24 thoughts on “saturday fluff poll.

  1. Weer'd Beard says:

    A Bugs life! If you can’t be watching Akira Kurosawa’s epic film “The Seven Samurai” with Samurai and Toshiro Mifune, why not watch it with CG bugs and Dave Foley, and Kevin Spacey!

  2. “harmless and uncontroversial”?

    f that…are you really unaware of the subliminal control messages embodied in pixar and other “animated” media? scary…don’t let the kids watch that shit; also some of those animators are real wackjobs ;o)

    jtc

  3. Eric says:

    We saw Toy Story 2 in a digital theatre with DLP. The opening shot of the Pixar logo on a white background is permanently burned into our retinas!

  4. Jeffro says:

    “The Incredibles” = Individualism/Mediocrity

  5. perlhaqr says:

    Ooooh, damn. I dunno. Either Cars or The Incredibles, I couldn’t pick. They both make me kinda sniffly.

    Ok, yeah, there might be a few screws loose in my noggin. Whatever.

    I’m afraid you were a bit too terse, Jeffro. What are you trying to say? (Not sarcastic, I really don’t understand.)

  6. perlhaqr says:

    Way back when I was in CS at the university, Pixar sent some people by to give a presentation. Best moment was when they were doing test renders of characters and pairing them with the audio from other movies, to figure out which actors they wanted to play the roles. I will never forget Hopper standing in the middle of the cantina delivering Dennis Hopper’s line from Blue Velvet: “Don’t you fuckin’ look at me!” Hilaaaarious.

  7. Breda says:

    I am sentimental about Nemo and his gimpy fin.

  8. Kristopher says:

    I’ll wait for the Rule 34 versions.

  9. Brandon says:

    Tough call. The first half of WALL-E was brilliant, but I didn’t dig it as much once the humans showed up. Monsters, Inc. cracks me up, so it gets the vote.

  10. MarkHB says:

    Brandon,

    I choose to believe there’s a version of Wall*E in a vault somewhere in Pixar’s underground bunkers of the version where they didn’t cop out to focus-groups and made a 90 minute movie with zero dialogue. The acting – honest-to-gh0d acting – in the first half of the movie telegraphs clearly that they could have pulled it off.

    Therefore, it’s The Incredibles for me, simply because anything with giant fricken robots with lasers in it beats anything without.

  11. KatyBeth and I love Nemo and his lucky fin, for the same reason as Breda.

  12. MarkHB says:

    Oh shit, nobody told me Ambo and Breda were Aussies!

  13. Jay G. says:

    Incredibles. Hands down. The rest (with the possible exception of Ratatouille) are excellent, that goes without saying.

    But “The Incredibles” is on my top five faves of all time – right up there with The Blues Brothers and Monty Python and The Holy Grail. It’s a movie I can watch any time – and will watch until the end if I catch part of it on TV.

  14. joe says:

    Hm. I may need to get out more, but the only one on the list that I’ve even seen is “The Incredibles,” and it’s on my short list of cool movies. Ironically, the only reason I even saw it in the first place is that it was showing on an airline flight I took a few years ago.

  15. sasu says:

    I voted “none”. I am a gun owner so I am not into such childrens’ stuff.

  16. RevolverRob says:

    Cars!

    I guess I missed the subliminal message that Pixar hated all gun owners and wanted to submit the world to their control. Although, they are doing a bang up job of controlling the animated movie market and the subsequent toy/kid related sales.

    My vote is Cars, because if you are/were/ever have been a car fan, the movie has so many subtle car-culture undertones that you can’t help but love it. Plus, who doesn’t love Frank?

    -Rob

  17. Holly says:

    Luxo, Jr. forever!

  18. Jason says:

    I voted Incredibles, but for some reason, I haven’t seen Wall-E yet.

  19. ditto says:

    Monsters Inc. – “I can’t believe my eye”.

  20. wolfwalker says:

    What could possibly go wrong with this one?

    Never ask that question. As sure as death and taxes, you won’t like the answer.

    Of all the movies on that list, I’ve seen exactly two: “Toy Story” and “The Incredibles.” Of those two, I much prefer “The Incredibles” because it’s a rip-roaring good story and it has a strongly individualist, conservative-libertarian message. Which is probably not what the makers intended, but is there anyway. Much like the pro-American, pro-military, pro-interventionist theme in Iron Man.

  21. MarkHB says:

    If there’s a strong theme in a Pixar script, you can rest assured that it’s meant to be there. Finding Nemo’s script was hammered on for six years before they even thought of making the film, for example. The Incredibles is firmly individualist in terms of it’s story. Herd Thinking and Herd Behaviour are frequent targets in movies from that lot. Just goes to show that having your skull vacuumed out and stuffed with marshmallows is not an automatic consequence of working in LA.

  22. Dr. Feelgood says:

    Currently possess four pre-schoolers, have seen all Pixar films, including the shorts from various DVDs. I’m rather partial to the “Knick Knack” short on the Nemo DVD (disc 2), mostly ’cause Bobby McFerrin is the only man alive who can silence my progeny all at once.

    I voted for The Incredibles. That film alone is worth the fan-boy tax of a new Blu-ray setup.

  23. ErnestThing says:

    What? Wall-E comes in third?!

  24. BlueNight says:

    I saw this poll, and I realized something awesome: my top six Pixar films are all in my top ten favorite films of all time. Here they are, from my favorite to my least favorite:

    Ratatouille
    WALL-E
    The Incredibles
    Toy Story 2
    Toy Story
    Monsters, Inc.
    (Up may go here)
    A Bug’s Life
    Finding Nemo
    Cars

    The pro-success message in Ratatouille jelled with me because I was reading Atlas Shrugged at the time it was released. I managed to recognize and ignore any Wall-E “oh no its environmentalist” idiocy: what idiot megacorporation pollutes the entire freakin’ planet? One full of thugs and wasters, not producers, that’s who.

Comments are closed.