lame wednesday update.

I don’t have anything earth-shaking to report today.

Yesterday was the Day From Hell.  I had the Toy Wars going in the house pretty much non-stop from breakfast to dinner, and I’m not at all ashamed to admit that I had a glass of Parenting Juice with lunch already.

Today was much better.  The kids were actually playing together most of the day without fighting each other for toys, and I got a few pages of a new short story written.

This weekend, I’m looking forward to the Northeastern Blogger Shoot, where a bunch of us New England-based gun nuts will gather at a sooper-seekrit location in southern NH to shoot enough hardware to invade a small Latin American country. 

Right now, it’s raining strings up here in west-central NH, but I am all calm and relaxed because we have a new roof.  The rain is just running off the edges like Niagara Falls, instead of feeding the Redneck Sprinkler System the last owners so thoughtfully left for us.

Also, the Battlestar Galactica soundtrack for Season 4 is out, and I have obtained a CD thereof.  (Yes, I am a big geek, but Bear McCreary’s soundtracks for the series started out fantastic, and he has managed to improve them with every season.)

That’s the brief Wednesday update from Castle Frostbite.  I’ll put up something a bit more profound tomorrow. 

14 thoughts on “lame wednesday update.

  1. Jinglish says:

    I’m not surprised to hear that the BSG Season 4 soundtrack is even better than the last two seasons’, which I own. Hoping I can get it shipped into Borders sooner or later, but I heard the record label sold them out two weeks before the release and are having more printed.

  2. julie says:

    hehehe ‘parenting juice’ …..

  3. Mongo says:

    ‘Parenting juice’ 🙂

    Many years ago, several lifetimes ago…..

    We had good friends who were having their first child. Knowing what they had coming, we bought half a dozen small bottles of quality booze. Each bottle was wrapped in a letter of encouragement, reinforcing their desire for children, and explaining some of the punishments delivered on those who strangle their own progeny.

    We boxed the wrapped bottles as a gift, and told them “Open them one at a time. You will KNOW when you need to”.

    They still credit the gift as saving their children’s lives (g).

    • Kristopher says:

      That would work.

      Put a mini-bottle of Jack Daniels in the kids’ sippy-cups, with fruit juice.

      Quiets them right down, and saves their lives.

  4. Jason says:

    I honestly think that McCreary’s music was a large contributor to the feel of the show itself, and more than a little responsible for the show’s success.

  5. Jay G. says:

    Lookin’ forward to seeing you on Sunday, Marko.

    Provided I can get childcare, that is…

    {grumble}

  6. Mopar says:

    “but I do threaten them with having to clean my guns if they misbehave…”

    Mine USED to like to help cleaning them. Now that he’s old enough to actually shoot them (and he has to clean anything he shoots) it’s become just a big a chore for him as it is for the rest of us.

  7. Jay G. says:

    Meltdown averted. Good dog.

    (translated from Simsponese – I can haz child care…)

Comments are closed.