the ultimate in zombie-proof living.

WANT:

Log home with a below-ground component made up of a decommissioned Atlas missile silo.  Private asphalt airstrip and hangar right in front of the house.  Scenic location in the Rocky Mountains.  Main entrance to the silo secured by 2,000-pound blast door.

Park a Cessna Grand Caravan in that hangar out front, stock the silo storage with non-perishable food, a crapton of guns, and a few million rounds of ammo, and you have the perfect place to raise a family and/or survive Zombie Apocalypse.

13 thoughts on “the ultimate in zombie-proof living.

  1. Tam says:

    That’s in upstate Noo Yawk.

    It’d be a hellacious commute for Robin in winter, but look at the amenities!

  2. MarkHB says:

    That brings a tear to my eye. A Facility. With a Silo. Oh, that’s beautiful.😀

  3. Jay G. says:

    I know what my first phone call would be if I won Powerball…

  4. John Gall says:

    Initially, I agreed that a re-worked silo would be a desirable abode, but after more thought I decided that there are too many elements of a tomb for me to me comfortable in one.

  5. guy says:

    After reading Max Brooks’ books I have to say living in a hole in the ground might not be the best in a zombie outbreak.

    A house on solid stilts or at least at the top of a nice defensible hilltop would be better. Clear lines of fire, and a better chance of escape should your internal security get breached.

    Against zombies at least. If you have to deal with zombies and raiders armed with RPGs I guess that would make things more difficult.

  6. Shootin' Buddy says:

    Last time I was in New York City, the place was crawling with zombies already.

    Why build a shelter where the zombies are?

  7. Well, the articleis really the freshest on this worthy subject. I fit in with your conclusions and will look forward to your upcoming updates. Saying thank you will not just be enough, for the phenomenal lucidity in your writing. I will directly grab your rss feed to stay abreast of any posts. Wonderful work and much success in your business efforts!

Comments are closed.