ice-storms do that.

We’ve had the Mother of All Ice Storms going since last night, and New Hampshire now has an evenly applied layer of icy frosting from top to bottom.  Robin has the day off, and I had planned to go out for my weekly Dadcation this morning, but I had to postpone on account of Minor Natural Disaster.  The roads are skating rinks, and I’m not terribly keen on dumping the minivan in a ditch somewhere.

Instead, I spent some time on the roof clearing ice from the eaves.  This is a regular occurrence in the winter, and I even have an iPod playlist for the occasion, called “The Day I Fell Off The Roof And Broke My Fucking Neck.”

The trees and power lines are heavy with ice.  We didn’t lose power, but that may still happen later tonight, as the slush of the day freezes solid.  However, the house is heated with wood, we can cook on the wood stoves, there are plenty of candles and flashlights stashed all over the house, and my writing implements all run on batteries.  Tomorrow I’ll try to make it out into civilization for a morning off, but tonight we’re going to hole up here at the ranch, stoke the fires, and play World of Warcraft after the kids are down.  (Until the power lines snap, that is.)

11 thoughts on “ice-storms do that.

  1. JD says:

    Now you really need to stop drinking so early in the day. . . How can you have all that ice with Al Gore and all that global warming. . . .
    OK, admit it, if you haven’t been drinking than the kids have pushed you over the edge haven’t they?
    Deep breath, I am sure the global warming will make it all go away. Good luck with keeping power.
    Down here south of Boston we are floating around with a few inches of rain and some wind but no ice so far (fingers crossed)

  2. Vince says:

    Sounds like the perfect excuse to brew up a couple of Hot Toddies.

  3. I don’t miss that weather at all. I’m not sure that Maine has anything on Western New York.🙂

    Oh, bye the bye, the word “alas” indicates unhappiness. Fortunately might work better.🙂

    Tschüs

  4. Liberty says:

    That is hands down the greatest playlist name … ever.

    We ended up getting about 4-5 inches up here, and then it rained and rained and rained on top of it so there’s a huge layer of padded slush weighing down everything. Snowblower tosses it all of 2 feet, shoveling you can forget about. Bleh. This stuff sucks.

  5. MarkHB says:

    Gnah. I don’t like cold. Cold reminds me of adversity. At boarding school, I had to chip ice off the inside of the dorm-room windows in the mornings. At university, when I couldn’t afford heat I had to chip ice off same.

    My kit likes cold. I do not. My kit, without me, is nothing but a collection of alloys and impure semiconductors. Ergo, me being cozy-warm is more important than my kit being happy.

    Fuck you, kit. *cranks the thermostat*

  6. huh…david, chandler, az gloats over weather, corrects the wordsmith on usage, then signs off in german? cheeky bastard…but funny.

  7. Eric says:

    As they say on the gun forums, “this thread is useless without pictures!”

  8. Al T. says:

    Watch out – I hear bad storms bring babies..🙂

  9. Marko says:

    Al,

    that particular train done left the station a week after Lyra was born. 😉

  10. mtsonline says:

    Have you ever thought of getting those electric cables that people put on the edge of their roofs to keep ice floes from forming there, and forming stalactites? May save a neck from breaking.

  11. ibex says:

    Inquiring minds want to know which songs one would put on a playlist like that.😉

Comments are closed.