little goth in training.

When we hit the big town, I sometimes take the kids through the toy department at MalWart and let them pick some small toys.  Quinn usually picks a 99-cent Matchbox car, and Lyra is usually happy with whatever I hand her off the shelf.

Today, Quinn wanted a toy camera, but the cheapest one they had was a $12 Barbie item that held a 30-second monologue in a highly annoying Barbie voice every time you pressed a button, so I just got him a $5 Kodak disposable instead.

We passed a shelf where they had life-like plastic bugs and spiders, so I took a palm-sized tarantula off the shelf, and showed it to Quinn.  He kind of made a face at it, and declined the offer.  When I moved to put it back on the shelf, Lyra asked to see it, so I handed it to her.

“’Pie!” she said, turning the spider over in her hand.

“Yes, it’s a spider,” I replied, and took it back to place it back on the shelf.  Immediately, Lyra went into Unhappy Mode, and held out her hand again.

“’Pie?  ‘Pie, pees?”

I handed the spider back to her, and she took it with much glee.

“’Pie! My ‘pie?”

“Uh, sure.  It’s your spider, I guess.”

Strange kid.  Quinn didn’t even want to touch the thing until it was established that it wouldn’t take Lyra’s arm off at the elbow, but that little girl was immediately fascinated by it.  For the duration of the ride home, she had it on her lap, repositioning it every once in a while and making it pretend-walk across her legs.

“’Pie! Eye-wa’s ‘pie!”

I guess I need to stock up on fishnet stockings and Doc Martens, for when she hits the teenage years.  I’ll need to run some heavy intervention tactics to keep her away from books about vampires…

19 thoughts on “little goth in training.

  1. harp says:

    Maybe she will be a tomboy.

  2. Phillip C says:

    Tomboy? Hope not, boy goths seem to wear more makeup than girl goths… a lot of them, anyway.

  3. joated says:

    You’re reading way too much into this. She will clearly become a world famous Arachnidologist…or something.

  4. Kristopher says:

    As long as she doesn’t go all the way and become a Mime.

  5. dave says:

    “I’ll need to run some heavy intervention tactics to keep her away from books about vampires…”

    Only the Twilight ones, right?

  6. Lissa says:

    I’m with Dave — what’s wrong with vampire books? Just steer her toward good ones🙂

  7. crankylitprof says:

    You do know that I went through an extended Goth Phase in high school, right?

    Look at how I turned out!

    Wait…

    • perlhaqr says:

      Yeah, same here. Well, I’m not entirely sure I could say it’s completely over… At least they’re in the right climate for it. You have any idea how hard it is to maintain an all black wardrobe in New Mexico? Well, without suffering catastrophic heat exhaustion, anyway.

      Just keep her away from bad Vampire books. And Anne Bishop. Given the existence of Correia, this shouldn’t be a problem. 🙂 He’ll probably have two dozen MHI novels ripped out by the time Lyra starts listening to the Cure and wearing too much black.

      “Yes, honey, I know all your friends think vampires are cool, but really, they’re just blood-sucking hell-wights who need a good staking and decapitation.”

      –Ogre (still listens to Siouxsie and Bauhaus)

  8. Caleb says:

    So far, there is exactly 1 good “vampire” book, and that book is Monster Hunter International.

  9. Breda says:

    She’s like a baby Labrat.

  10. LabRat says:

    Actually, baby LabRat was terrified of spiders. I was pretty intensely drawn to snakes, lizards, and fish from toddlerhood on, though.

    Whether it’s spiders or skeletons, biophilia and gothiness are impossible to distinguish until the child is old enough to choose their own clothes.

  11. ASM826 says:

    Sure, it all chucks and yucks now, but wait until she thinks she’s friends with kids like this:

  12. PeterT says:

    ASM826…. A pox on your house for not warning about the need for mind bleach…

  13. julie says:

    sounds like my eldest – she won’t cuddle a day old chick but has pet spiders ……..

  14. Firehand says:

    Dresden Files.

    My daughter’s favorite toy for years was a bat, and she still likes them.

  15. Weer'd Beard says:

    +1, that isn’t Goth behavior, that’s Biologist behavior.

    BTW once Lyra got it for her own did Quinn suddenly want to take it?

    That would be an adorable example of sibling revelry?

    • Jay G. says:

      Rivalry, weerd, rivalry.

      Sibling revelry is when you buy your sister a case of beer and she gets arrested with it.

      And DOESN’T rat you out.

      Err, not that I’d know…

  16. My 7-yr-old has collected numerous (toy) spiders, rats, bats and snakes. Her favorite outdoor activity from the moment she could walk was to turn over rocks to find bugs and spiders. Ask her what she wants to be when she grows up: “A zookeeper–just like mommy!”

    Go, Lyra!

  17. I’ve been disgusted and horrified by spiders since I got badly bitten while sleeping, so it’s definitely not a prerequisite for gothdom. I turned out fine too.

    Well, for someone who fenced rapier until the shoulder gave out, welds, works backstage, is restoring an airplane and flies in Alaska. I may be crazy, but it’s a socially productive, eccentric, and reputedly cute brand of crazy – and nonthreatening enough that very nice men will sometimes let me shoot their sten, uzi, and mac 10. She could do worse – just make sure she gets plenty of range time and exposure to oddball hobbies that encourage kicking ass in favor of moping!

Comments are closed.