more flash movie reviews.

So I picked up another small stack of rental movies on Saturday, and (miraculously) managed to watch two of them over the weekend: Coraline and Inkheart.  Both of them are movie adaptations of Kid/Young Adult fantasy books.

Coraline was just a lovely, charming piece of work.  It’s hard to explain the Gaiman Factor to someone who doesn’t know Neil Gaiman’s work, but Coraline manages to be simultaneously very endearing and very creepy at the same time.  It’s a stop-motion animation flick, and the way I explained the movie to Robin was “sort of like ‘Tim Burton does Alice in Wonderland’.”  I think this one’s bound to be a classic, and I’ll be buying a copy for our DVD library.  (The kids won’t get to watch it until they’re a little older, though.)

I liked Inkheart, too, because I love books, and it’s hard to see how you can completely dislike the movie if you love books.  The concept behind the Inkheart books revolves around the power of the written word, and that of the storyteller and –reader.  (The story is about a guy who can read characters and things out of books by reading out loud from them.)  This one got more mixed reviews than Coraline, and it didn’t quite live up to the potential of the source material, but it was original and fun nonetheless, and I wouldn’t have felt cheated if I had gone to see it in the theater.

So there you have it: Coraline—Must Buy Own Copy rating, Inkheart—Safe Rental rating.

7 thoughts on “more flash movie reviews.

  1. I have to brag a bit.

    My cousin worked exclusively on animating the cat in Coraline, and her sister did all of the costume design and fabrication (except for the gloves, which were sent out to Chicago, I believe, to be knit by teeny-tiny needles).

    It’s totally inappropriate for young kids, but such a good movie…even with the weird “computer game”-like thing built in.

  2. For what it’s worth, the Blu-ray version of Coraline is getting fantastic reviews on the technical level from the audio/video industry. The imagery is absolutely stunning, and the uncompressed digital audio soundtrack will have you constantly looking over your shoulder. If’n you ever find yourself with some sort of theater set up, or just a really nice living room rig, make sure you buy that one.

    The $30 Blu-ray comes with the DVD, btw.

    tweaker

  3. BryanP says:

    Coraline is indeed a fine movie. By the way, Tim Burton is making Alice In Wonderland.

  4. George Smith says:

    Just wanted to echo Bryan. Alice in Wonderland is due out in March, 2010.

    Regards.

  5. freddyboomboom says:

    Thanks for the kind words about Coraline.

    I like it bunches , too.

    But I may be a bit biased, as I helped make it, although just in an IT fashion.

    My very first screen credit.

    What did you think of showing the rigging after the end of the credits?

  6. Adam says:

    Coraline was a downright creepy book and well-executed. My problem with Gaiman is one I noticed during a 20-hour drive with two of his books in audio form – I felt no anticipation to hear the next chapter. The plot and characters were interesting and fascinating in and of themselves, but his writing itself just slowly started to bore me. I don’t know if it was his style of narration or just the content itself, but I found myself wishing the damned books would *end* so I could listen to something a bit more captivating.

    The drive back had Christopher Moore’s “Fool,” which was a good laugh.

  7. daddyquatro says:

    Ditto on adding “Coraline” to the DVD collection. It’s one of the few movies we went to see at the theater, IN 3D! OMG!
    But, just like “Up”, the movie was great without the 3d.

Comments are closed.