happy cosplay day.

And yes, we’ll be taking the kids to enjoy some proper Pagan satanic rituals, like obtaining high-fructose corn syrup treats by means of blackmail while dressed as demonic entities.  Fun for the whole family!

31OCT08013

Here’s Quinn modeling my maroon Fernspaeher beret.  (Fun fact: the now-international color of maroon for the berets of airborne troops is said to have been suggested by the novelist Daphne du Maurier, who was the wife of Frederick Browning, commander of the British 1st Airborne Division in WWII.)

Alas, the sprog will not dress up as a recon trooper.  He’ll wear his train engineer costume instead.  (I was going to engage in John Scalzi cosplay, but I couldn’t get my costume together in time.  I have the glasses, jeans,  bare feet, black fleece shirt, and the can of Coke Zero, but I’m lacking the required Toshiba laptop, bag of In-N-Out Double-Double burgers, collection of convention name tags, and Journey MP3 player.)

Lyra has a black spider costume.  I’ll take pictures, but I can already tell you that she’ll be the cutest spider ever, guaranteed to make even the most skittish Arachnophobe go “aaawwwww.”