it’s like i kicked your puppies, or something.

Dear Intertubes:  You people are nuts.

The last two days have seen my highest page views ever, besting the previous high mark by a fair margin.

When I post about politics, philosophy, parenting, literature, writing, or technology, I get a fair number of hits and 10-20 comments per post on average.
I post one tongue-in-cheek post about Your Gun, And How Much It Sucks, the hit counter spins like a scale at a rural Arkansas Weight Watchers meeting, and I get almost a hundred comments (and counting.)

Hey, I know!  Tomorrow, I’ll talk smack about everyone’s religion.  Top 100 Technorati ranking, here I come…

24 thoughts on “it’s like i kicked your puppies, or something.

  1. Jerry says:

    Naw, we all have preferences. Have you ever had any experience with Rock Island Armory 1911s?

    Of the collection of handguns I own I carry a PPK. I can consistantly hit a 8X8 inch target with it and it will feed 2 magazines with no problem. I keep thinking the chamber needs polished. I notice the more I practice with it the less the problems of chambering. On the other hand I notice Breda loves her Bersa, so my son is getting one for Christmas. We’ll drop you a line to let you know which is “smoother.”

  2. Satire is lost on many… Assuming your definition of “many” is in the 90th percentile.

  3. theflatwhite says:

    Eviscerate every classic firearm model of the past century and expect different?😉

  4. Jay G. says:

    I noticed there were no matchlocks on your list…

  5. BobG says:

    “Tomorrow, I’ll talk smack about everyone’s religion.”

    You mean a Mac vs PC argument?

  6. Rick in NY says:

    C’mon, Marko, you should have guessed what would happen if you wacked that hornet nest with a stick…

    Sadly, satire is lost on too many.

    BTW, I loved the post, please repeat that on other topics, after all, sacred cows make the best burgers!

  7. ditto says:

    I have always found religion to be a starting point for any occasion. It gets the juices flowing and all sorts of folks come out of the woodwork.

    I say give it your best shot.

    (stir, stir)

  8. Thad Adams says:

    Thin skinned people is evrwherr dude. Keep beatin on ’em. That was one of the funniest posts I’ve read in a while.

  9. theflatwhite says:

    Full disclosure: I’m a Christian.

    There.

    Having said that, let me put on the Devil’s advocate/agnostic hat for a bit (can I do this?).

    If you dedicate tomorrows’ post to pithy ridicule of Catholicism, Protestantism, Islam, Judaism, Hinduism, Buddhism, Sikhism, Jainism, you run a real risk. It’s one thing to ridicule only one religion as there’s the odd chance that its god is fictitious or doesn’t care. But mass blasphemy is like playing Russian Roulette with 5 rounds chambered (there…it’s gun-related).

  10. Kristopher says:

    OK then. Be sure to, on different posts, badmouth:

    types of pets

    vegetarianism

    religion

    popular TV shows

    presidential candidates

    Sexual preferences

    Did I leave any traffic-whoring subject out?

  11. Kristopher says:

    Besides … everyone knows the best assault rifle is a Mosin-Nagant carbine with a fixed bayonet and old WW-II 200 gr. machinegun loads.

  12. OrangeneckInNY says:

    No organized religion for me; I just simply believe in God.

    I loved the “Your Gun, And How Much It Sucks” post. I own several of them on the list.

    Keep rockin’, Marko!

  13. perlhaqr says:

    BobG: emacs vs: vi

    Kristopher: I’ve got some of that ammo! It’s a real kick. As it were. 😀

  14. theflatwhite says:

    @perlhaqr

    Neither. Vim! Ha.

  15. ChrisB says:

    Hey, Marko

    Your god is weak, not only did I own him, I ate him in a wonderful pie over thanksgiving.

    You got nothin!
    😉

  16. bogie says:

    Heh, I loved it… My only criteria is “does it point in the right direction, and work most of the time?”

    Now, Marko… I’se got a real question… I’ve moved in with the girlfriend. I get along okay with the 13 year old gurl, who understands that most of the music she listens to is abcrap, but does so only, like, because all her friends like it… But the boy… Omg, he’s nine years old, and if it isn’t cartoon network or video game, it doesn’t communicate to him…

    I don’t speak child. Does anyone here?

  17. Jason says:

    Dude.. do it. I got yer back!

  18. Tam says:

    Talking smack about computer operating systems or video game consoles should spin the ol’ SiteMeter nicely…🙂

  19. nonanon says:

    ummm, hello? anybody here? i’m here for the religious conference…

  20. crankylitprof says:

    Oooh! Can we have the “breeders vs. kids suck” debate?

    Canwecanwecanwe????

  21. Shane says:

    Hey cranky, why do you think there’d be any debate, especially if the breeders had teenagers?

  22. OrangeNeckInNY says:

    Hey!!! Nobody better talk smack about my XBox360!!! Haha. Kidding. I don’t care. Sometimes when it freezes up, I’m cussing at it till my face turns blue anyway.

  23. MarkHB says:

    Hey, I actually like the new Knight Rider series. There’s nothing you can say that could offend me.

    Because I already know I suck.

  24. Eric says:

    Stick with guns for another week – caliber wars!

Comments are closed.