a rare evening out.

I went to the Stammtisch of the Dartmouth German Club last night, and had a blast.  (A Stammtisch is a “regular’s table” at a pub.)  I met a bunch of people, including a Dutch grad student who offered to babysit for us on occasion, and I made contact with a group of people who play soccer at Dartmouth twice a week for fun. 

Most of the evening, we spoke German, but I also had a chance to use my slightly rusty Dutch, and the amount of polyglots in the group was truly impressive.  There were native-level speakers of German, English, Dutch, French, and Portuguese sitting in my vicinity, and there were probably other languages represented in the group as well. 

One of the big drawbacks of being a stay-at-home parent is the social isolation.  We don’t have family up here, and I’m in the house with the kids most of the week.  I don’t really get to go out and do stuff, meet people, or have fun without the kids, and whenever I do get to socialize a bit, it reminds me how important it is to have the occasional adult conversation that doesn’t revolve around Thomas the Tank Engine, bedtimes, and dietary requests involving dessert after (or in lieu of) lunch.

3 thoughts on “a rare evening out.

  1. Jay G. says:

    Believe me, Marko, you’re not missing a lot by being a stay-at-home-parent vs. being out in the workforce.

    Most of the non-work related talk I hear around the proverbial water cooler (we got rid of the actual water cooler as a cost-saving measure a few years back) revolves around “Dancing with the Survivor Idol” or somesuch…

  2. LittleRed1 says:

    I visited my old Stammtisch yesterday. It was much fun – two hours of German, good pastries and coffee (two members can’t do alcohol, so it meets at a coffee shop). We solved all the world’s problems, exercised out minds and left satisfied.

  3. Assrot says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed yourself but I must say I’m a little jealous. I’d give anything (well almost anything) to be your age again and in your shoes.

    Man, you got it made. I’d love to have a life where I stayed home and took care of the house and kids and was able to pursue my life’s work at my leisure.

    You have a great family, a good woman that takes good care of you. You get to spend all the time you want with your children while they are growing up. What more could a man ask for?

    If I was in your shoes, I’d probably only leave the house maybe once or twice a month other than for the obvious necessities of shopping, child care duties, etc.

    I’d probably hit the library or a restaurant once a month and spend the day at a shooting range once a month.

    I’d trade my rat race for your wonderful solitude any day bud.

    Enjoy while you can. The kids grow up and move out so fast it seems like the blink of an eye. When they first move out, it’s a relief for a few months but then you really start to miss them.

    My youngest moved out 13 years ago and I still miss her.

    Joe

Comments are closed.