meet you on iGoogleLiveSkypeMessenger.

Online socialization is fun.  It’s what got me hooked on teh Intarweebz back in the mid-1990s.  It all started with the gateway drug: email.  From there, it went to MSN and AOL chat rooms, and then I graduated to IRC, Instant Messaging, and (now) Skype and Google Chat.

The problem with Internet socialization is the sheer number of networks and clients out there.  My specific problem with staying in touch with folks is the fact that my circle of online pals and family members is spread out over a whole lot of different clients and sites.  I started on Myspace, then jumped ship to Facebook.  I use AOL IM out of old habit (and because it’s iChat-compatible), but I have friends who refuse to use anything but Google Chat (which doesn’t work on a Mac), or ICQ, or Yahoo! Messenger.  I have a webcam built into the MacBook, but the people I know who also have one are scattered across Skype, Google Video Chat, Windows Live Messenger, and iChat.

This kind of communications diversity requires me to fire up six different clients when I am feeling social, and I want to check whether any of my online friends are available for a quick chat.

Can you all just please settle on AIM/iChat and Skype?  That would be great.

11 thoughts on “meet you on iGoogleLiveSkypeMessenger.

  1. Justin Buist says:

    You could try Adium.

    AOL, MSN, Yahoo, Google Chat, MySpace IM, ICQ, and more all in one client.

  2. keepbreathing says:

    I was going to recommend Trillian but it looks like Adium might be a better client.

  3. LabRat says:

    I solved the problem with Trillian but am eyeing Adium now…

  4. ilcylic says:

    Pidgin is pretty good, and OTR compatible.

  5. Hello Mr. Kloos-

    We’re doing well this fall, the harvest is in and I expect to have new deer meat within a week.
    Hope your little ones and the Mrs. are doing well.
    We’ve got a long wintah ahead, but I don’t think the snow will be bad this year.
    Will write again when the post comes around.
    Looking forward to your reply.
    Cordially,
    J

  6. Tony says:

    Bah humbug. IRC is entirely sufficient for ones communication needs. All these new-fangled IM clients are not needed. Bah humbug I say!

    Now, if only everyone else got that through their skulls, life would be easier.

  7. scotaku says:

    Adium on the Mac side, hands-down. It doesn’t do video (yet), but it handles all the other clients with ease, and it’s real purty, too. Very easily configurable, which makes it nice when one tires of stock visuals and sound-sets.

  8. William the Coroner says:

    Yeah, but I don’t wanna PAY for AIM, and Google chat is up and running on by box all the time…

    though that may be a bad-thing, productivity-wise

  9. M. Philbrick says:

    Who’s paying for AIM? I’ve been using it for over ten years for free. Did I misunderstand or am I really lucky? If this is your biggest problem, Marko, I’d say you’re sitting pretty…

  10. Vaarok says:

    Every time someone asks me to use a client other than AIM I look at them funny. Though it is interesting, it seems geographically oriented. Friends in the midwest seem to favor Yahoo, friends in Canada seem to use predominantly MSN, and most of my friends on the West Coast use IRC.

    Perhaps it has something to do with when the intertubes connected to their towns?

  11. Andrew says:

    Just use Meebo. It supports AIM, MSN, Google, ICQ and Yahoo, and it runs in a browser.

    http://www.meebo.com

Comments are closed.