what i did over lunch today.

I made this:

mousetray

Robin needs to get her mouse closer to her arm for health reasons, so I shopped for some mouse platforms online.  There’s stuff available commercially, but the affordable stuff is terribly unstable-looking, and the solid-looking stuff is ridiculously expensive.  So I looked around for some scrap wood, and rigged up this little number over lunch.

It incorporates the remnants of a broken kiddie chair and a never-used conversion kit for a toddler bed.  I attached it to the bottom of the armrest with a double-length bolt that replaced one of the original armrest bolts.  An hour of time, a few pieces of leftover wood, three bolts, and two washers later, and Robin has a double-articulated, adjustable, and removable mousing platform attached to her chair.

For those of you with professional toolshops in your basement, that’s probably not an impressive achievement, but anyone who knows my general level of handiness will stand in awe.  I usually can’t even build a house out of playing cards without it being condemned by the authorities.

16 thoughts on “what i did over lunch today.

  1. Tam says:

    Dude, that’s pretty crafty.

  2. Windy Wilson says:

    Let’s not be too critical. That is elegant on several levels. It works, it used materials at hand, and it appears to have a minimum of kludged/ duct-taped parts.
    I HAVE a comprehensive garage full of tools, that I inherited from my father, and unfortunately I seem to have inherited a propensity for making things strong but rough and ready. Had HE made it, it would probably be of rough, blotchy, mismatched wood, but you and your daughters could stand on it without damage.

    That looks good, my man, you should be pleased.

  3. perlhaqr says:

    I second Windy’s comment. Re-use is elegant.

    “Use it up, wear it out, make it do, or do without.” Completely re-purposing available materials counts well.

    And likewise, with regards to overbuilding. If I’d built it, it’d have been steel, capable of holding you and the Lovely Wife off the ground, and would have been finished sometime in 2015. 😉

  4. MarkHB says:

    Well done you. Competence – it’s good!

  5. Leadhead says:

    Congratulations.
    That’s a fine piece of woodworking you have there.
    Not only does it look good, it’s functionable, sturdy and
    was created in just a short period of time with recycled
    parts (so the cost was minimal). Best of all it was done
    with love. I’ve always found it’s the little things that mean
    the most. I’d give long odds that that brought tears to
    Robin’s eyes when she got home and first saw it.

  6. Ted says:

    Nice. Very cool.

  7. T.Stahl says:

    That sure as hell beats the simple board I made for my wife so she can read books on the couch.

  8. Jay G. says:

    Very nice, Marko. I am duly impressed.

    Of course, were I to attempt something of this magnitude, it would involve styrofoam, a 5’X7′ hunk of particle board, 893 roofing nails, gorilla glue, and duct tape.

    And would most likely catch on fire…

  9. Eric says:

    Did you wear a blue lab coat while working? I remember when I was in Germany that you never saw a craftsman without some kind of lab coat.

  10. megscole64 says:

    I am duly impressed.

  11. daddyquatro says:

    double-articulated, adjustable, and removable mousing platform

    I’d patent and copyright that this instant.

  12. OrangeNeckInNY says:

    Marko,

    You know you got a little smiley face, that’s almost unnoticeable, on the upper right corner of your homepage?

  13. Louise Townsend says:

    Nicely done!
    Now you can build that new garage space!

  14. Snake Eyes says:

    I find that particularly elegant and impressive. Now, to complete the equation, and maximize Mrs. Munchkin’s comfort, I have one word for you: Trackball.

    (In particular, the Kensington Expert Mouse.)

Comments are closed.