18 thoughts on “typecast #1.

  1. Cliff Smith says:

    To small for me to read. Tired old eyes.

  2. Cliff Smith says:

    To small for me to read. Tired old eyes. Opp’s sorry about that, something happend, now I can see.

  3. Diane says:

    I do miss the “mechanical feedback” – I learned to type on an old manual machine back in the dark ages.

  4. BobG says:

    I learned to type on a manual back in the early sixties. When I first started using a PC keyboard in the late eighties, one of the problems I had was that I hit the keys too hard, and was over-reaching for the keys, thus hitting the wrong ones. It took a while to adjust.

  5. Markhb says:

    You guys need new opticians – I read that on a 17″ laptop panel scanning 1920 x 1200 from a straight-spined-at-the-dining-room-table position with no trouble.

    I also feel somehow responsible😉

  6. Matt G says:

    This is one way, I would suppose, to keep your writing from being ripped off and attributed to a Major Caudill, USMC (Ret) throughout the internet. But it would make Search Term Safari less interesting.

  7. Markhb says:

    Maybe he could get one of those two-tone ribbons? You know how some have the white-out on the lower ribbon? Maybe he could get a black-and-blue one.

  8. perlhaqr says:

    It’s not “unreadable”, per se, but the font is definitely about half as tall as I’d normally set mine to.

  9. None says:

    Typewriter bells – way back when, IBM made typewriters. As a senior FE I picked up people responsibility for a lot of that product line when FE and OP(Office Products) CE merged. One of my OP guys had a problem no one could solve: a new Selectric was randomly executing carriage returns. Mechanically, that was not possible, and the Selectric was all mechanical (a lot of our mid-speed console printers were electric/electronic adaptations of the Selectric platform).

    Key fact: this was occurring only with the lobby receptionist of a law firm that had recently moved.

    Turned out that the elevator-arrival bell in their new building had the same tone as the end-of-line bell on the Selectric and she was hitting the CR on bell tone.

  10. in 1966 and ’67 i took typing 1 and 2 for my 7th and 8th grade elective classes because that’s where the girls were…but it turned out that mr. lockmiller’s classes did me more practical good, along with language and lit courses, than anything the math and science departments could instill in me.

    it’s a little disconcerting, though, to see methods that were the standard then be harkened to in a retro reminisce along with frickin’ quill and ink.

    i will say that was an impressive three pages, no whiteout and no errors save that floating i in the next to last paragraph…so do what i do; drop those training wheels on the keyboard too…you don’t need them and they are a hindrance to creative spellings and usages.

    and to my weakeyed brethren up there; i’m right there with you, but the true typesize would be very readable if mw can figure out a way to scan to the blog in fullsize, fullwidth pages.

    jtc

  11. dpatten says:

    Seeing as how you use an IBM Model M keyboard, I’m a bit surprised that you noticed an excessively different tactile sensation on the typewriter, even if it is a manual.

    I’ve got an IBM Selectric (which I will grant isn’t manual) at work that gets dragged out for the odd piece of paperwork that isn’t PDF’d, and I can’t tell the difference between it and my 1986 vintage Model M at home.

  12. Kristopher says:

    That courier font sucks. Could you change it, Marko?

  13. farmist says:

    If you do this again, I’d like to suggest setting the right margin at about 3″ so you can post the pages full size. I’m really surprised that big-box office supply still carries ribbons. I never could type with any speed on a manual, just not enough practice to build up finger strength, I suppose. Dad was a USMC company clerk and typed 70+wpm on a Royal – late 40’s model, I think.

  14. Desertrat says:

    I learned to type on an old crash-bang Underwood (or maybe it was a Royal) back around 1948. I got up to 70 wpm for five-minute drills.

    In the Army, being able to type had me indoors next to the stove in winter, instead of humping ammo down in the gun line. And, got me assigned to a unit in Paris, France, for a couple of playful years.🙂

    In college, being able to type meant that engineering reports didn’t have to be hand-lettered in ink. Oh, joy! And kudos to the guy who invented “Corrasable Bond” typing paper! No more Whiteout!

    Then came computers and the Internet.

    Truly amazing at the impact on one’s life from taking an elective course “way back when”.

    Art

  15. Matt G says:

    Art, I realized when I was a little tot that I would be taking the first typing class that I was offered, when I watched my dad one day at the office. I was a bored kid waiting for Dad to fix some cop’s poorly-written Probable Cause Affidavit, handed in by a tired old flatfoot. Dad took off his blazer (he wore no uniform as a DA’s investigator), cracked his knuckles, and re-typed it, correctly, making changes on the fly. The IBM Selectric sounded like a machine gun. When he was done, I asked him in a daze how fast he typed.

    “About a hundred words a minute,” he said, still scrutinizing paperwork.

    Finished, he hitched at the Commander on his belt, and said “Let’s go.”

    There’s all kinds of ways for a cop to get a conviction on a bad guy, and my pop had just demonstrated another one.

    ____________
    My first chance to take a typing class was my sophomore year of high school. I took it immediately, and got up to a pedestrian 37 words per minute. They geeky guy behind me kept talking to me, and I kept telling him to shut up. Since then, we went to college together, were roommates together for four years, and he’s stood at my wedding, and I at his. We both attend each others’ kids’ birthday parties.

    ________________

    I probably type about 45 words a minute now. Maybe 50. I should go to typeracer.com to find out.

  16. Sarah says:

    I missed out on the manual typewriter. By the time I started learning to type, Mom had an IBM Selectric. (I was seven or eight when she finally let me near that thing. Heh.)

    Honestly, I prefer the PC, because writing is so much easier when I have the ability to dump an entire paragraph of drivel with a couple of clicks.🙂

  17. Ross says:

    Now go replace your calculator with a 10″ Keuffel & Esser slide rule made out of wood and ivory…

Comments are closed.