reshuffling priorities.

I got home from VP on Saturday of last week, and took the rest of the weekend off from writing…playing with the kids, spending some time decompressing, and so on.

On Monday morning, I picked up the quill again, so to speak.  By Thursday, I had written an entirely new chapter for the SF novel in progress, based on the input from my one-on-one sessions with the instructors.  By yesterday, I had rewritten big chunks of the original Chapter 1 (now bumped to Chapter 2), to mesh better with the new material.  I also wrote a product review for a different market.

Total word count for the week: over 6,000 words. 

My new post-VP habit is the shifting of my writing time from the end of the day to the beginning, before any other business.  Robin leaves the house at 6am, and the kids don’t get up until 7:30 or 8.  That’s when I sit down and do the work of the day, rather than using the “left-over” time at the end of the day.  Every day last week, my word count has exceeded the 1,000-word goal I’ve set myself, and most of the time, I didn’t even work for the full two hours. 

For someone who’s not a morning person, it’s not the easiest thing in the world to sit down at that desk first thing and write 1,000 words of original material before even hitting the shower, but it feels great when you know that the work of the day is done.  No matter what else happens during the day, I have my 1,000 words in the bag before breakfast.

VP XII…what a glorious, inspiring, and enjoyable week it was.  It’s hard to believe that something can be so tiring and so energizing at the same time.

9 thoughts on “reshuffling priorities.

  1. MarkHB says:

    There’s nothing quite as invigorating as having an ambition reboot. I’ve been enjoying one of those myself recently. Actually, revelling in it. Having gotten my various things and stuffs assembled, I’ve been a most productive chap. Feels good. Feels right.

    So I’m sharing the joy right there.

  2. Jeff says:

    Kudos on the Chapter One rewrite. You’ll see my crit momentarily, but was a very solid first go of it. And couldn’t agree more about VP XII.

    You’ve been in inspiration as well. You’ll recall I tried to convince you, over beers, how my son is the most awesome child in the word. Well, once that awesome child starts school I’m going to do the stay-at-home dad thing as well. Only two more years in the office grind! Yes, yes–the stay-at-home dad thing is work. I know, I’ve done it in stretches. But right now I’m struggling to squeeze in even one hour of writing a day.

    Anyway, I’m looking forward to reading more.

    And you’re an excellent Trinculo.

  3. excellent…couplea months to new fiction content…i can hear the mentors at v.p. now…

    quit playin’ on the toobz, sit down with the neo and write!”

    markhb: that’s the most positive and comment i’ve ever seen from you…sounds like escaping from the foggy oldworld was just what you needed. good for you.

    jtc

  4. huh…left out the second adjective, markhb: that should be “most positive and…dare i say it? happy comment i’ve ever seen from you…”

    i might also speculate that exposure to mw, his beautiful family and some time in the (comparatively) freeworld has been cathartic.

  5. MarkHB says:

    *bows*

    I am very happy to be home. Here’s an example of what I do in three days, when I’m happy.

    And yes, the leaves on the afterburners and the push-rods connected to them do all work. On just one slider. 🙂

    It is GOOD to be home, to be free and to be supported by the law to be productive and to keep the produce of my hands.

    Thanks for noticing, fellows. It actually means an awful lot to me.

  6. MarkHB says:

    And I defy anyone to spend a week in Marko’s company, with his beautiful, charming wife and their sterling progeny and not have renewed faith in the world. You just couldn’t do it, and still be arsed to draw breath. If they can’t reach you, no-one will.

  7. Tam says:

    They’re doing a damn fine job with those sprogs, no?🙂

  8. MarkHB says:

    Yes.

  9. victoria says:

    exhausting but rejuvenating.
    I’ve had that. it’s good, no?

Comments are closed.