thursday randomosity.

  • Michigan man is charged with felony for checking email over a coffee shop’s unsecured WiFi network.  That’s right, folks: piggybacking on someone’s WiFi without asking permission is a F-E-L-O-N-Y now.  Felony, as in: lose your voting and Second Amendment rights for life.  Pretty soon, it’ll be easier to just write all the stuff into the penal code that isn’t a felony.  This one’s for all you “There ought to be a law” types: they don’t need to take your guns or voting rights overtly.  All they have to do is make everything under the sun a felony (with your support), and then prosecute selectively at will.
  • Why did I purchase a Best of Talk Talk CD at Borders the other day?  I haven’t listened to any Talk Talk since the 1980s…and I couldn’t stand most of their stuff back then.  Someone take my debit card before I start buying Depeche Mode and The Cure CDs next.
  • Hard deadline for novel completion: April 30, 11:59pm.  I’m in a home stretch competition with one of my VP pals, who is trying to finish a play by the same date, and the loser will have to buy the winner a bottle of decent wine.  There will also be gloating and general trash-talking involved, so I have a vested interest in making deadline above and beyond the whole “sell this thing and see it on the bookshelf” bit.
  • After this thing is in the mail, I’ll be finishing a short story that’s been on the back burner, and waiting patiently at 75% completion.  Then I’ll write another short story that has been on the tip of my brain for a month or two now, and then I guess I’ll decide whether to start with the follow-up to the SF novel, or tackle the YA urban fantasy novel that’s been percolating in my head.  But first: a break, and the reading of the ten novels stacked on my desk.
  • For the one or two ink-and-paper fans among you: my current favorites are Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown, and 4001 Violet.
  • Does anyone out there play World of Warcraft on one of the new Mac minis, aluminum iMacs, or unibody MacBooks–the ones with the new nVidia graphics chips?  if so, what sort of frame rate can you report?  It’s about time for another upgrade-and-hand-me-down cycle here at Castle Frostbite, and I’m toying with the idea of getting one of the new Mac minis instead of going the usual route and ordering the bits for a new gaming rig from Newegg.
  • Robin’s Chicken Tikka Masala is the bestest chicken dish in the history of the universe.  In fact, it’s so good that if I were a chicken, I’d stand in line for the honor of getting my neck snapped just to be included in that Tikka Masala…it’s that good, folks.
  • A tip for prospective parents: when shopping for toddler socks, never get the variety pack that has five pairs of socks with five different motifs on them.  The only time you’ll ever have matching pairs is when you take them out of the bag.  Get multipacks of identical pairs instead.

That’s all the Thursday Randomosity we have right now, folks.  Expect more substantial blogging later, because I haven’t had my fill of controversy yet this week.

20 thoughts on “thursday randomosity.

  1. ChrisB says:

    Marko,

    Bully Hill Wine, available at the NH liquer store in Leb., is excellent and priced very reasonably at about $12/bottle. It actually has a grape taste to it, which is very weird considering wine is usually made from grapes.

    One caution though, it’s very easy to go through a whole lot of it, the delicious taste lends itself to multiple glasses.

  2. Chris Byrne says:

    Actually, unauthorized access has always BEEN a felony (under the telecommunications act of 1934, as amended in 1996).

    It’s just very rare that they get a prosecution, because in order for the feds to get interested, you have to claim (with at least a tissue of support to it) at least $20,000 worth of damages, so that the offender will qualify for a 5 year sentence.

    The things you learn as a security consultant.

  3. ditto says:

    Fuck a felony!
    Just because some nitwit calls it one doesn’t mean I must obey!
    Come and get me sucker……

  4. Tam says:

    I’d be really careful saying

    Someone take my debit card before I start buying Depeche Mode and The Cure CDs next.

    in the same post where I said

    and then I guess I’ll decide whether to … tackle the YA urban fantasy novel that’s been percolating in my head.

    Just sayin’, is all.

  5. Justin Buist says:

    Chris, this one didn’t require the feds. Michigan has its own law that covers this and that’s what was used.

    He was eventually fined $400 and did 40 hours community service to get the felony charge dropped. More here.

  6. Breda says:

    I’m still waiting on the chicken tikka recipe!!

  7. perlhaqr says:

    ChrisB: My wife is from NJ, (where the vineyard is) and loves that stuff. Her favorite is “Love My Goat”, which is somewhere between kool-aid and raw sucrose syrup in my opinion, but I’m more of a “dry wine” man myself.

  8. Al T. says:

    Robin’s Chicken Tikka Masala – recipe please?

  9. Andrey says:

    Well, I done have any Macs around, but as a former Warcrack junkie I can offer following $0.02 –

    Warcraft is more CPU bound than video bound. So get fastest CPU you can get and 2Gig of RAM or more.
    With completely outdated AMD 64 4000 (single core) and GeForce 7800GTX I was getting 30+ in Shatt and over 100FPS when flying and such.

  10. williamthecoroner says:

    Just safety pin the socks together. Saves a lot of trouble in the long run.

  11. J.R. Shirley says:

    Mm. That chicken marsala does sound yummy.

    My favorite wine is Concha y Toro’s Frontera Cabernet Sauvignon/Merlot blend. Incredibly tasty yet surprisingly affordable from Sam’s, and not terribly priced at Publix or Kroger’s.

    John

  12. Kristopher says:

    You can use last years stuff to do level alts and the like.

    Get to Northrend with its improved textures and you will start to see lag on the older CPUs and video cards.

    How fast is your connection? If you are grinding through a satellite, I wouldn’t worry about it … just get the mini you want.

  13. T.Stahl says:

    YA = Yuppie Age?

  14. MarkHB says:

    Down with crypto-facist sock conformity! Throw off the shackles of convention! Revel in your odd-sock freedom!

    True story, though- I was shuffling barefoot through TSA at LAX a few months back and the uniform on the far-side of the metal detector held up a hand and said “Sorry, sir – nobody with odd socks is allowed to fly.”

    I looked at him as my brain’s clutch re-engaged from it’s “Stay Placid Through Security” semi-fugue, looked down at my feet. Left foot, red sock. Right foot, green sock. Looked back up at TSA guy.

    “I’m in compliance with FAA rules on navigation lights.”

    “That is true, sir. We just have to check these things. Have a good flight.”

    “Thank you. Have a pleasant day.”

    Both in complete deadpan. Nice to know there are some people out there both with a sense of humour about Security Theatre.

  15. MarkHB says:

    …and the ability to crack jokes with a straight face. (They can probably finish a post, too)

  16. princewally says:

    Good tip on the socks. I use it for my kids…and myself. Who needs to sort socks when they all match?

  17. Antibubba says:

    “Milanowski didn’t immediately cite or arrest Peterson, mostly because he wasn’t certain a crime had been committed. “I had a feeling a law was being broken,” the chief said. Milanowski did some research and found Michigan’s “Fraudulent access to computers, computer systems, and computer networks” law, a felony punishable by five years in prison and a $10,000 fine.”

    “This is the first time that we’ve actually charged it,” Kent County Assistant Prosecutor Lynn Hopkins said, adding that “we’d been hoping to dodge this bullet for a while.”

    Does anyone else get the impression that a certain town’s DA and Police Chief have too much time on their hands? I wonder how many jaywalkers were detained that week?

  18. julie says:

    the sock thing .. not only when they’re toddlers … do it for life

    … the only problem is when they have to wear white socks to school and you’ve got one kid in size 9-12 and another in size 13-3 .. haven’t figured a solution to this issue yet ….

  19. MarkHB says:

    Julie;

    Spraypaint.

  20. Balog says:

    For some reason I read that recipe as “Robot chicken tikka marsala.” I can only imagine that’d be a bit tough.

Comments are closed.