typecast #2.

typecast #2

12 thoughts on “typecast #2.

  1. Jay G. says:

    Military science fiction, you say?

    You’ll do signed copies, right?

    Just checking.

  2. MarkHB says:

    You could pre-compress your vids before uploading someplace like Vimeo/YouTube/Wherever. They’re gonna get transcoded at the far end anyway. http://www.virtualdub.org/ is free and less than a meg and a half, and should speak pretty much any codec you’ve got installed at compression time.

  3. Marko says:

    The Kodak speaks QuickTime, and the only editing tool I’ve found for that is QT Pro.

    Jay,

    of course…it just needs to be sold, published, and in stores first. I’m hoping that first part will be taken care of this year.

  4. MarkHB says:

    *blank look*

    It speaks… woah. That’s pretty wierd. Adobe video furtling toys speak QT both in and out, but downloading their (bloaty) trial versions might be a bit self-defeating in the “Keeping Bandwidth Down” stakes. You could try opening it in VLC and hitting “Save As”….?

  5. Marko says:

    Ah. Found that Handbrake will convert from .mp4 and .mov to .avi. That’s something, at least.

  6. MarkHB says:

    Ad YouTube Per Aspera.

  7. Jamie says:

    You could try getting a photobucket (www.photobucket.com) account. You can upload as much as you want (pictures, videos, whatever) for free, and it gives you the HTML for it right there. Just thought I’d throw that out there.

  8. dot says:

    Marko,
    Contact Jay Respler for the correct ribbons and spools. I have some excellent ones from him for my ’41 Royal.

  9. Breda says:

    I have a question – how do you know how many words and/or chapters you’ll write? I just always figured writers wrote until the story was done. How does that work?

  10. dot says:

    Breda,

    Umm… don’t publishers pay by weight? The costs of paper is by weight, the ink by volume, advice by bushels, and inspiration by drops! 8>P

  11. Tim D says:

    You might try Any Video Converter. It’s freeware, takes .mov and other formats. outputs multiple formats and allows resizing. There is a fee for unlocking additional features , but the free version does everything I need.

    -Tim

  12. Marko says:

    Breda,

    there are as many different ways of writing a novel as there are writers.

    I start with a rough chapter outline that sketches out the story arc of the novel. Then I write a chapter synopsis for three or four chapters in advance–just a half-dozen or so bullet points describing the major scenes in the chapter. As I work along, I generally change things around, cut material out, or add new stuff, but I always have a rough idea of where I’m going with the whole thing.

    As I get closer to the end, I can predict the number of chapters needed to wrap up all the narrative arcs and finish the story. (I never know exactly how many chapters a novel will have until I’m in the last third, or the last quarter of the novel.)

Comments are closed.