiosity.

  5. MSgt B says:

    Don’t shoot the baby seals!

    Club them!

  6. Gnarly Sheen says:

    Don’t club seals, the cheap bastards never pay for their own drinks.

  7. Kim du Toit says:

    “Propane torches, good food, great company, fine Scotch, and powerful firearms. What better way to spend an afternoon?”

    Whores. You forgot the whores. Unless “great company” is a euphemism.

  8. Damn. Kim almost beat me to it…only I would have been tasteful.

    Does sound like a great time, though. Cigars would have made it ever better…

  9. Skip says:

    mikeb302000
    Have you always been a dick?

Comments are closed.