bloggers with guns, new england edition.

I guess it would be sloppy to skip the Northeast Bloggershoot update I promised.  You’ll have to make do without multimedia content, however, because all the video clips on my camera have been offered up (at slightly different angles) by other folks with better cameras than my Pink-‘N-Manly little Kodak.  Also, I was so distracted with all the talking and shooting that I managed to snap three (count ‘em: 3) pictures overall, and they’re all of people’s backs at the firing line.

Express summary: Much fun was had, much ammo was burned, many water jugs and assorted toys were slain, and everyone involved seemed to have a good time.

(For detailed, picture- and video-heavy journals of the day, I’d suggest going over to Jay G. and Bruce, who in turn have links to all the other folks who shared their impressions of the event.  Yeah, I’m tired tonight.)

I only brought three guns to the shoot, one of which went home unfired (the crummy little single-shot .22.)  The Steyr M9 made a good showing overall, and everyone who fired it seemed to like the sights and the low recoil.  I had two failures to eject, but that was right at the beginning of the festivities, when I filled the magazines with stuff out of my Random Sampler Tin Of 9mm Crap Ammo.  After that, I switched to Golden Sabers (to test function with defensive loads), and Winchester White Box ball ammo, and the pistol ran without further bobbles for the next 200 rounds.

I also got to shoot MeatAxe’s Garand (always a treat to fire off a clip of .30-06 and hear the ka-ping after the final round as the en-bloc clip comes sailing out of the ejection port), a FN Five-seveN (ludicrously low recoil for a gun of such light weight), Jay G.’s Snubby From Hell, and a suppressed AR with subsonic .223 that would make a pellet gun sound noisy.  This is in addition to all the other handguns and rifles people were generously sharing with me, and I did my best to reciprocate with the limited assortment I brought to the party.

Now the guns are cleaned, and I’m already looking forward to next year.  (Thanks to our host Doubletrouble and Mrs. Doubletrouble for making the party possible once again.)

Final note: someone brought name tag stickers, and I identified myself as “Maj. L. Caudill, USMC (Ret.)”, which was deemed amusing by some.  I figured a little turnabout would be nice for a change…

7 thoughts on “bloggers with guns, new england edition.

  1. So how’d you like Jay’s snubbie from hell? Did you shoot any full house loads through it?

    That thing bites on both ends.

    • Marko says:

      Yeah, I shot a cylinder of .357 Magnums through it. Feels like someone whacking your hand with a cricket bat. I got a lovely little tattoo from the hammer on the web of my hand.

  2. Jay G. says:

    That *is* a fun little gun, isn’t it? I think the best commentary came from zeeke42 in the video I posted: “That’s INSANE!”

    Glad you could make it, Marko. It’s always a treat getting a visit from Major Caudill…🙂

  3. MarkHB says:

    I’m so getting you an action figure in camos, with oak leaves and a CAUDILL nametape on it.

  4. […] Marko:  “Yes, I’m very concerned with anonymity, right?” Zeeke42:  “Use his pseudonym — Major Caudill.” […]

Comments are closed.