staggering across the finish line.

The Desk, June 1009 002

See that keyboard tray?  I used my low-level Apprentice Carpentry skills yesterday to fashion the old center drawer of my desk into a matching stow-away keyboard tray.  I chopped off the front of the drawer with a wood saw, braced the corners, rounded off the edges, and installed some wooden spacers on the sides of the drawer opening to eliminate the up-and-down wobble of the drawer when it’s pulled out.  Now it slides back and forth smoothly, and tucks away at the back of the desk so I have clearance for my legs when I use the desk surface to write on paper.  And I hardly cut myself during the conversion!

Anyway, as you can see by the unfinished state of the page on the writing pad, I’m not done with the novel yet.  The progress bar is at that awkward stage where it’s just about to jump from 99% to 100%, and you wonder what the fuck is taking it so damn long, because that last sonofabitchin’ percentage point takes as much time as the ninety-eight before it put together.

Since I am already way beyond my self-imposed deadline (and how I laugh when I remember that I had planned to have the whole thing complete by January!), I’m calling it make-or-break time now.  To that end, I’m going to unplug myself from the Intertubes until this thing has THE END written underneath it.  Ideally, that should just be a day or three.  So don’t expect much in the way of blog posts or Twitter updates until this S.O.B is done.

Now if you’ll excuse me, this novel and I have some unfinished business.  This ends now.  Expect either a triumphant post next, or an update from Robin detailing the day they came and hauled me off to Thorazine Acres…

7 thoughts on “staggering across the finish line.

  1. don’t know if it would work with where your characters are now, but i’ve been thinking an awesome ending would be to take a page (or a frame) from “the soprano’s” and just fade to black (or white actually).

    things are coming to a climactic head, reader flips page, and page is blank but for “the end”…i like it.

    jtc

    • BRB says:

      I’m sure you have an ending in mind. Just finish the damn book!

      The Sopranos’ ending was a cop-out. How original was that? It was about as original as all those pop, top-forty tunes that just faded away: great tune, but nobody knew how to end it.

      BRB

  2. have a little imagination, brb…calling the sopranos ending a copout is easy, a copout in itself. a real copout ending is slamming anything ol’ thing in there that disappoints and doesn’t do the body of work justice. think seinfeld as a pop reference example.

    the fadeout ending is multiple…and as creative as each reader imagines it to be. plus, it’s the basis for an awesome series; the writer gets to crank out the easy meaty part without stressing over how it will tie together at the end. ah, but the next installment reveals what really happened. ka-ching!

    jtc

  3. MarkHB says:

    Writer Thunderdome! Here, you see… THE CAGE!

    In the red corner…. THE MANUSCRIPT!

    In the blue corner… THE WRITER!

    Writer Thunderdome!
    Two Go In! One Comes Out!
    (d.c. al coda)

  4. Tom says:

    “Since I am already way beyond my self-imposed deadline…”

    Don’t beat yourself up too much over missing the deadline, just remember what Douglas Adams said about them:

    “I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by.”

  5. theflatwhite says:

    Came across this and thought of your old-school writing tools.

    http://stuffwhitepeoplelike.com/2009/02/24/122-moleskine-notebooks/

  6. theflatwhite says:

    …course you actually use yours.

Comments are closed.