sunday trivialities.

Today’s take from the DVD rental place:

  • Eastern Promises
  • Gangs of New York
  • Miller’s Crossing
  • Dracula (the Coppola version with Gary Oldman and Winona Ryder)

I’ve seen Dracula and Miller’s Crossing, but that was a decade or more ago.  Eastern Promises and Gangs of New York will be new to me.  I’ve heard good things about Eastern Promises in particular, so I’m looking forward to watching it.

Today’s take from my Saturday Dadcation at the bookstore:

  • The Yiddish Policemen’s Union, by Michael Chabon
  • The God Delusion, by Richard Dawkins

Other than shopping for books and picking those two up from the “Buy One, Get One Half Price” table, I drummed out 1,200 words for Great Beeg MilSF Opus, which as of today stands at 52,600 words. 

In other news, reader Nat stopped by yesterday afternoon to claim the Free Hot Tub! I had pledged to any willing taker.  Did you know those things are rather heavy, and difficult to move?  We had a great time moving the tub out of the patio area and onto a trailer, and the few dozen gallons of water sloshing around at the bottom that I hadn’t been able to drain certainly didn’t improve the tub’s portability.  Alas, it’s gone now, and everybody’s happy…Nat got a hot tub for free, and Robin got to claim the patio space for Grillzilla.  I got a hurting back and a handful of Motrin out of the deal.  (I also gave my copy of Old Man’s War to Nat, who’s a science fiction fan, and unfamiliar with Scalzi.  I’m a firm believer in “First Hit’s Free” word-of-mouth marketing, and that’s how I discovered the OMW novels myself.)

On the program today: stuff that won’t bug my back, like sitting down and actually watching some of the movies I rented, and helping Quinn work through the candy stash he took home on Halloween.  And with that, I shall commence my Sunday…

8 thoughts on “sunday trivialities.

  1. ilcylic says:

    Moving hot tubs sucks. They never have any good handholds, and they’re usually heavy enough it takes more people than you can find who are the same height, so someone is trying to hold it halfway up their chest, and someone else is bent halfway over.

  2. Cliff Burns says:

    Think you’ll like the Chabon–I’m drawn to reading (and writing) mysteries that break the rules or mix genres, cross boundaries (or refuse to acknowledge they exist). The Dawkins book intrigues, as does Christopher Hitchens’ book on the dark side of religion, GOD IS NOT GREAT. Let me plug two other writers who concoct mysteries that veer way off the radar screen, Jack O’Connell and James Crumley. Good post…

  3. JD says:

    Gangs of New York is a great movie. . .

  4. natf says:

    Thanks Marko! Got home just in time to put my kids to bed, and today we got the tub into place. Now I just need to get some wiring done… I don’t think the copy of Old Man’s War will wait to be read in the hot tub though, I’m gonna start it tonight.

    -Nat

  5. Tam says:

    Remember, if you view Dracula as a movie, it’s fairly lame, but if you view it as a ninety-minute-long music video, it rocks the house. Much like 300, come to think of it…

  6. Chang says:

    Eastern PRomises is amazing! You know it got recommended as a movie to watch for me about my story. But I saw it before that and it was great. Creepy, scary and terrifying, but great.

  7. MarkHB says:

    Gangs of New York is indeed a Top Fillum. I have no idea how (if at all) historically accurate it is, but as a Period Piece it’s got the Beeb in their heyday beat.

  8. Paul says:

    I read Old Mans War after seeing it mentioned here which then caused me to have to purchase the next three books. I hope the next three are as good as the first.

Comments are closed.