twenty-five things about me.

I’ve been tagged with this meme multiple times both through the blogosphere and Facebook, so here are Twenty-Five Things About Me that I’m certain you’re just dying to know.

  1. I’m very slightly cross-eyed, and as a  result I have stereoblindness.  Those nifty blue-and-red 3D glasses from the 1980s, for looking at three-dimensional print pictures and movies? Those don’t work for me. 
  2. My dominant eye is the left one, which means that I shoot rifles off my left shoulder for long-range precision work, even though I’m right-handed.  For rifle work at 200 yards or less, the vision in my right eye is adequate.
  3. When I was a child, we moved around so much that I went to ten different schools in as many school years.
  4. My favorite alcoholic beverage is honey mead.  I could forego all other spirits except that one.  Right now, my favorite is a local brand called Piscassic Pond, and I like their Haelfsett (semi-sweet) variety best.  Chaucer’s is second on the list, but it’s much sweeter, and a little more cloying.
  5. I’ve been writing for as long as I’ve been literate.  I remember writing stories for my brother to take to school for Story Day when we were both in elementary school.  I wrote my first attempt at a novel at seventeen, using a lot of fountain pen ink, and a stack of ring-bound notebooks.
  6. Between all my mother’s siblings, they have almost thirty children.  I’m the second-oldest of the lot.
  7. I was a preemie, born two months early.  I spent the first twelve weeks of my life in an incubator in the neonatal ICU.  I was so used to seeing people in white hospital smocks that when my parents brought me home, I cried whenever someone approached me who wasn’t wearing white.
  8. My mother says I was a phobic little kid, disgusted by sand, and scared of falling leaves.
  9. The first time I got fully drunk was at the age of six or seven, when my (bar-owning and -tending) father gave me several Rum & Cokes to drink in order to impress one of his drinking buddies, for whatever reason.  (Not exactly a model Dad, my old man.)
  10. I have two brothers and two sisters.  Between the lot of us, we have six children, five of them just between myself and my oldest younger brother.  (I’m the oldest sibling.)
  11. I’ve crossed the Atlantic fifteen times so far (on commercial airliners, of course.)  The uneven number is due to one one-way trip, when I moved to the United States in 1996.
  12. The first time I came to the United States as a tourist, my port of entry was New York City.  I arrived in the late evening via bus from JFK, checked into my hotel, and commenced sightseeing early in the morning.  My first destination was the World Trade Center.
  13. My favorite pizza topping is pepperoni, preferably on a very thin crust. 
  14. I’ve never broken a bone in my body.
  15. I’ve only thrown up once in my life, when I was seven years old.  I overate on potato salad at dinner, and barfed all over my bed in the middle of the night.  As a result of that incident, just the smell of potato salad would make me nauseous even years later.
  16. When I was a teenager, I had a mad crush on Lea Thompson.
  17. I’m a tea drinker, and don’t care much for coffee, but every once in a while, I find myself craving a cup of it.
  18. My first car was a 1977 Opel Kadett in signal orange.  That was the easiest car to find in a  crowded parking lot.
  19. I can’t play an instrument, but I’d really like to learn one.
  20. When I was in my early Twenties, I was active in the Social Democratic Party of Germany, and rose in the ranks to be elected city chairman of the SPD’s youth organization.  (Wealth redistribution sounds awesome when you have no wealth to be redistributed.)
  21. I choreographed–and was one of the dancers in–the dance routine my high school class performed at our graduation ceremony.  There’s probably some evidence in film out there somewhere, but I’m pretty sure it’ll never make it onto YouTube.
  22. I don’t have any phobias, but I do get uncomfortable in large crowds.
  23. I’m a passable soccer midfielder, an an excellent goalkeeper.
  24. I have a permanent callus on the middle finger of my right hand.  It has been there since high school, where we were required to write with fountain pens.  For the last fifteen years or so, it has been almost unnoticeable, but it has reappeared since I started writing fiction in longhand again a few weeks ago.  (Apparently, it’s called a writer’s bump.)
  25. I’ve never watched a single episode of American Idol, 24, Heroes, or CSI: Punxsutawney.

And there you have it.  This should absolve me from any memery for at least another year, I hope.

19 thoughts on “twenty-five things about me.

  1. Jay G. says:

    Crap.

    Now I’m going to have to try to come up with 25 things…

    Hey! There’s one – compulsive memery…😉

  2. MarkHB says:

    You totally left out how you wear a frilly pink tutu to write. Gutted!

  3. dot says:

    They charging for oxygen delivery up in the hill country nowadays? Sumbuddies been huffing some rarified air!!

  4. JIGSAW says:

    i had enough trouble coming up with 7 things for another meme awhile back … not even going to attempt 25! However, i did find it an interesting read.

  5. Strings says:

    Marko, I’ll have to let you know when I get my next batches of meade done. I do a nice “standard sweet”, but my mellomels are what people really like…😉

  6. Someone who looks at stereo maps for a living once told me that 10% of the population can’t see in stereo. I don’t know about that, but the old “see through your hand” trick (scroll down to “x-ray vision) never worked for me either.

    Try a small square of translucent tape over your shooting glasses, right over the eye you don’t want dominant. If you dominant eye switches like mine does, it will save you a bunch of squinting.

  7. mtsonline says:

    Lea Thompson. The man has good taste.

  8. J T Bolt says:

    I’d buy the whole season on Blu-Ray DVD if there really was a CSI: Punxsutawney.

  9. Tiffani says:

    I have the writer bump thing on my finger, too! I’ve had it since I was about 9 or 10. And that’s my interesting factoid for today.

  10. MarkHB says:

    I have a lighter bump on my right thumb from the spark-wheel on cigarette lighters.

    Am I cool yet?

  11. Tam says:

    Yes, but do you have a callous on the inside rear edge of your index finger from holding paperback books open while reading them?

  12. MarkHB says:

    *examines finger*

    Fucking hell! I hadn’t noticed that! Hahhaahahahahaa….

  13. MarkHB says:

    I shall call it my “Book Nook”

  14. ChrisB says:

    My 80’s favorite was Jenny Wright, she was the utterly delicious red-head in Young Guns 2, I thought she’d have a great career, I know I’d be eager to pay money to watch her waving her red hair, and occasionally being naked.

    Anyway, you’d love Heroes if you gave it a chance, and you’d TOTALLY love House MD if someone was kind enough to lend it to you.

  15. sam says:

    What the? I’ve holding open paperbacks *wrong* all these years? Just using my thumb?

    Well, I’m just starting the “Dexter” series. Maybe I’ll try to change my ways. . . . Naaaaaaaaah!

    +1 on House, MD. Also give a try on Battlestar Galatica, current generation. You can prolly skip the mini-series, though. I think Adama is Tam’s kind of people. Like a more lethal House.

  16. Tam says:

    Actually, since typing that comment, I’ve realized that the index finger callous is from softcovers and thinner hardbacks. The thumb callous is from paperbacks.

  17. Windy Wilson says:

    (Wealth redistribution sounds awesome when you have no wealth to be redistributed.)
    Sort of like the shooting sports, where the appeal depends on which end of the firearm you are on.
    That’s a quote from some Englishman whose name I’ve forgotten and my google-fu is even weaker than normal today.

  18. Only want to say your article is impressive. The lucidity in your post is simply impressive and i can take for granted you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your rss feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the fabulous work

  19. Tam says:

    Your spam comment enlightening is! Human almost you sound!

Comments are closed.