the little things are really the big things.

It’s a lovely spring day here in the Upper Valley.

This morning, I took the kids out to the farm after breakfast to get milk and eggs.  We got our dairy for the week, petted doggies, looked at roosters, and had lollipops and cherry sodas.  Then we went for a little drive along Mascoma Lake, went into town to spend an hour at the park and playground, and topped off the morning with a lunch at Enfield House of Pizza.  All in all, it was just a lovely, relaxed morning.  Now the kids are napping, and I’m catching up on some writing work.

I have a feeling that thirty or forty years hence, I won’t remember much of our roofing troubles, or whatever annoying expense is popping up this month…but I’m pretty sure days like today will still be vivid in my memory.  My two kids, happy and healthy, petting the farm doggie, playing on the slides together, and sharing some chicken fingers at the local pizza place, a vignette of just another normal day.

On days like this one, I’m convinced that I have the best job on the planet.  The hours suck, and the paychecks aren’t anything to write home about once you calculate the hourly wage…but the fringe benefits are terrific.

10 thoughts on “the little things are really the big things.

  1. Jay G. says:

    You’re the richest man I know, Marko, and I can’t begin to tell you how much I envy you…

  2. williamthecoroner says:

    You gotta remember what is important, don’t you.

  3. “I have a feeling that thirty or forty years hence…”

    yep. take it from one who knows.

    and that three or four decades? just a blink of the eye. i would tell you to savor it, but that’s just what you were doing this morning, isn’t it?

    jtc

  4. B Smith says:

    My father, now departed, stated it thus:
    “I’m richer than Bill Gates, because I have ENOUGH money.”

  5. MarkHB says:

    The Munchkin Wrangler: A blog from a lucky, wise chap who got it right.

    Well done old soak. Well done, and proudly so.

  6. Chang says:

    I envy you, too. I have a ten year old and I am the first to admit I am not always present with her. In fact lately I have had these pangs of knowing where I could have spent more time with her in the past. Don’t get me wrong, we have an amazing relationship! I just know it will all run away form me soon enough.

    This is why I am teaching her to play PORTAL!!!

  7. MarkHB says:

    Chang’s device has been modified.

  8. I hope for you that those days are NOT few and far between. My daughter leaves for college in a few months, and I swear I was just changing her diapers a few weeks ago.

  9. J.R. Shirley says:

    That’s beautiful, Marko. Now I’m going to cry.

    And cut myself.

Comments are closed.