it’s like a steinway for words.

If there was a Santa, and I had been a good boy all year, this is what I’d ask for this year:

Remington No.5 Streamlined Portable

The 1930s-vintage Remington Rand No.5 Streamline portable typewriter that’s up for auction on eBay right now.

Come to think of it, I may just raid the pitifully light piggy bank, make a bid, and give it to myself for Christmas.  That right there is a highly classy writing machine.  With a light cleaning and a new ribbon in it, that little Remington will be good to serve for another eighty years at least, and it would be a shame if some Visigoth won that auction and put that baby up as a desk decoration…or worse, amputated the keys for art deco jewelry, and tossed the rest into the dumpster.

(Seriously, jewelry crafters: Don’t do that.  It’s like buying a vintage 1930s car on eBay just to skin the seat leather for a patchwork coat, and then having the wrecker crush the car.)

11 thoughts on “it’s like a steinway for words.

  1. MarkHB says:

    Gaahhhhh…. that imagery made my brain cringe back against the back of my skull like a frightened kitten. Don’t say things like that, it hurts!

  2. BryanP says:

    That’s a beautiful piece of machinery. I wasn’t aware of the stripping of keys for jewelry phenomenon. That’s just wrong.

  3. Marko says:

    It’s so common that half the typewriter auctions on eBay usually have a disclaimer along the lines of “email me if you want just the keys to save on shipping.”

    Barbarism, I say.

  4. Jay G. says:

    Remington-Rand?

    Aren’t they a 1911 manufacturer?

  5. Marko says:

    They were, during WWII. Most large machine shop operations were contracted to make weapons and war supplies.

  6. Eric says:

    My dad started his Army career as a MP. His favorite issue 1911A1 was made by Remington-Rand and he used to joke that if someone didn’t behave, “I’ll shoot you with my typewriter!”

  7. Jay G. says:

    M1 carbines, too. Like my Underwood…😉

  8. Rusty P. Bucket says:

    Darn. You could have had mine if ya wanted to pay the shipping on it. Some yuppie pushed an obscene amount of money into my hands the other day and ran away giggling like a school girl. I tried to call him back but he wouldn’t have it. I feel like a chit taking advantage of youngsters like that.

    They will flip over old record players too, Marty had some old piece of crap with the acoustic horn and the crank handle and he got 400 bucks for it.

    Keep your money young man, and keep writing. One will turn up you if you keep your eye peeled and if you keep publishing good stuff.

  9. Paul says:

    Winning bid: US $157.50

  10. Marko says:

    Yeah, a little more than I had in my piggy bank. Pity.

  11. Rob says:

    I just picked one of these up to restore and give to a good home as a Christmas gift…another classic saved from being poached for jewelry.

Comments are closed.