the day after thanksgiving.

And Turkey Day 2008 is in the bag…

We had a small, cozy Thanksgiving, just the four of us.  We had Cornish Game Hens for lunch, lobster bisque for dinner, and liberal amounts of rum-spiked eggnog and fermented honey and berry products.

I really like Chaucer’s Honey Mead, but Robin found a new kind of mead at the little farm where we get our milk and eggs, and I left the Chaucer’s in the fridge and tried the other mead instead.  The bouquet was terrible, but the flavor was pretty good: much less sweet than the Chaucer, but with a similar lingering honey note that was pleasant without being cloying.  (Robin thinks the Chaucer is too cloying in its sweetness.  She’s probably right, but I still like the stuff.)

Anyway, there was much to be thankful for this year.  I’m married to my best friend, we have two healthy and adorable kids, the fridge and freezer are stocked, and I feel that I’ve really made some progress with the writing this year.

I’ll be braving the massive crowds at the retail mile today for my Dadcation.  (I’m sure the term “massive” in this context will refer to manageable amounts of crowd, seeing how said retail mile is located in a city of 10,000 located in the lesser populated part of a low-population state, but we’ll see.)

Hope you all had a good Thanksgiving!

2 thoughts on “the day after thanksgiving.

  1. deadcenter says:

    isn’t honey mead kind of redundant?

    i’ve had a couple of different meads at different ren fairs, don’t recall the names though. didnt’ find either one to be too sweet, but all things being equal, i’d rather have a porter.

  2. Trebor says:

    You drink Mead and you don’t make your own?

    srsly!

    Mead is about the *simpliest* alcohol to brew yourself. It doesn’t take much in the way of supplies either.

    And, with home made, you can control the sweetness and taste of the end product by controlling what you put into it. The ratio of honey to water, the type of yeast, and if you add any fruit additives all make a difference.

    If you’re interested, drop me a line at my e-mail and I can put you in touch with my wife. She’s the mead maker and makes really good stuff.

Comments are closed.