griping for the hell of it.

I’d love to post an update that’s informative and/or amusing, but my brain is tapioca right now. 

Castle Frostbite turned into Grand Central Station today.  Starting at 8am this morning, various handifolk turned over the doorknob to each other, as they say in Germany.  We had Electric Guy running a new lead and installing an outlet for our soon-to-be-delivered pellet stove, Masonry Guy redoing our chimneys properly in preparation for the roof install, and Carpenter Guy measuring the wooden deck in front of the main entrance, where two of the flooring planks have decided to do a trapdoor impression.  It turns out that much of the underlying wood structure has the consistency of a fresh brownie.  (Quote of the morning: “I’m not a carpenter, but I’m pretty sure wood’s not supposed to be squishy.”)  In all that chaos, the kids decided to be Really Difficult in order to reclaim Daddy’s attention.

All in all, it’s been a busy day, and now that I’m finally able to claim a few minutes for myself, all I want to do is go to sleep and be a viking.  My word count for the day is a big, fat zero, and it’s not likely to increase before I call it quits and turn off my brain for a while.

On the whole, however, I suppose life’s pretty good.  I mean, somewhere in the Far East, some peasant just spent all day wading through knee-deep muck behind an incontinent water buffalo.  Compared to that kind of work day, mine was pretty much a walk in the park.

5 thoughts on “griping for the hell of it.

  1. Windy Wilson says:

    “turned over the doorknob to each other”

    Interesting idiom.
    My Austrian and Bavarian cousins didn’t mention that one. Do you think it’s local or (more probably) my schoolboy German wasn’t up to it and they weren’t talking about tradesmen anyway. :0

    The closest I ever cam was giving the termite inspector the tour while the carpenter built garage doors and the dog looked on excitedly.

    What’s the phrase look like in German?

  2. MarkHB says:

    Ahhh, kids. They do have a Newtonian reaction to attention being focussed on anyone but them, don’t they?😉

    Then they hit their teens and turn all surly. Enjoy the attention-seeking phase while you’ve got it. Sez so right here in the manual.

  3. Shootin' Buddy says:

    I thought in Germany they said:

    “Where the fox and the hare kiss each other good night.”

    or, was it:

    “If you speak of the Devil, he will appear shortly.”

    or maybe:

    “Now is the time on Sprockets ven vee dance!”

    Then again my German is not as good as it used to be!
    🙂

  4. crankylitprof says:

    *sigh*

    Here, as well. Plus, researching real estate up north…ack.

Comments are closed.