a word on comment moderation.

I just released a whole bunch of comments that were trapped in the spam filter. (Raving Prophet, you had four or five in there…Akismet’s spam filter doesn’t like you for some reason.)

I guess I ought to mention that I don’t generally delete or block comments.  I reserve that right, of course, but so far, nobody has managed to annoy me enough, and I don’t fear dissenting opinions.  If I ever delete or edit a comment of yours, it won’t be because I disagree with your opinion on an issue, but because I disagree with the way you get it across.  In other words: keep it civil, and don’t say anything to me or my readers in the comments that you wouldn’t say directly to my face, in my living room, with a bunch of preschoolers and your sainted old grandma listening.

7 thoughts on “a word on comment moderation.

  1. Tam says:

    Freedom of speech! First Amendment! I thought you cared about the Bill of Rights but you only like your guns!

    Just thought I’d help break this comment thread in all proper-like. :p

  2. Rick in NY says:

    Ahhh, the sounds of sanity. Thank you, Marko, I needed to know there were still some other sane persons among the populace.

    You’re ability to accept conflicting views on your comments page is what keeps yours among the blogs I read. That said, there is nothing wrong with filtering out trash, but then you already knew that.

    Kudos on a great blog!

  3. Jay G. says:

    In other words: keep it civil, and don’t say anything to me or my readers in the comments that you wouldn’t say directly to my face, in my living room, with a bunch of preschoolers and your sainted old grandma listening.

    Err, well, I’ve already gotten in trouble with Mrs. G. over my language in front of the wee bairns.

    And my grandmother was a nasty Sicilian with a vicious streak a mile wide. Racist as all get-out, too.

    Yay for statistical outliers!

  4. Phil says:

    I wondered what was happening to my comments. Seemed that it was happening on a bunch of WordPress blogs I frequent- could have had something to do with the Yahoo email address I was using (I’ll put in a different one here and see if it helps). I even tried blowing away the WordPress cookies to see if it helped (obviously, the problem wasn’t on my end).

    I promise, I’m not a spammer- with the amount of sheer spam garbage I get on a regular basis, I would be in favor of tying spammers into a sack with an angry honey badger and tossing them off a bridge.

  5. ditto says:

    Who said grandma was saintly?

  6. http://vkatalogah.ru/ – прогон по базе каталогов

Comments are closed.