thursday randomosity.

  • The satellite Interwebs are borked again here at Castle Frostbite, and the connection is merrily going up and down like a yo-yo all day long.  (I’m typing up this post in Windows Live Writer, to be sent out during one of the satellite modem’s rare lucid periods.)  The tech will be out within the next seven (!) business days, and there will be a $125 call charge just for showing up.  Before anyone tells me to ditch the provider–it’s either them or dial-up service, which would mean the same expense, because we’d have to get two extra phone lines installed.  I can’t wait for cable Intertubes or DSL to come around these parts.
  • In reference to the above item, blogging may be a bit sporadic for a few days.  I usually do an update a day at least, but yesterday I missed the boat, because our DAMN INTERNETS WERE BROKEN MOST OF THE DAY. 
  • On the plus side, I’m getting lots of writing done due to lack of Intertubular distractions.
  • The Motorless Period is over.  (That’s the span of roughly eight weeks where I no longer need to use the snowblower, and don’t have to use the lawnmower yet.)  This weekend, I’ll have to break out the mower and give the yard a buzzcut, because the grass is wasting no time growing out of control.  I’ll have to say this in defense of cold, snowy winters: no bugs, and no grass to mow.
  • Lyra will be two years old tomorrow.  I could have sworn we just brought her back from the hospital a few months ago.  If you want to have a constant, physical reminder of how time flies, have a kid or two.
  • Books at the top of my current To Buy list: Neal Stephenson’s Snow Crash, and China Mieville’s Perdido Street Station.  I am deeply ashamed to admit not having read either yet.
  • Is it just me, or has Milla Jovovich played Leeloo Dallas in every movie she’s been in since The Fifth Element?  I mean, not that I mind the sight of her dual-wielding Uzis, but talk about typecasting.  Summer Glau is going to have to be careful to avoid the same fate, seeing how most of her projects since Firefly/Serenity could have been called River Tam Beats Up Everyone Yet Again.
  • Still considering the Mac mini over the gaming PC.  This may just be a sign of onsetting maturity, or one of a shift in priorities, but at this point, I rate the ability to run Scrivener higher than the ability to run Left 4 Dead at 120FPS.  (Especially since being forced to play all those yummy first-person shooters in single-player mode takes much of the fun out of them.  I do miss my Battlefield 2 evenings, dishing out headshots to perfect strangers.)
  • I made the mistake of introducing the kids to Lucky Charms.  It took them about three seconds to realize that the marshmallow bits are tastier than the stuff surrounding them, and now they treat the frosted oat bits like you would treat the styrofoam peanuts in the box containing your new eBay purchase.  After this box is gone, we’re going back to Cheerios.

Well, it’s back to work for me.  Intertubes are likely to remain sporadic for a while, so I’m actually going to have to do Other Stuff.  You kids behave, and don’t break Al Gore’s Internet while I’m off writing, hmm-kay?

20 thoughts on “thursday randomosity.

  1. Jay G. says:

    Three words: Chocolate Lucky Charms.

    All the marshmellow bits, *AND* sugar-coated imitation chocolate “cereal” to boot.

    I like to get ’em all sugared up before I send ’em off to school. Makes the day more interesting…

  2. MarkHB says:

    Ahhh, Snow Crash. I wish I could erase my memories of reading it, so I could enjoy it from scratch all over again. It’s a treat, alright – I don’t think I’ve enjoyed any Stephenson more, and that’s saying something.

    • Dave says:

      I’d have to agree with this – I randomly grabbed a book in the Borders and Noble. A few hours later and several hundred pages later and I was a confirmed Stephenson fan.

  3. Samsam says:

    If you mix 2 parts plain, dry oatmeal with 1 part Froot Loops, it is actually edible by adults. But, yeah, you still have the problem of kids eating junk.

  4. Tiffani says:

    I can eat a box of Lucky Charms all by myself in about two days. It’s sick but I love them like a 5 year old on a bender. So I never buy them for myself… well, almost never.

    • Marko says:

      This is worse…it’s the bulk pack from BJ’s, with two huge bags inside the box.

      Robin loves Lucky Charms, too, so that box I got on Saturday is pretty much gone.

  5. Dave says:

    My son turns two in July and our second child is due in July as well. You’re absolutely correct about how children really do make you realize how fast time flies.

  6. guy says:

    For satellite problems have you run across this forum?

    When my boss had direcway service it was a big help keeping that POS up and running.

  7. Shootin' Buddy says:

    Obama says that Cheerios are a drug!

    In the name of all that is holy, by that I mean Science, stop giving the children drugs!

  8. Shootin' Buddy says:

    Someone call CPS! Parents are pushing drugs to the children! Won’t someone please think of the children:

    http://www.ft.com/cms/s/0/cfec4710-3f45-11de-ae4f-00144feabdc0.html

  9. happy b-day to your baby girl…

    my baby son was 25 on 4/7 and my eldest daughter 37 the next day…talk about time taking wing.

    as for onsetting maturity and shifting priorities, those go hand-in-hand. the former can bring on the melancholy, but the latter chases it away.

    jtc

  10. Tony says:

    “Summer Glau is going to have to be careful to avoid the same fate, seeing how most of her projects since Firefly/Serenity could have been called River Tam Beats Up Everyone Yet Again.”

    …Aaaand this is bad, exactly, why?🙂

    (Note to self: must introduce self to Summer Glaus post-Firefly projects ASAP!)

  11. MarkHB says:

    Tony, they are pretty much the xkcd strip “Summer Glau Beats up Everyone”.

    Go read, little shaver. Go read, and learn how to love again in ways you never thought possible.

    Via con BIOS.

  12. Robert says:

    I’d swear that there are more marshmallows in Lucky Charms than when I was a kid, when I would very carefully pick all the marshmallows out and stuff into my face at one time. My mother used to hate buying Luckies because of that, the toasted oats always got wasted.

  13. Windy Wilson says:

    My dad would refer to children as an “age gauge”. My parents seemed to be about 8-10 years older than the other parents on the block. Not that I recognized it at the time. . .

  14. tam says:

    I usually do an update a day at least, but yesterday I missed the boat, because our DAMN INTERNETS WERE BROKEN MOST OF THE DAY.

    Don’t edit yourself, dude; tell us how you really feel.

  15. J.R. Shirley says:

    “Is it just me, or has Milla Jovovich played Leeloo Dallas in every movie she’s been in since The Fifth Element?”

    Yes, I’ve noticed this tendency. Though I had to wonder: if you’re superhuman, using a huge knife designed to hack, why are you using multiple cuts instead of just lopping off that zombie’s head?

    samsam, I thought I was the only one to add raw oatmeal to sugared cereal! Been doing it for years…

    John

  16. Weer'd Beard says:

    Do you have 3G cell signal in that neck?

    That might be a viable option. Just get one of thems funky new cellular modums and link it up to your house’s router.

    Again it won’t make much diff if your towers aren’t broadband, but otherwise I’m impressed at how fast I can read these pages on my celly.

Comments are closed.