tuesday randomosity.

  • Sorry for the light blogging recently.  I am in the final lap with this novel, and I pledged to have it finished by the end of the month.  Between writing my fingers off and wrangling the titular munchkins all day long, there’s not much brain power left for profound blog posts at the moment.  It’s like the brain only has juice for so many good written words a day, and blogging sort of saps the word budget for the fiction.  Blogging will resume at full speed once I have written “THE END” at the bottom of the revised draft, and stuffed the damn thing into the mailbox.
  • On the Burris Senate seat theater: I’m sure his qualifications are just as solid as those of most Congresscritters, but I think that anyone who builds himself a mausoleum listing his accomplishments has an ego that’s inflated even by Washington standards.  If there’s one thing that’s in abundance on Capitol Hill already, it’s self-congratulatory, self-serving windbags.
  • My wireless ergo-type keyboard is going wonky on me, and the only other keyboards around the house are straight ones that make my wrist hurt if I write more than a blog post or email on them.  I’ve been writing with my fountain pen in longhand for the last two days, and I’ve come to enjoy the feeling of putting ink to paper.  Right now I have a chapter and a half of material to transcribe into the PC when my wrists no longer feel sore, which will be a great opportunity for an on-the-fly second editing pass.
  • New books on the reading list: “Winter’s Tale” by Mark Helprin, and “The Brooklyn Follies” by Paul Auster.  Still unread, but next on the list: “The Hero of Ages” by Brandon Sanderson, and “The Yiddish Policemen’s Union” by Michael Chabon.  When I’m finished with this novel, I think I’ll cleanse my mental palate by reading all of those books back to back.
  • Trying to squeeze 36 hours of work into a 24-hour day may cause loss of appetite, irritability, and general degradation of personal grooming standards.
  • The caliente hot chocolate from the Atomic Kitchens will wake you right the hell up when you’re starting to nod off during kiddie nap time.
  • Apparently, now that every business in the country from the Big Three down to Auntie Edna’s Donut Emporium has asked for–and received–a few billion dollars of our tax money, the various mismanaged states and cities are showing up to get their hands on some of that sweet Uncle Sugar cash, too.  Fuck it, let’s just nationalize everything, and speed up the current transition to full-bore Communism…where everybody owns everything, and nobody owns anything.  Hope you folks all like Bulgarian shoes and waiting lists for refrigerators.

More content later, as time allows.  Now it’s time for bed, so I can get up at 5am and do it all over again, like my personalized, wrist pain-inducing version of Groundhog Day.  Good night, Internets!

7 thoughts on “tuesday randomosity.

  1. The Bad Yogi says:

    “Fuck it, let’s just nationalize everything, and speed up the current transition to full-bore Communism…where everybody owns everything, and nobody owns anything. ”

    Well, unlikely, IMO, as the gov’t seems hell-bent on GIVING away the cash, not actually, you know, aquiring anything.

    But we’ll see, my prescious, yes we will.

  2. wrm says:

    Hey Marko

    Please explain “caliente hot chocolate from the Atomic Kitchens”, becauzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz…

  3. MarkHB says:

    I used to have terrible RSI before I started taking cod-liver oil supplements. Sounds properly old-wifey, doesn’t it? Take oil for your joints. I assume there’s something in the fish-oil that lets my body produce something or other for nice synovial fluid or whatnot. Anyway, worked for me, took about a month to kick in, YMMV. Also, lay of the port – it’ll give you gout.

    Harrumph.

  4. Marko says:

    wrm,

    the Atomic Nerds sent me a package for Giftmas which contained tasty edibles, among which was a bag of hot chocolate mix with a kick.

  5. mac heath says:

    Any ideas on the mix of hot cocoa ingredients? I have a package of Swiss Miss and a jar of cayenne waiting for direction.

    I’m sure I don’t type nearly as much as you, but I’ve found that wearing anything on my wrists while using a computer is quickly pain-inducing. And like a bad relative, the pain lingers for days. When I sit down to type, the watch, manly bracelet, wrist-crossbow, et al all come off.

    Congratulations for hitting the home stretch of your book.

  6. Kristopher says:

    Ermmm That word may not mean what you think it means …. caliente is temperature hotness.

    Picante is the word I think you were looking for.

  7. Windy Wilson says:

    The Bulgarian shoes and waiting lists for refrigerators are bad enough, but the waiting lists for the Bulgarian shoes !!😉

Comments are closed.