went to see some friends, we did.

This entry was originally a typecast, but my scanner lobotomized itself just as I was scanning the typed page, and now no amount of coaxing, threats of violence, or percussive maintenance can get it to fire up again. 

Anyway, here’s a conventional update instead.

Yesterday, Quinn and I drove over to downeast Maine, to visit the sister of my good friend Deale, who passed away two years ago at the age of seventy-three.  He left behind a house crammed to the rafters with mountains of stuff, all kinds of things collected in the course of a long and productive life.  He was a teacher, a state legislator, a history buff, a globetrotter and a volunteer for many causes.  We went to Berlin and Salzburg together in the early 1990s, shortly after the Iron Curtain fell, and he hosted me in Maine many times.  Deale owned so much stuff that it took his sister more than a year to clean out the house and get it ready to sell.

The typecast that sits on my desk next to the lobotomized scanner was typed up on this:

Royal Portable 001

It’s a Royal DeLuxe Portable from 1935.  Deale’s sister gave it to me as a keepsake.  It spent the last few decades collecting dust in my friend’s attic, and she wanted me to take it home and put it to good use.  It’s in fantastic shape—no rust at all, and all the bits and pieces work as designed.  I trashed the old ribbon, rewound some fresh ribbon onto the old Royal spools, and went right to work with it.  Deale’s sister said that he’d be very pleased to know that the old Royal is being put to use again, and I won’t be able to help thinking of him every time I bang away at the keys.

On our way to my friend’s old place, we stopped in Portland for lunch with my VP pal Chang:

Maine, October 2009 010

I have a few Brothers From Another Mother, and Chang is one of them.  We had a nice lunch near the waterfront, and then Quinn wanted to finally go see the ocean, so we walked down to the beach and let him run around for a bit.  There’s a narrow-gauge steam train running right by the beach, and it happened to pass by just as Quinn was collecting shells on the beach, so he was in Little Boy Heaven.

All in all, I drove close to eleven hours for four hours of visiting with friends, but it was well worth it.  In closing, I’ll leave you with a few shots of a happy little boy on a sunny day in Portland, Maine…

Maine, October 2009 007

Maine, October 2009 002

Maine, October 2009 013

8 thoughts on “went to see some friends, we did.

  1. ghettoblackify says:

    interesting pics

  2. Bob says:

    Thanks for the smile

  3. Chang says:

    Yeah, it was good to see you! I am still beaming at the gift of the pen. It was all I could do to not run out and buy stacks of notebooks. I will do that tomorrow. I still ran but only 5K for a good cause.

    Come by again. Set aside some time for the train and perhaps a boat ride.

  4. MarkHB says:

    Looking forward to getting you and Chang in the same place, a place with “Bar” in it’s name and not too much driving for anyone to do.

  5. Emily says:

    That’s an awesome gift. I’ve been jonesin’ for a real typewriter for a while now and I am actually looking for one, vaguely though. As far as the scanner mine did the same thing just froze and never woke up- grrrr…Looks like you guys had a great day at the beach- good to see.🙂

    Okay, shameless plug: firedaisy.blogspot.com
    It’s not really a plug because I am looking for some actual criticism, however, I don’t really want it in my comments. (I’m begging… please shoot me an email if/when you tear me to pieces, seriously) I think you would really be a knowledgeable critic, though, so I’m throwing it out there. Thanks!

  6. Mike says:

    Your threats of violence failed because a .38 isn’t scary enough. Use a .45 next time, and it will work.

    :p

  7. Dan F says:

    I’m curious, where did you find typewriter ribbon?

    • Marko Kloos says:

      Staples has “universal” typewriter ribbon on plastic spools, but I don’t care much for it because the white correction part gunks up the typewriter.

      They also have generic cash register type ink ribbon that can be unwound off the spools and then hand-wound onto your old ribbon spools if you still have them.

Comments are closed.