and then it was oh-nine.

What are we going to call this decade in the future?  The Oughts?

We had a very quiet New Year’s Eve here at Castle Frostbite.  We gave the kids a bath, put them to bed, and then played around in front of the computers while sipping wine.  Robin went to work today, so she went to bed last night at nine, and I followed her upstairs not much later.  When the calendar clicked from DEC 31 to JAN 1, everyone in the house was asleep.

I went to see the ball drop on Times Square exactly once in my life–back in 1999/2000, for the “Millennium” drop (yes, I know that the Second Millennium technically didn’t end until midnight on December 31, 2000.) I took my ex-wife there as a birthday present.  It was cold, we had moderate amounts of fun–as much fun as you can have standing in one spot for eight hours in twenty-degree weather–and we drove back to Tennessee the next day.  A month or two later, she told me that she wanted a divorce, so when I hear the phrases “Times Square” and “New Year’s” used together, it instantly conjures unpleasant memories. But even without the bad association, I doubt I’d repeat that event–I don’t like being stuck in a huge crowd. 

It’s five degrees below here at the Castle today, but we have both wood stoves on the “Nuclear Fusion” setting, hot mulled wine on the stove, and a roof clear of snow and ice.  Everyone’s healthy, my novel is close to being finished, and we have high hopes for 2009.  Bring on the year, I say.

5 thoughts on “and then it was oh-nine.

  1. MarkHB says:

    *grins*

    Sue and I had a nice time at the restaurant ’round the corner. Bit of live rock. Bit of wine. Bit of food we didn’t have to wash up.

    Fixing bayonets to blow the last of my savings on running at LA (and 2009) screaming at the tops of my lungs, aiming straight at the heart of that teletubby labelled “Teeveeanfillum”.

  2. Tam says:

    Happy New Year!

    May it be a lucky one…

  3. Eric says:

    Happy New Year!

    Long may your chimney smoke.

  4. Tony says:

    “What are we going to call this decade in the future? The Oughts?”

    Naught – an old synonym for zero (as in, “thirty naught six”.)

    Hence, of course, the ‘0x years are the Naughties.🙂

  5. “What are we going to call this decade in the future? The Oughts?”

    sadly, the last part of the decade will be known simply as the “o”‘s.

    here’s hoping the first part of the next decade does not come to be known as the “o no’s”!

    jtc

Comments are closed.