a higher standard of conduct.

So this California police officer pulled over a female motorist for speeding, and then decided it would be a good idea to force her to perform oral sex on him under threat of lethal force.

Now, I’m lukewarm on capital punishment as it is applied and implemented in this country, because it’s unevenly and arbitrarily doled out, but there’s one category of offender I’d gladly see on the gurney each and every time: civil servants who abuse their authority to deprive a citizen of their rights under color of law.

We give police officers an extraordinary amount of power and responsibility.  A cop can legally use force against a citizen, including lethal force, if he feels the use of it is warranted.  To abuse that kind of power—especially in a jurisdiction where the citizenry is legally barred from carrying guns—is an offense that’s more heinous and inexcusable than mere strong-arm robbery by some freelance thug.

I’ve voiced the opinion before that any civil servant guilty of such an offense should face a date with Mr. Potassium Chloride, and I still hold that opinion. 

As the saying goes, with great power comes great responsibility.  With great power and responsibility should come great punishment in case of deliberate and blatantly self-serving misuse, and ten years in Club Fed just ain’t enough for that kind of offense in my book.  Maybe if we started putting folks like former officer Sanchez on Federal Death Row, we’d see a reduction in unfit sociopaths trying to make it past the psych evals for law enforcement…or into Congress.

19 thoughts on “a higher standard of conduct.

  1. MarkHB says:

    I agree with this post to the point that I would like to see messieurs Bush and Cheney answering charges in the Hague.

    They won’t. And this guy’ll walk in five to seven assuming he isn’t shivved by someone he gave a ticket to.

    It’s an imperfect universe. Every day, I get to see how much more imperfect. Pardon me, I’m gonna go to the smallest room and huck up what I’ve come to think of a “A Humanball”.

  2. MarkHB says:

    Actually, I’ll jump in before the brickbats start flying: I’m sure there are plenty of other POTUS/VPOTUS types who could do with a trip to Madame Guillotine, but these are the two who took a big shit over the first near-decade of my adult life, as well as the Constitution. So let me merely occupy that narrow slot between “US” and “THEM” that is “Other” OK? It’s just these are the two who blaze bright on my shit-list of people who’ve wiped their crevice with the Constitution in my plain view. ‘Kay? Just saying.

  3. perlhaqr says:

    I’m right there with you, Marko.

  4. Lissa says:

    Tar. Feathers. Some assembly required.

    Have fun in the clink, asshole. Abusers of women have lots of fun in there . . .

  5. jimbob86 says:

    …… Yeah, it should be a Capital Crime. And the irony is that if she had “centerpunched his black heart out his spineless back”, SHE would be the one facing the needle.

  6. jimbob86 says:

    ……. what with him being one of TheOnlyOnes.

  7. Priest says:

    Honestly I’d say just put his butt into general population after circulating the word that he is a rapist AND a former cop. Pop a bag of popcorn and watch all the “fun”.

  8. Mike says:

    Forget lethal injection, the gas chamber, or even old sparky. This has to be handled right. How about a berm, a post and a squad of riflemen?

    Or better yet, a tall tree and a short rope. Just make sure the rope is well used.

  9. T.Stahl says:

    Ah, judging from what we im Europe hear about US prisons (and our own) it sounds sufficient to sentence him to a few years, send him to jail, and spread the word about what he was and what he did. One group or the other will take care of the rest.

  10. BryanP says:

    He’s been charged with a “civil rights violation” ???

    How is this not rape?

  11. MarkHB,

    Try dropping a few other names, like Clinton and Ob….

    Well, you get the fucking point.

  12. MarkHB says:

    t.i.a.,

    Yup. Yes, I do. Clinton’s war on the Second amendment, for example, makes the big vein in my forehead threaten to pop – and don’t even get me started on Nixon. The more I learn of history, the more I see it as the Federal Government’s war against the Constitution and the Bill of Rights. I did point out that the two cases I named are syncrhonous with my becoming aware of the nature of politics, and so are most visible on my list of “those best used as reactor shielding”. I didn’t have to live through Nixon, and Clinton came to power two years before I was of US legal drinking age. As data is gathered, the more I realise “Leave Me The Hell Alone” is a beautiful dream enshrined in the Constitution, and despised in the halls of power. Anyone’s power.

    • Tam says:

      FFS, to understand why people you thought would cheer your statements instead want to lynch you, understand two things:

      1) Your knowledge of the workings of US government, US history, and the US Constitution and how it’s been defecated upon is sorely lacking, by evidence of your own text. Go back to, at least, Andrew Jackson. Better yet, google the f$cking Whiskey Rebellion. Welcome to the party, mate.

      2) Your “zomg Bushitler iz teh satanz!!!1!one!!eleven!” shit is tired and makes you sound like you get your knowledge of current events and the American political process from some ignorant partisan cesspool like the Beeb or CNN. That Constitution you prattle endlessly about? It takes three whole branches of teh fed.gov to give it a good rogering. The guy who sits in the office at 1600 Penna. Ave. needs 544 accomplices to bugger it, contrary to what Dan Rather would have everyone believe.

      Lastly, popping off at the mouth about “Teh Hague” is a good way to ensure that you’ll get a cold shoulder here in the U.S.

      If we decide our dogs need shooting, we’ll shoot them ourselves, thankyouverymuch.

  13. MarkHB says:

    Okay, well… I don’t really exist to piss everyone around me off, so I’ll just try to stay shut the hell up in future.

  14. MarkHB says:

    Permit me to rephrase after five deep breaths.

    I do not believe that I can reconcile the learning time required to have a valid political opinion with the learning time required to stay current and effective in my chosen profession. So, in terms of politics, as it has been made plain that this is a case of “informed discussion or no discussion”, I have to say that I cannot have a properly informed political discussion, as my own personal goals and desires allow insufficient time to research the background material properly. Or, in other words, “Bollocks to the lot of it, and I see nothing in it that makes me happy”.

    So rather than pissing people off with my woefully uneducated opinions on the matter, I shall withdraw from it until I’m sufficiently drunk that I feel like ranting about it anyway.

    • Tam says:

      Oh, cry me a river.

      If I state something that is factually incorrect, I’d think less of you if you didn’t call me on it, Mark.

      Why do you get to play by Nerf rules?

  15. MarkHB says:

    Look I’ve just handed you your playpen. I have ceded defeat. I’ve even stated I’m not qualified to play in your playpen. I’m not cryin’ you frakking anything. My tears are not, and never shall be, for you.

    You lot go shout “your fault!” “no, your fault!” over who was the worst prez. I’m bowing out. I don’t actually care. There will never be a party for people like me, so I’m just ceding the field. Democracy will never represent me either. I don’t care, because I’m busy getting the money to get people’s arses off this rock.

    Your fight… it is not my fight. And I’m done fighting with you over things that aren’t mine anyway.

  16. MarkHB says:

    Just put me down as having been damaged in the brainpan last year and let it go, OK?

  17. Rick R. says:

    MarkHB,

    If you’re gonna cede defeat (your words) and shut up, then, stop arguing about it.

    Again, in your words — “Let it go, OK?”

    Not that most people really care, one way or the other. As Tam said — toss out a boner, and someone will call you on it. That goes for you, Tam, me, anyone. Not because we hate you, but people are unlikely to let boneheaded statemens go unchallenged.

    Welcome to the Internet. Enjoy the ride.

Comments are closed.