your recommended weekly dose of fairytales.

While we’re on the subject of endorsements, I have another one for you on this fine Tuesday.

Sometimes, I come across a writer who makes me not only stand in awe at their talent, but also makes me realize just how much more I have to learn before I can say that I have a good handle on the craft.  One of those writers is Catherynne M. Valente, someone I discovered fairly recently.

She has a free online novel up, titled “The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland In A Ship Of Her Own Making.”  It’s a very endearing and well-crafted little story so far, and I recommend heading over and taking a look.  If your standard bedtime reading material involves exploding starships or gung-ho counterterrorist squads, a fairytale story for young readers may be a shift in pace for you, but I found it rather charming, and you might, too. 

The novel is free to read as donationware, so consider tossing some cash into the writer’s hat if you like what you’ve read.  The author also has other stuff up in e-book form.

2 thoughts on “your recommended weekly dose of fairytales.

  1. perlhaqr says:

    It’s a small world…

    I know her, sort of, in passing. She’s friends with about a half dozen people I’m friends with.

  2. Rusty P. Bucket says:

    No thanks. I will stick to the pirates and exploding space ships.

Comments are closed.