thursday randomosity.

  • The novel’s just about finished.  At my current pace, I’ll be done with it in another two weeks, which puts this one only two months behind my self-imposed deadline.  I started it in the summer of 2008.  Now, I know that prolific writers like Stephen King write 100k words in three months, but I also know that he doesn’t have to take care of two kids, and his house (while in the snowbelt) probably has a non-leaky roof that doesn’t require him to be up on it after every snow with a broom and a shovel.  I am actually quite pleased that it only took me eight months to finish this one, since I’ve had to carve my writing time out of most days tooth and nail.  (The previous one took me twelve months and only weighed in at 89,000 words.)
  • Speaking of snow: after a few snow-free, almost spring-like weeks, we got about six inches overnight.  I was busy clearing the roof and taking the snowblower to the driveway even before breakfast, but it’s all under control now.  Anything less than a foot of new snow overnight is not likely to slow operations here at Castle Frostbite.
  • Product recommendation: disposable Pilot Varsity fountain pens.  I like my refillables (more economical, easier on the environment, and more personal), but the disposable Pilots are shockingly good for $2 throw-aways.  They have smooth nibs, lay down a nice, wet line of ink, and last for a long time.  I keep a few around as backups in case my aerometric filler pen runs dry while I’m out and about.  If you’re curious about fountain pens, or you want to get back into writing with them, the Varsity is a good way to get your feet wet without shelling out a ton of money.  Staples has them in three-packs (all black or black/blue/purple) for $5.99.
  • I’m going to a Stammtisch of the Dartmouth German Club tonight, to meet some new people and spend the evening yakking in Kraut-ese.  I seem to have misplaced my Teutonic World Domination Society membership card, but I’m hoping they’ll let me in without it, anyway.
  • We’ve only used 10% of our 300-plus gallon propane tank since the Irving guy showed up a month ago, which is very good.  However, we have gone through six cords of wood since November, and we just had a seventh delivered because we were running low.  On the plus side, wood’s much cheaper than propane per BTU, and you can use the ashes to sand the icy driveway.
  • I’d love to get a cell phone again, specifically an iPhone or Blackberry with the unlimited data plan, but we have no network reception here at the Castle, and I leave the house twice a week.  That makes the cell phone a completely unnecessary device for me, which makes me feel technologically retarded.  I mean, how am I ever going to be one of the cool kids if I can’t send Twitter updates from the dentist’s chair or the bathroom at Murphy’s on the Green?
  • If there’s a candy with a more artificial flavor and texture than Cherry Twizzlers?  I picked some up at Quinn’s request a while back, and blech.  Now, I’m not a huge fan of the original kind, but the Cherry variant is worse by several orders of magnitude.  They’re softer and stickier than strawberry or licorice Twizzlers, and their flavor…oh. muh. gah.  Super-sweet, cloying, and a lingering chemical aftertaste, all in a consistency that sticks to the teeth like CHERRY!!1!!ONE!!-flavored candle wax.  I don’t know who actually likes those things, but if you do, you need to have your taste buds severely recalibrated. 

That’s all from me today.  Now I have to get back to work before I get to go out to my sooper-sekrit German meeting tonight…

7 thoughts on “thursday randomosity.

  1. Jay G. says:

    Anything less than a foot of new snow overnight is not likely to slow operations here at Castle Frostbite.

    Ah, grasshopper, you are assimilating nicely…

  2. MarkHB says:

    Dude. I have a crazy question. You have lots of land, on a hill.

    You have no cellphone reception.

    Cellphone companies have lots of money to spend on placing towers on hills in places with no cellphone reception.

    Why not write to them, and turn land into money?

  3. ATLien says:

    I reiterate: Parker Vector pens. usually around $6-7, and refillable. And Parkers!

    Have fun. I wish i had somewhere to practice my German.

  4. SigBoy40 says:

    Without your Teutonic World Domination Society membership card, you can just give them your membership number and they can run it thru the database. It’s like getting pulled over without your liscense.

  5. Tony says:

    “Now, I know that prolific writers like Stephen King write 100k words in three months”

    Well yeah, but a lot of what Stephen King writes is utter shite.

    I forget which huge, brick-like tome of “horror” written by him I was reading, but at some point I started to just read every 12th page. I felt that I didn’t really miss anything important. I’m not sure if the quality of the book increased or not, but at least it was over a whole lot faster…

    In general I am very suspicious of these “prolific” writers. How can anyone keep churning up quality literature at a huge rate of speed? I could understand it happening for a while, but year after year? That just has to affect the quality of the writers work at some point.

    …Hmm. What were you writing again? From the pace of it, sounds like something I should really consider reading…🙂

  6. Chang says:

    I have a nice Parker pen that I either found or stole from someone and I love it. In fact, it had gone unused for a decade until you jogged my memory and I bought a refill for it. Very nice. I may have to check out these Pilots of yours. For I am stylish and hip, too, you see.

  7. Tam says:

    I forget which huge, brick-like tome of “horror” written by him I was reading, but at some point I started to just read every 12th page. I felt that I didn’t really miss anything important. I’m not sure if the quality of the book increased or not, but at least it was over a whole lot faster…

    Yup. King’s pretty hit-or-miss as a novelist.

    He’s a consistently solid short-story writer, though…

Comments are closed.