a bleg.

Does anyone have an older Mac they’d like to turn into some ammo or beer money? 

I need one that has at least a factory-equipped Firewire port, which is the base minimum to run OS X 10.4 “Tiger”.  The oldest machines that fit the description are the slot-loading CRT iMacs, 350MHz and faster.  I don’t care whether it’s an all-in-one like a G3 or G4 iMac/eMac, a G4 tower, a Mac mini, or an iBook/Powerbook, as long as it works and has a built-in Firewire port.

I want to set up a Mac in my office as a Scrivener-only writing machine for typing up my handwritten stuff into a second draft, and Scrivener needs at least Tiger to run.

I’ll pay you fair market value and shipping, and you get bragging rights on future novel releases, because your old Mac will be the machine that produced the publisher-ready manuscript copy.

4 thoughts on “a bleg.

  1. ZerCool says:

    I briefly ran down the list of possibles in my head … an iBook SE/366 – no good, no firewire … an elusive PowerMac G4/667 “Digital Audio” … possible … then I checked fleabay to see where prices are. I’d suggest poking around there; there’s at least one seller with a G4/733 “Quicksilver” for under a hundred bucks.

  2. TD says:

    I have an old blue&white G3 tower that can run 10.4:

    http://www.unforgivingminute.com/blog/2008/07/05/go-team-me/

    Let me know if you’re interested, I’m sure we can work something out.

  3. Tam says:

    I’ve got that slot-loading G3, but I’m kinda using it. I’ve got a G4 Sawtooth tower I’m not using at the moment… What’s in it for me?

  4. Matt says:

    Marko,

    I have an ice 12 inch iBook G3 500Mhz dual USB with 640MB RAM, 20GB hard drive, CD-RW/DVD-ROM, Firewire and Airport wireless. I also have the original 10.2 install and software CD and cables. I will include a 30GB external USB drive with the machine. Two AC power adapters (aftermarket and Apple) and a good battery round it out.

    Don’t know if this will be suitable as it is on the low-end but the machine runs fine.

    Drop me an e-mail if interesting.

Comments are closed.