thursday randomness.

Random Thursday afternoon notes:

  • Loving the whole Twitter thing.  It’s like flashblogging.  Now I just need to get everyone I know on Twitter, so I can keep tabs on my social circle that way.
  • Speaking of social circles: my email address book, Facebook friends list, and Google Reader blogroll all have at least doubled in size since Viable Paradise.  You know that guy or girl who’s been your best friend since high school, the one you kept in touch with despite the fact that you live hundreds or thousands of miles apart?  My VP pals are all like that to me now.
  • On the subject of writing: science fiction is a lot of fun to write, because you get to play with spaceships and blow shit up.  The last two novels I finished were both general (mainstream) fiction, and I can safely say that I’ve blown up more shit halfway through the current novel than I did in the last two novels combined. 
  • I’m in the mid-novel slump right now, which is what happens when the excitement of starting something new has worn off, and the excitement of being almost finished hasn’t kicked in yet, and it’s all just banging on rocks with a sledgehammer, day after day.  (This is also known as the “OMG I’m a hack and this novel is a steaming pile of shit” phase.) It does, however, build mental muscle.
  • Food–we have an all-star dinner lineup this weekend.  There’ll be Robin’s killer Chicken Tikka Marsala tonight, which is the bestest chicken dish evar, and then lobster bisque on Saturday night.  (Saturday will also be my birthday, so there will be some imbibing of high-octane alcoholic beverages going on.  Not that this is markedly different from any other Saturday night here at the Munchkin Wranch.)
  • Whoever came up with the “Terrible Twos” thing is completely full of shit, because Quinn’s Twos were a cakewalk compared to his Threes.  But hey, we’re almost out of the rough, I think…he’ll be four in February, and then Lyra gets her shot at being a raging butthead for an entire year.  Parenting–it’s not just a job, it’s secure employment for the people at your local liquor store.
  • Hooray for wood stoves.  It’s about eighty degrees in both living rooms, and the Irving propane truck didn’t even bother unreeling the hose this morning, because our propane tank is still nearly full.  We have six cords of dry, split wood stashed in the shed and the garage, which should carry us neatly through most of the upcoming winter.
  • The last three times I tried to call my brother in Germany, I got to talk to my sister-in-law, because he was out either chugging beer with his pals at some local Oktoberfest, or chugging beer with his pals at some out-of-town fussball match.  (He travels with the team to away games on a regular basis.)  They have three kids to our two, and I’m at home changing diapers and reading “Thomas and the Big, Big Bridge” all week.  Something does not compute here.

Well, enough cat vacuuming for now…back to the grindstone.  Gotta make the most of the lunch break before the kids get up.  Ah, the carefree life of the stay-at-home parent…

13 thoughts on “thursday randomness.

  1. MedicMatthew says:

    So, does Robin share recipes, oh say, for that killer Chicken Tikka Marsala?

  2. scotaku says:

    Marko, thank you for making me aware of VP. I’m going to do my damndest to be there next year – you’ve really helped rekindle my passion for writing and now that I’m between things… well, suffice to say that I have quantity time to go with my quality time.

    And there’s a chicken garam masala recipe that I need to find, too…

    Scotaku

  3. crankylitprof says:

    Hrm. Well, anecdote NOT equaling data, but we’ve found that Shark’s twos were a breeze, the threes slightly annoying, and the fours O MY GOD WHAT DID I SPAWN???

    Can I FedEx you tow a bottle of Maker’s Mark?

  4. Eric says:

    “Parenting–it’s not just a job, it’s secure employment for the people at your local liquor store.” That so needs to be on a shirt, or better yet, a bib.

  5. MarkHB says:

    Y’know, I need to swing past you guys again. I was well off my feed last month, and that CTM did not get the level of om-nom-nomming it so richly deserved.

  6. Mark Alger says:

    EBear once said that writing a novel is like running a marathon. I have engraved that as a quote in my memory, it’s so damned true.

    M

  7. Marko says:

    Bear speaks wisdom, she does.

  8. Tam says:

    You know that guy or girl who’s been your best friend since high school, the one you kept in touch with despite the fact that you live hundreds or thousands of miles apart?

    You mean all those people I’ve pinky-sworn to be BFF with and we’d never forget summer camp at… at… well, wherever the hell it was.

    You’re so uncynical. I lurv you, man!😀

  9. JIGSAW says:

    Parenting–it’s not just a job, it’s secure employment for the people at your local liquor store.

    best darn thing i’ve read all day … definitely needs to be on bibs & t-shirts …

  10. Carteach0 says:

    Marko…. could you feed my laziness a bone… and point me towards your written word that I might plunk down hard earned cash and acquire same?

  11. Tam says:

    Carteach0,

    You can download his novel A Bettered Life from this site (at the tab marked “fiction”). He’s got folks paying on the honor system via his tip jar.

    I can say that I read it in one sitting, despite the absolute lack of anybody being killed with an Uzi or a laser beam anywhere in the novel. It was a very enjoyable story that succeded in making me actually care about the characters and what would happen to them.

  12. Terence says:

    Well, you can get a tshirt (for a baby or toddler) that says “Daddy Drinks Because I Cry.”

    And yeah, with my first kid, year 2 was mildly annoying but 3 and 4 were tantrum central. Now he’s 5 and things are starting to settle down. A little. There’s no predicting anything.

  13. Marko says:

    Drop me an email for the recipe, MM and Scotaku.

Comments are closed.