words to sentences to paragraphs. repeat until finished.

I’ve got nothing but work on my mind today, so all you’ll get this evening is a quick list of writing-related bullet points, the better to put you into a deep sleep with.

  • The sequel to Big Damn Military SF Novel (a.k.a. “Terms of Enlistment”)is underway and zipping right along.  I’m in the middle of Chapter 4, and the count so far is 11,000 words of a projected 90,000.  (That’s just a wild-ass guess based on the rough outline in my head, but I tend to overshoot my word count estimates by 10k or more.)
  • I’ve settled on a title for the sequel: “Lines of Departure”.
  • Once again, I am forced to acknowledge that SF in general, and military SF in particular, is just too much damn fun to write.  Yesterday, I ended my workday by finishing Chapter 3 with a nuclear explosion, and a nicely creepy reference to Exodus 12:29.  (Yes, I’ve read the Bible.  Shocking, I know.) This is not to say that you couldn’t put mushroom clouds and biblical references to indiscriminate slaughter into a romance novel or a self-help book, but you’d have to be an ace to pull it off.
  • That thing I asked about a few days back, about the viability of a YA novel set in WWII Germany?  I started assembling notes, wrote part of a tentative first chapter, and I like what’s going onto paper so far.  This will be on the back burner until the current project is finished, but that’s fine, because it’ll give my brain some time to simmer all the ingredients a bit.

So that’s still what I do whenever I’m not actively Daddy-ing: still making stuff up and writing it down, imbued with that rare combination of ego and optimism that makes one think, “This is so good, people will want to spend money to read it.”

Right-o…back to work for me, and off to bed for you, dear Internets.  We’ll chat later, hmm-kay?

8 thoughts on “words to sentences to paragraphs. repeat until finished.

  1. Bunnyman says:

    “This is not to say that you couldn’t put mushroom clouds and biblical references to indiscriminate slaughter into a romance novel or a self-help book, but you’d have to be an ace to pull it off.”

    That sounds like a challenge. And about the only romance novel or self-help book I’d dip into the ammo fund for.

  2. ibex says:

    Your ego’s assessment is correct. I do want to spend money to read it and as soon as Amazon gives me the chance to do so, I will.

  3. Tam says:

    I want to pre-order the first book already.

  4. Kaerius(SWE) says:

    Both you and Peter(Bayou Renaiscance Man) have leaked teasers of your upcoming Mil Sci-fi books, and both of you hooked me… get cracking, I want that book! *whip*

  5. perlhaqr says:

    I was thinking about the bit of your other book that you posted here just yesterday, actually. 🙂 I hope to be able to read the entire thing, soon enough.

  6. I’m with Tam–my mouse finger is all twitchy waiting on the pre-orderability.

  7. John Gall says:

    I’ll worry about your next book later. I want the one that’s finished. Wantwantwantwant. . .

  8. T.Stahl says:

    Quousque tandem?

    I’m halfway through MHI and while I have half a dozen other unread books waiting on the bookshelf, I’m itching to read Terms of Enlistment.

Comments are closed.