movies based on books what don’t suck.

Today I stopped by our (surprisingly well-stocked) video rental place in town.  I picked up a movie I had meant to get for a while now, and then pulled a few others off the shelf to take advantage of their special.

When I checked out, I realized that I had a common theme of sorts: Movies Made Out Of Decent Novels.  I had High Fidelity (based on the Nick Hornby novel), The Shipping News (based on the Annie Proulx novel), Little Children (based on the Tom Perrotta novel), and Gone Baby Gone (based on the Dennis Lehane novel.)

Just to mess up the theme, the fifth DVD on the stack was X-Men III The Last Stand, which I’m sure my hindbrain picked to keep the cerebral cortex from totally getting all artsy-fartsy on the rest of the brain.

10 thoughts on “movies based on books what don’t suck.

  1. Paul Simer says:

    I watched and loved High Fidelity, and read the book later. They are nothing alike, but I enjoyed both.

  2. Anna says:

    I’m just gonna say that The Shipping News is gonna make you weep… but not in a good way.

    They could not have done a worse job with that fantastic novel, IMHO.

  3. LabRat says:

    The Shawshank Redemption and The Green Mile for two King novels. The ones that led to Frank Darrabont’s joke about being the most specialized director in Hollywood- Stephen King Prison Movies. They’re good, though. The Mist is also decent, though the ending… yeah. The ending. Sweet Jesus.

  4. DJK says:

    What about “Fight Club” and “Choke” by Chuck Palahniuk or “Barfly” by Charles Bukowski?

  5. MarkHB says:

    X Men III, however, stank. Irritatingly.

  6. Andrew says:

    No Country for Old Men
    River Runs Through It
    Skinwalkers(PBS based on Hillerman book)

  7. Weer'd Beard says:

    I’m with Lab Rat, “The Myst” was one of my favorite King Short stories. Also when I’d stay with my Grand Parrents in Bridgeton my Grandfather would often take me shopping in the IGA on Kansas road.

    The Movie was SO good, the damn store looks EXACTLY how I remember it, tho it has been nearly 20 years since I’ve set foot in it….and then the ending. Man, That SUCKED.

    X-Men 3 sucked too.

    Speaking of King, Different Seasons contained: Apt Pupil, The Body (Movie: Stand By Me), and Rita Heyworth and the Shawshank Redemption.

    All Fantastic film.

  8. Drizzle says:

    Out of Sight and Jackie Brown are both superb movie adaptations of Elmore Leonard novels.

  9. sam says:

    Old military movies based on books:

    Gardens of Stone (novel by Nicholas Proffitt )
    BAT-21
    Flight of the Intruder
    The Right Stuff (The Mercury Seven Astronauts were all military aviators, right?)

    And some Fredrick Forsythe novels made into films that followed the books very closely:

    Day of the Jackal (the first one)
    The Fourth Protocol
    The Odessa File

  10. ravenshrike says:

    Hogfather.

Comments are closed.