i guess they had planned one hell of a trip to the walmarts.

Be entirely honest with yourself now:

If you found a purse with $97,000 in cash in a Cracker Barrel (“Honky Bucket”) restroom, would you turn it in? 

I’ll be honest and tell you that I’d be tempted.  Regardless of the ethics of keeping it versus returning it, however, I have two questions:

1.) Who carries around almost a hundred grand in cash in their purse?

2.) Who is careless enough to leave said purse in a restaurant restroom?

I mean, Jesus H. Christ on a pogo stick.  I always wonder when I read about muggings and other contact crimes where the victim obviously had their head up their ass and didn’t pay attention to their surroundings at all.  If I carried a hundred grand in cash around in my laptop bag, you can bet your ass I’d chain that motherfucker to my wrist.

10 thoughts on “i guess they had planned one hell of a trip to the walmarts.

  1. Last week the wife & I found a woman’s purse in a carriage in the parking lot of a large retailer (OK, it WAS the walmarts).

    Didn’t think much about it but to bring it to the service desk for return to it’s owner. Well, owner showed up before I got to the desk, & was extremely grateful that it hadn’t got “swiped”.

    But $97K? THAT might give me pause…

  2. saw that story…pretty fishy; a twist on munchausen?

    jtc

  3. or maybe not…a stack of $1,000 bills? since there ain’t any in circulation, they haven’t been printed since the issue of ’34, and rarity commands a substantial collector premium over face value, the old girl must have realized the other old girl was a f’n counterfeiter and turned down the $1,000 bill reward (the tipoff was the al gore portrait on the bills).

  4. Jay G. says:

    If I were going to sell my honor and sully the good name my grandfather gave me, you bet your ass it would be for more than 97K ducats.

    97 million, well, then you might have something…

  5. perlhaqr says:

    The comments on that story make me weep for my country.

  6. M. Philbrick says:

    Not very smart carting that amount around, though with interest rates as low as they are we might as well. But in the mattress, not the purse…

  7. Micheal says:

    Going to be honest with ya, take the money and run. Then agian I have the ethics of a Scotman’s, so there ya go.

  8. Sigivald says:

    Yes, for reasons much like Jay G.’s.

    Money’s nice, but I have to live with myself for the rest of my life, and $100k isn’t worth the cost.

  9. Heath J says:

    I’d be sorely tempted to play the “wait and see” game.

    The one ol’ gal took it home before realizing it was full of cash.

    At that point, it’s tempting to not just wait and watch the news.

    Sad granny comes on with her sob story, give it back.

    No news at all means it was meant to be, Or you just got in the middle of the latest Illinois Senate Auction , and that stall was the drop off point for the downpayment😉

  10. staghounds says:

    #$%^*, I’ve been to that very racial slur restaurant!

    If it’s not mine, and an honest owner existed, it’s stealing to keep it.

    I’d have waited and seen, too, just like the alleged finder did. But I’d have asked for a little proof, and not been ignorant.

    I throw the Munchausen flag on this one.

    Because NO WAY did 97 thousand dollar bills come from any recent transaction.

    And I definitely would have kept the bills and written her a $97,000 check. Just in case of confusion about how much I returned, or money laundering/tax fraud.

Comments are closed.