this morning’s biology lesson.

mousey2

Lest it be said that I am a heartless rodent killer…this little guy was captured after being cornered in the sitting room, used as a biology lesson for the kids, and then set free in a non-critical area on the property.

When I told Quinn that Mr. Baby Mouse needed a place to stay where the dachshunds won’t use him as a quick protein snack, he immediately offered: “The mouse can stay in my room!”

We’ll learn about disease vectors later.  For now, Mr. Baby Mouse is off to find his parents in the tool shed.  If he comes back into the house and starts messing around in the booby-trapped kitchen, however, I will not be held liable for broken necks.

8 thoughts on “this morning’s biology lesson.

  1. Cathy says:

    That mouse has an awfully big head.

  2. Robert says:

    Chance are good that the mouse will, indeed, find his way back to the house. C. Brooke Worth, in his fine book Of Mosquitoes, Moths, & Mice (1972), describes the homing instinct of the deer mouse when set free hundreds of yards from the home it was found in.

  3. Jay G. says:

    “You just wait. I’ll grow up… and come back with hanta virus…”

  4. MarkHB says:

    Awww. Cute.

    I thought gun-owning types were meant to slaughter everything in sight, chewing a two-dollar cigar and shouting “yee-haw” as they did so?

    Don’t tell me the Meeja lied to me. I don’t think I could take that.

  5. lenf says:

    Mr. Baby Mouse is no longer with us. This guy is too young and too small to live on its own unless you left it within scampering distance of its mother. It’s now either becoming compost or dinner.

    • Marko says:

      Don’t tell Quinn. He’s making up running narratives about Baby Mouse and his fabulous adventures in the wild.

      Yeah, I figured he was too young to survive…he was already pretty weak.

  6. Eric says:

    AFAIK, mice don’t have only children… Where’s mom and the rest of the brood?

  7. lenf says:

    Ah, where indeed is the rest of the family? They are out there and ready to get in and nibble your soap and poop on your counters.
    CONSTANT VIGILANCE!
    Regarding this and other recent posts involving our mousie friends, the count on my old trap out in the Barn is twenty since Thanksgiving day 2008. And dozens more in the years before.

Comments are closed.