a rare pit stop.

Kool-Aid Quinn 003

No, he’s not trying out for the role of Little Joker in the pre-school production of The Dark Knight.  He just had a glass of cherry-flavored drink mix, in a hurry.

Oh, and Walmarts?  Your “Sugar-Free Cherry” mix tastes like the product of a collision between a Twizzlers truck and a chemical plant.  Nas-tee.  (Your Raspberry flavor, on the other hand, is quite okay.)

If you embiggen the picture, you can see where Quinn chipped a tooth while rough-housing around on the bed with his sister.  Toddler foreheads are tougher than preschooler teeth, apparently.  The other week, he gashed his forehead when he ran around in Crazy Mode (which is now, oh, 95% of the time), stumbled, and hit his head on the edge of the wood stove platform in the living room. 

If I was just like him when I was a kid, I have no idea how I ever lived to adult age.  “Pig-headed recklessness” is the term that comes to mind.

6 thoughts on “a rare pit stop.

  1. Diane says:

    So the Tasmanian Devil t-shirt is totally appropriate, then?

  2. Kaerius says:

    I was quite the same as a kid, I actually knocked out my two front teeth TWICE. Aparently I got a second set of milk teeth before getting the “real” ones.

  3. Jay G. says:

    “Pig-headed recklessness” is the term that comes to mind.

    “Average boy” is another one.

    Just wait until the first time he breaks his arm. Or rides his bicycle into the creek. Or sleds into a tree.

    Or, in the case of my son, develops a fever that’s strikingly similiar to meningitis. The morning we’re going to drive down to PA…

    Or gets bitten by a mosquito right on the bridge of his nose, causing both eyes to swell completely shut. When you’re camping 100 miles from home. So that he spends an entire morning in an ER getting a steroid shot to clear it up. And you spend the rest of the day with EVERYONE staring at you, because your son has two black eyes…

    Ah, yes, good times, good times…

  4. Chris says:

    My oldest daughter (5 at the moment) broke the same arm twice, in two different places, in a 12 month span before she was 4.

  5. Breda says:

    that’s what baby teeth are for, I think.

  6. Stan says:

    I don’t think that the head is any harder than the teeth since they are both made of about the same material, but the skull sure is thicker.

Comments are closed.